Ancient Echos

( 2 )
$8.54 price
(Save 5%)$8.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (CD)
  • All (10) from $1.99   
  • New (7) from $5.69   
  • Used (3) from $1.99   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 3/14/1995
  • Label: Rca
  • UPC: 090266805525
  • Catalog Number: 68055
  • Sales rank: 70,740


Disc 1
  1. 1 Nine sili nebesniye (Rejoice Now Heavenly Powers) - Alexander Sheremetiev & Academy Chorus (3:53)
  2. 2 Vo Iskhode Israileve, Op 19/2 - Alexander Nikolsky & Academy Chorus (6:02)
  3. 3 Slava, Endinorodnii sine (Glory, the Only Begotten Son) Op 5/5 - Nikolai Golovanov & Academy Chorus (3:57)
  4. 4 Maloie slavosloviye (Small Hymns of Praise) - Strokin & Academy Chorus (3:14)
  5. 5 Retche Gospod Gospodevi moyemu (The Lord Speaketh) - Dimitry Bortnyansky & Academy Chorus (8:00)
  6. 6 Sacred Concerto No. 6 ("Glory to God in the highest") (Slava vo vishnikh Bogu) - Dimitry Bortnyansky & Academy Chorus (4:56)
  7. 7 Praise the Lord (Voskliknite gospodevi) - Alexander Grechaninov & Academy Chorus (3:13)
  8. 8 Velikoye Slavosloviye (The Great Doxology) - Riutov & Academy Chorus (9:19)
  9. 9 Work(s) - Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky & Academy Chorus (3:04)
  10. 10 Gospod prosveshcheniye moyo - Alexander Nikolsky & Academy Chorus (3:36)
  11. 11 Deva dnes (The Virgin Today) - Dimitry Bortnyansky & Academy Chorus (1:51)
  12. 12 Liturgy, Op. 16: No 1, Veriu (I Believe) - Pavel Chesnokov & Academy Chorus (4:17)
  13. 13 Slava vo vishnikh Bogu (Glory Be to God in Heaven) Op. 71/2 - Alexander Grechaninov & Academy Chorus (4:29)
  14. 14 God is with Us (S nami Bog), for tenor & chorus, Op. 40/6 - Pavel Chesnokov & Academy Chorus (3:26)
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Might of the Russian Male Choral Sound

    The Russian liturgical music, especially that for the high holy days of Christmas and Easter, owns a mystery all its own. This splendid recording by the Chorovaya Akademia conducted by Alexander Sedov is a fine a sound as any produced on recording. Though few of the composers (with the exception of Tchaikovsky and Grechaninov) are well known outside Russia, the works are all beautifully composed and hauntingly performed. There is somewhat of a sameness to these religious works (little variation in tempi, expressive range, dynamics) but the overall effect is one of humble spirituality.This is a fine example of the Russian choral music that is growing in popularity one the recorded repertoire and it is for this listener one of the best. Grady Harp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Truly Russian Music Making!

    I heard a Russian choir at Parabiago, Italy in one of its centuries old churches and that was an astounding experience. What the men on this album accomplish is about as close as one can get to that live performance. Excellent balance, flawless execution and unflagging power as no ensemble I've ever heard. A must buy for someone seeking more than monody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews