×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Among The Shadows: A Detective Byron Mystery
     

Among The Shadows: A Detective Byron Mystery

5.0 1
by Bruce Robert Coffin
 

See All Formats & Editions

Maine Sunday Telegram #1 Bestseller

"A first-rate novel. Suspenseful and highly entertaining." — New York Times bestselling author Gayle Lynds

Fall in Portland, Maine usually arrives as a welcome respite from summer’s sweltering temperatures and, with the tourists gone, a return to normal life—usually. But when a

Overview

Maine Sunday Telegram #1 Bestseller

"A first-rate novel. Suspenseful and highly entertaining." — New York Times bestselling author Gayle Lynds

Fall in Portland, Maine usually arrives as a welcome respite from summer’s sweltering temperatures and, with the tourists gone, a return to normal life—usually. But when a retired cop is murdered, things heat up quickly, setting the city on edge.

Detective Sergeant John Byron, a second-generation cop, is tasked with investigating the case—at the very moment his life is unraveling. On the outs with his department’s upper echelon, separated from his wife, and feeling the strong pull of the bottle, Byron remains all business as he tries to solve the murder of one of their own. And when another ex-Portland PD officer dies under suspicious circumstances, he quickly realizes there’s much more to these cases than meets the eye. The closer Byron gets to the truth, the greater the danger for him and his fellow detectives.

This taut, atmospheric thriller will appeal to fans of Michael Connelly and John Sandford.

Editorial Reviews

Gayle Lynds
“Compulsively readable, Among the Shadows is that rare cop novel that’s chock full of blood-and-guts detail while taking you on a ride of a lifetime. Detective John Byron is a great character, and the reader will be eager for the next installment of his story.”
Chris Holm
“Bruce Robert Coffin knows cops — how they talk, how they act, how they think — and he deploys that knowledge to devastating effect in Among the Shadows. A tense, twisty tale of greed, betrayal, and revenge, it heralds the arrival of a powerful new voice in crime fiction.”
Paul Doiron
Among the Shadows is the best debut I’ve read in ages, filled with suspense, great writing, a perfectly realized setting in Portland, Maine, and an intriguing main character. Detective John Byron promises to become a breakout favorite among readers of crime fiction. He’s already one of mine.”
Brian Thiem
“With the twists and racing pace of a thriller and the profound authenticity of a police procedural, Among the Shadows is the kind of debut crime novel that could only be written by an ex-cop.”
Kate Clark Flora
“Bruce Robert Coffin’s debut crime novel is a compelling page-turner that keeps you guessing - and rooting for his determined investigator - until the very end.”
BookLoons
“Brims with great, believable dialogue [and] suspense to keep you on the edge of your chair. ... Don’t miss Among the Shadows.”
Bangor Daily News
“You won’t be able to stop reading Among the Shadows.”
Kennebec Journal
“A complex, but well-structured plot with careful foreshadowing and subtle red herrings to keep the reader guessing. Coffin clearly has storytelling talent. ... [A] suspenseful, fast-paced, and entertaining mystery.”
Down East Magazine
“A powerful story about how the past haunts the present. ... [Coffin] knows his subject intimately and firsthand.”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062569479
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
09/20/2016
Series:
A John Byron Novel , #1
Pages:
400
Sales rank:
305,539
Product dimensions:
5.30(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.10(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Among The Shadows: A Detective Byron Mystery 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
KaneH More than 1 year ago
This debut novel is a good, fast-paced police procedural, detailing the daily horrors faced by members of a police force, with grisly crime scenes, stifling bureaucratic rigidity, intense scrutiny from outsiders, and personal problems arising from the job that makes their lives painful and difficult. Protagonist John Byron has a world of troubles, but soldiers on to do justice, despite the cost to his troubled life. This book reminds me in a good way of the 87th Precinct novels of Ed McBain. It shows us police officers that are human, not unrealistic superheroes, but ordinary men and women called upon to do an extraordinary job and sacrifice so that others might have a small measure of protection and justice. Written by an insider, a 27-year veteran of the Portland police force, it has depth and detail that only a veteran officer would be able to provide. Even getting basic information seems to be an uphill battle, and anyone trying to solve complex cases must traverse a battlefield of lies and betrayal. Any day on the job requires Byzantine negotiations, and one false step can mean disaster. How anyone manages to do this day after day is incredible. So yes, read this book to enjoy a good tale, but also for a greater understanding of what goes on in the course of an investigation that journeys deeper into hearts of darkness. A powerful first book by a writer with a strong authorial voice.