Anatomy of Arcadia

Anatomy of Arcadia

by David Solway
     
 
A 'travel book' in more ways than one, The Anatomy of Arcadia is at the same time an account of a year spent on the Greek island of Paxos, a study of travel writing from the Attic Nights of Aulus Gellius to the present, an analysis of the myth of Greece, and a meditation on the illusion of Arcadia in its contemporary forms. This is a 'travel book' more

Overview

A 'travel book' in more ways than one, The Anatomy of Arcadia is at the same time an account of a year spent on the Greek island of Paxos, a study of travel writing from the Attic Nights of Aulus Gellius to the present, an analysis of the myth of Greece, and a meditation on the illusion of Arcadia in its contemporary forms. This is a 'travel book' more in the tradition of Jonathan Raban or Bruce Chatwin. It is the picture of a country, an idea and a temptation. It is also a quest for the lost wholeness of experience.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781550650266
Publisher:
Vehicule Press
Publication date:
01/01/1992
Pages:
80
Product dimensions:
5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.80(d)

Meet the Author

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >