Anatomy of Arcadia

Anatomy of Arcadia

by David Solway
     
 

A 'travel book' in more ways than one, The Anatomy of Arcadia is at the same time an account of a year spent on the Greek island of Paxos, a study of travel writing from the Attic Nights of Aulus Gellius to the present, an analysis of the myth of Greece, and a meditation on the illusion of Arcadia in its contemporary forms. This is a 'travel book' more in the… See more details below

Overview

A 'travel book' in more ways than one, The Anatomy of Arcadia is at the same time an account of a year spent on the Greek island of Paxos, a study of travel writing from the Attic Nights of Aulus Gellius to the present, an analysis of the myth of Greece, and a meditation on the illusion of Arcadia in its contemporary forms. This is a 'travel book' more in the tradition of Jonathan Raban or Bruce Chatwin. It is the picture of a country, an idea and a temptation. It is also a quest for the lost wholeness of experience. David Solway is the author of many books of poetry, including Modern Marriage which won the 1989 QSPELL Prize for Poetry. His groundbreaking Education Lost also won the 1990 QSPELL Prize for Non-fiction and has received accolades throughout Canada and the United States.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781550650266
Publisher:
Vehicule Press
Publication date:
01/01/1992
Pages:
80
Product dimensions:
5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.80(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >