America 2012: A Novel

( 5 )

Overview

The year is 2012. America's global war on terror is at a fateful crossroads. The rise of Laskar-e-Muhammad, the most audacious and sophisticated terrorist network the world has ever seen, imperils America's national survival. As President Middlefield and top deputy Jim Constance rally America to confront the threat, worldwide criticism hampers their efforts, many detractors arguing for a policy of appeasement. Dr. Jane Crandall Offman, high profile professor and social commentator, joins Islam's intellectual ...
See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (1) from $21.87   
  • New (1) from $21.87   
Sending request ...

Overview

The year is 2012. America's global war on terror is at a fateful crossroads. The rise of Laskar-e-Muhammad, the most audacious and sophisticated terrorist network the world has ever seen, imperils America's national survival. As President Middlefield and top deputy Jim Constance rally America to confront the threat, worldwide criticism hampers their efforts, many detractors arguing for a policy of appeasement. Dr. Jane Crandall Offman, high profile professor and social commentator, joins Islam's intellectual elite in undermining the war on terror. Denounced in the court of world opinion and outmaneuvered by Laskar-e-Muhammad on all fronts, America finds herself abandoned and isolated. With Constance as his only trusted adviser, President Middlefield desperately tries to prevent a final act of terror that will result in the unthinkable: The ultimate doom of the United States and her collapse as a civilization.

A factual epilogue is appended to the conclusion of America 2012 to demonstrate the fictional elements of the novel have their basis in fact. A riveting political narrative in the tradition of The Ugly American, America 2012 is both a futuristic thriller and the cautionary tale of our times written by two authorities in the field. For more information visit http://america2012.info.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780595665020
  • Publisher: iUniverse, Incorporated
  • Publication date: 6/28/2004
  • Pages: 316
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 9.00 (h) x 0.88 (d)

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 4 of 5 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    scary!!

    I've read other terror books by the likes of Vince Flynn & Tom Clancy, but this is the 1st book on terrorism that explores the actual mind of the terrorists. The best part of America 2012 is the factual epilogue. It should be required reading for America's PC-addled intelligence agencies, politicians, educators, and vapid talking heads in the media.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2005

    America 2012: A Novel

    America 2012 is by far the most realistic (and genuinely frightening) book on terrorism I've ever read. The characters are clearly modeled on real-life figures; the anchorman more interested in progressive activism than actual reporting is obviously Dan Rather. The president and his top aides are constantly criticized and undermined by the media, and militant academics who insist the terrorists are 'freedom fighters.' This is a thinking man's terror novel. A must-read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    Horrible

    The story itself is decent but the grammar, punctuation, captalization, etc. SUCK! The story literally jumps from 1 thread to another within a paragraph many times!

    I have found these or similar problems with ALL of the discounted Nook books I have bought so I can accept it to an extent as getting what I pay for. However, I believe some of these are new authors trying to establish themselves and these issues make me loathe to attempt any additional books by the same authors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2005

    America 2012: A Novel

    This novel was ripped straight from today's (or tomorrow's) headlines. The story was more factual and fact-based than fiction. Most troubling of all is that the policies that lead to crippling terrorist strikes against America (in this novel) are standing policy today...open borders, laws that handcuff the intelligence community, etc. America 2012 demonstrates clearly these policies could lead to destruction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 4 of 5 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)