America 2012: A Novel

America 2012: A Novel

3.8 5
by Erik Gregory
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The year is 2012. America's global war on terror is at a fateful crossroads. The rise of Laskar-e-Muhammad, the most audacious and sophisticated terrorist network the world has ever seen, imperils America's national survival. As President Middlefield and top deputy Jim Constance rally America to confront the threat, worldwide criticism hampers their efforts, many…  See more details below

Overview

The year is 2012. America's global war on terror is at a fateful crossroads. The rise of Laskar-e-Muhammad, the most audacious and sophisticated terrorist network the world has ever seen, imperils America's national survival. As President Middlefield and top deputy Jim Constance rally America to confront the threat, worldwide criticism hampers their efforts, many detractors arguing for a policy of appeasement. Dr. Jane Crandall Offman, high profile professor and social commentator, joins Islam's intellectual elite in undermining the war on terror. Denounced in the court of world opinion and outmaneuvered by Laskar-e-Muhammad on all fronts, America finds herself abandoned and isolated. With Constance as his only trusted adviser, President Middlefield desperately tries to prevent a final act of terror that will result in the unthinkable: The ultimate doom of the United States and her collapse as a civilization.

A factual epilogue is appended to the conclusion of America 2012 to demonstrate the fictional elements of the novel have their basis in fact. A riveting political narrative in the tradition of The Ugly American, America 2012 is both a futuristic thriller and the cautionary tale of our times written by two authorities in the field.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780595665020
Publisher:
iUniverse, Incorporated
Publication date:
06/28/2004
Pages:
316
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.88(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

America 2012 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've read other terror books by the likes of Vince Flynn & Tom Clancy, but this is the 1st book on terrorism that explores the actual mind of the terrorists. The best part of America 2012 is the factual epilogue. It should be required reading for America's PC-addled intelligence agencies, politicians, educators, and vapid talking heads in the media.
Guest More than 1 year ago
America 2012 is by far the most realistic (and genuinely frightening) book on terrorism I've ever read. The characters are clearly modeled on real-life figures; the anchorman more interested in progressive activism than actual reporting is obviously Dan Rather. The president and his top aides are constantly criticized and undermined by the media, and militant academics who insist the terrorists are 'freedom fighters.' This is a thinking man's terror novel. A must-read.
SML11 More than 1 year ago
The story itself is decent but the grammar, punctuation, captalization, etc. SUCK! The story literally jumps from 1 thread to another within a paragraph many times! I have found these or similar problems with ALL of the discounted Nook books I have bought so I can accept it to an extent as getting what I pay for. However, I believe some of these are new authors trying to establish themselves and these issues make me loathe to attempt any additional books by the same authors!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a sledgehammer of a book. Sadly, its lessons are utterly lost on today's leaders, whether they're Republicans or Democrats. This book correctly identifies the news media, the university system & Hollywood as the 3 Leftist institutions that are most antithetical to America's democratic ideals and long term health as a nation. When the body politic is infected with the liberal (illiberal) virus, the virus replicates itself & spreads, attacking the vital organs of the nation (like the military, the police, the church, or even the Boy Scouts). The 20th century proved that fascism comes (perhaps exclusively) from the Left; Hitler, Stalin, Mao, Pol Pot, Guevara, Castro & Idi Amin were ALL left-wing socialists. They all believed in centralized & absolute rule, and the abolition of individual freedoms (of speech, private property, dissent of any kind, etc.). Not coincidentally, all became mass murderers on an epic scale; also not coincidentally, these butchers were romanticized & idealized by the universities & news media of America. The student generation that came of age during & after the 1960s (including president Obama) largely endorsed the left-wing propaganda churned out by hippie professors, spittle-flecked network news anchors, and blithering Hollywood idiots. Perhaps more than any other book of recent times, America 2012 is illustrative of that bitter harvest that has so badly weakened America.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This novel was ripped straight from today's (or tomorrow's) headlines. The story was more factual and fact-based than fiction. Most troubling of all is that the policies that lead to crippling terrorist strikes against America (in this novel) are standing policy today...open borders, laws that handcuff the intelligence community, etc. America 2012 demonstrates clearly these policies could lead to destruction.