×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

American Tapestry: The Story of the Black, White, and Multiracial Ancestors of Michelle Obama
     

American Tapestry: The Story of the Black, White, and Multiracial Ancestors of Michelle Obama

5.0 4
by Rachel L. Swarns
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0061999873

ISBN-13: 2900061999870

Pub. Date: 04/09/2013

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

A remarkable history of First Lady Michelle Obama’s mixed ancestry, American Tapestry by Rachel L. Swarns is nothing less than a breathtaking and expansive portrait of America itself.

In this extraordinary feat of genealogical research—in the tradition of The Hemmingses of Monticello and Slaves in the Family—author Swarns, a

Overview

A remarkable history of First Lady Michelle Obama’s mixed ancestry, American Tapestry by Rachel L. Swarns is nothing less than a breathtaking and expansive portrait of America itself.

In this extraordinary feat of genealogical research—in the tradition of The Hemmingses of Monticello and Slaves in the Family—author Swarns, a respected Washington-based reporter for the New York Times, tells the fascinating and hitherto untold story of Ms. Obama’s black, white, and multiracial ancestors; a history that the First Lady herself did not know.

At once epic, provocative, and inspiring, American Tapestry is more than a true family saga; it is an illuminating mirror in which we may all see ourselves.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2900061999870
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
04/09/2013
Edition description:
NE
Pages:
391

Table of Contents

Prologue: The Mystery of Michelle Obama's Roots 1

Part I Migration

1 Phoebe, the Wanderer 19

2 St. Louis 29

3 Siren Song of the North 38

4 A Family Grows in Chicago 46

5 Exploding Dreams 60

6 A Child of the Jazz Age 72

7 A Man of Promise 77

8 Stumbling Backward 81

9 Love in Hard Times 87

10 Struggling and Striving 98

11 The Search for the Truth 111

Part II The Demise of Reconstruction and the Rise of Jim Crow

12 A Man on the Rise 119

13 Left Behind 130

14 Neither Black Nor White 141

15 The Reckoning 153

16 Birmingham, The Magic City 161

17 Two Brothers, Two Destinies 171

18 The One-Armed Patriarch 179

19 Twilight 188

20 The Search for the Truth: Atlanta 198

Part III Slavery and Emancipation

21 A Slave Girl Named Melvinia 209

22 Journey To Georgia 218

23 South Carolina Gold 228

24 A Child Is Born 240

25 Born Free 251

26 Exodus 264

27 The Civil War 271

28 Uneasy Freedom 285

Epilogue: Melvinia's Secret 297

Acknowledgments 305

Notes 311

Bibliography 357

Index 369

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

American Tapestry: The Story of the Black, White, and Multiracial Ancestors of Michelle Obama 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
SGaissert More than 1 year ago
American Tapestry reads like a novel but leaves the deep impression of history, which it is. Rachel Swarns writes with passion about people who have been forgotten by the history books, but who nonetheless contributed greatly to who we are today as Americans. Howard Zinn would be proud. I am grateful for this book, and I recommend it.
AngelfireAW More than 1 year ago
exceptional ,good read
okmulgeeok More than 1 year ago
Every American needs to read this book.....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
wow I love your book