Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

American Story: The REA Award for the Short Story

American Story: The REA Award for the Short Story

by Michael M. Rea

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
Here's a treat for spring: outstanding American fiction published during the last four decades, gathered together by seven leading writers, who each chose three winners from the nominees for the Rea Award, a literary prize established in 1986. Selections include John Updike's coming-of-age story, ``The Happiest I've Been'' (selected by Joyce Carol Oates), and ``The Shawl,'' Cynthia Ozick's mesmerizing Holocaust fantasy (selected by Shannon Ravenel). Tobias Wolfe's choices include ``A Vintage Thunderbird'' by Ann Beattie, which details love and heartache in New York City, and Beattie herself selected Charles Baxter's ``Snow,'' Eudora Welty's ``No Place for You, My Love,'' and Richard Bausch's ``Consolation,'' all of which treat the mysteries of human connections from very different perspectives. The remaining narratives range from Joy Williams's child's-eye view of family disintegration, ``Escapes'' (selected by Stanley Elkin), to Donald Barthelme's playful ``The Balloon'' (selected by Ozick). A wide-ranging reading experience; recommended for any library with user interest in first-class short fiction.-Starr E. Smith, Fairfax Cty. P.L., Va.

Product Details

HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
Edition description:
Product dimensions:
5.81(w) x 8.99(h) x 0.69(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews