Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

America's #1 Band: The Columbia Years

America's #1 Band: The Columbia Years

by Count Basie

Product Details

Release Date:


Disc 1

  1. Shoe Shine Boy
  2. Evenin'
  3. Boogie Woogie (I May Be Wrong)
  4. Oh, Lady Be Good
  5. I Ain't Got Nobody
  6. Goin' to Chicago Blues
  7. Live and Love Tonight
  8. Love Me or Leave Me
  9. Dickie's Dream
  10. Lester Leaps In
  11. How Long Blues
  12. Royal Garden Blues
  13. Bugle Blues
  14. Sugar Blues
  15. Farewell Blues
  16. Café Society Blues
  17. Way Back Blues
  18. St. Louis Blues
  19. Neal's Deal
  20. Bluebeard Blues
  21. Golden Bullet
  22. You're My Baby, You

Disc 2

  1. Song of the Islands
  2. These Foolish Things
  3. I'm Confessin' (That I Love You)
  4. One O'Clock Jump
  5. I Ain't Got Nobody
  6. Little White Lies
  7. I'll Remember April
  8. Tootsie
  9. Rock-A-Bye Basie
  10. One Hour
  11. Taxi War Dance
  12. Twelfth Street Rag
  13. Miss Thing, Pt. 1
  14. Miss Thing, Pt. 2
  15. Nobody Knows
  16. Pound Cake
  17. Song of the Islands
  18. Clap Hands! Here Comes Charlie
  19. Tickle Toe
  20. Louisiana
  21. Easy Does It
  22. Somebody Stole My Gal
  23. I Want a Little Girl

Disc 3

  1. Five O'Clock Whistle
  2. Broadway
  3. It's the Same Old South
  4. Jump the Blues Away
  5. The Jitters
  6. 9:20 Special
  7. Goin' to Chicago Blues
  8. Harvard Blues
  9. One O'Clock Jump
  10. It's Sand, Man
  11. Ain't It the Truth
  12. Taps Miller
  13. Avenue C
  14. Blue Skies
  15. Queer Street
  16. Lazy Lady Blues
  17. Rambo
  18. The King
  19. Hob Nail Boogie
  20. Mutton Leg
  21. Stay on It
  22. Little Pony
  23. Beaver Junction

Disc 4

  1. One O'Clock Jump
  2. Swingin' the Blues
  3. Rock-A-Bye Basie
  4. Don't Worry 'Bout Me
  5. Time Out
  6. Boogie Woogie Blues
  7. Roseland Shuffle
  8. White Sails
  9. Clap Hands! Here Comes Charlie
  10. One O'Clock Jump
  11. They Can't Take That Away from Me
  12. Swing, Brother, Swing
  13. I Can't Get Started
  14. Moten Swing
  15. Ebony Rhapsody
  16. Darn That Dream
  17. Take It, Pres
  18. Baby, Don't Tell on Me
  19. I Got Rhythm
  20. 9:20 Special
  21. Elmer's Tune
  22. Jumpin' at the Woodside

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Count Basie   Primary Artist,Organ,Piano
Paul Bascomb   Tenor Saxophone
Serge Chaloff   Baritone Saxophone
Buck Clayton   Trumpet
Buddy DeFranco   Clarinet
Harry Edison   Trumpet
Wardell Gray   Tenor Saxophone
Freddie Green   Guitar
Illinois Jacquet   Tenor Saxophone
Jo Jones   Bass,Drums
Joe Newman   Trumpet
Buddy Rich   Drums
Charlie Rouse   Tenor Saxophone
Marshall Royal   Alto Saxophone
Jimmy Rushing   Vocals
Tab Smith   Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Buddy Tate   Tenor Saxophone
Lucky Thompson   Tenor Saxophone
Lester Young   Tenor Saxophone
Matthew Gee   Trombone
Jimmy Lewis   Bass
Benny Morton   Trombone
Booty Wood   Trombone
Preston Love   Alto Saxophone
Coleman Hawkins   Tenor Saxophone,Guest Appearance
Walter Page   Bass
Porcino   Trumpet
Emmett Berry   Trumpet
Billie Holiday   Vocals
Don Byas   Tenor Saxophone
Clark Terry   Trumpet
Shad Collins   Trumpet
Leon Comegys   Trombone
Ed Cuffee   Trombone
Vic Dickenson   Trombone
Ted Donnelly   Trombone
George Dorsey   Alto Saxophone
Eddie Durham   Trombone
Herschel Evans   Tenor Saxophone
Charlie Fowlkes   Baritone Saxophone
George Hunt   Trombone
J.J. Johnson   Trombone
Gus Johnson   Drums
Killian   Trumpet
George Matthews   Trombone
Dan Minor   Trombone
Caughey Roberts   Alto Saxophone
Eli Robinson   Trombone
Rudy Rutherford   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Louis Taylor   Trombone
Earle Warren   Alto Saxophone
Jack Washington   Baritone Saxophone
Dicky Wells   Trombone
Shadow Wilson   Drums
Snooky Young   Trumpet
Robin Phillips   Alto Saxophone
Stearns   Trumpet
Bob Mitchell   Trumpet
Lamar Wright   Trumpet
Rodney Richardson   Bass
Ed Lewis   Trumpet
Robert Scott   Trombone

Technical Credits

Leroy Carr   Composer
George Gershwin   Composer
Irving Berlin   Composer
Albert Ammons   Composer
Count Basie   Composer
Buck Clayton   Arranger,Composer
Tadd Dameron   Arranger,Composer
Harry Edison   Arranger,Composer
Leonard Feather   Composer
Dizzy Gillespie   Composer
Illinois Jacquet   Arranger
James P. Johnson   Composer
Bennie Moten   Composer
Jimmy Rushing   Composer
Loren Schoenberg   Liner Notes,Annotation
Tab Smith   Arranger,Composer
Lester Young   Composer
Andy Gibson   Arranger
John Hammond   Producer
Neal Hefti   Arranger,Composer
Jimmy Mundy   Arranger
Sy Oliver   Composer
Pinetop Smith   Composer
W.C. Handy   Composer
Dick Jurgens   Composer
Don Redman   Arranger
Vernon Duke   Composer
Josef Myrow   Composer
Andy Razaf   Composer
Trummy Young   Composer
George Avakian   Producer
Benny Carter   Composer
Billy Bird   Composer
Walter Bishop   Composer
Rube Bloom   Composer
Euday L. Bowman   Composer
Dudley Brooks   Arranger
Sammy Cahn   Composer
Saul Chaplin   Composer
Shad Collins   Composer
Henry Creamer   Composer
Eddie DeLange   Composer
Gene DePaul   Composer
Walter Donaldson   Composer
Eddie Durham   Arranger,Composer
Kim Gannon   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Roger Graham   Composer
Ray Henderson   Composer
J.J. Johnson   Arranger,Composer
J.C. Johnson   Composer
Gus Kahn   Composer
Orrin Keepnews   Liner Notes
Edward Lewis   Composer
Elliot Lewis   Composer
Paul Mares   Composer
Skip Martin   Arranger,Composer
Ballard MacDonald   Composer
Teddy McRae   Composer
Billy Moll   Composer
Ann Moore   Composer
Buster Moten   Composer
J. Neiburg   Composer
Mitchell Parish   Composer
Leon Roppolo   Composer
Don Raye   Composer
Ellis Reynolds   Composer
Bob Russell   Composer
Elmer Schoebel   Composer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Earle Warren   Composer
Mark Wilder   Sound Enhancement
Clarence Williams   Composer
J. Mayo Williams   Composer
Spencer Williams   Composer
Joseph Meyer   Composer
Edgar Battle   Composer
Harry White   Composer
Harry Archer   Composer
Howard Fritzson   Art Direction
Henri Woode   Arranger,Composer
Buster Harding   Arranger,Composer
Ed Lewis   Composer
Arthur Johnston   Composer
William Engvick   Composer
George Frazier   Composer
Lewis Raymond   Composer
J.C. Jones   Composer
Sam Coslow   Composer
Ted Koehler   Composer
Edward Eliscu   Composer
Harry Link   Composer
Jack Strachey   Composer
Sammy Gallop   Composer
Jay Gorney   Composer
Patricia Johnston   Composer
Holt Marvell   Composer
Murray Mencher   Composer
Leo Wood   Composer
Bob Schafer   Composer
Elmer Albrecht   Composer
Doc Daugherty   Composer
Milton Ebbins   Composer
Lucy Fletcher   Composer
Seth Foster   Noise Reduction
Traditional   Composer
Ria Shibayama   Art Direction
Fong Y. Lee   Packaging Manager
Billy Rose   Composer
Dave Peyton   Composer
Sara Syms   Graphic Design
Gene Irwin   Composer
Charles E. King   Composer

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews