Arctic Winds

Arctic Winds

4.3 25
by Sondrae Bennett
     
 
Alpine Woods Shifter, #1

Nothing will stop a wolf once he's found his mate. . .not even her own doubts.

After her skulk abandoned her four years ago, Samantha knew she would never truly be wanted. When she accidentally stumbles into a wolf town and is asked by their premier to stay, she believes it's the novelty of an arctic fox motivating him. She

Overview

Alpine Woods Shifter, #1

Nothing will stop a wolf once he's found his mate. . .not even her own doubts.

After her skulk abandoned her four years ago, Samantha knew she would never truly be wanted. When she accidentally stumbles into a wolf town and is asked by their premier to stay, she believes it's the novelty of an arctic fox motivating him. She knows she'll be on her own again once he tires of her.

Jason finds himself pulled to Samantha from the moment she faints in his arms. His wolf is calling to him, telling him he's found their mate and the heat he feels for Samantha is impossible to resist. But his little fox is loaded down with emotional baggage and doesn't believe she's worthy of love. Can he overcome her fears? Or will pack jealousies and the local foxes convince her she doesn't belong with him before he has a chance?

28,000 Words

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781616502270
Publisher:
Kensington
Publication date:
01/17/2011
Series:
Arctic Winds , #1
Sold by:
Penguin Random House Publisher Services
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
104
Sales rank:
163,109
File size:
688 KB

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Arctic Winds 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
NiinaCs_Blog More than 1 year ago
That is so bad! Horrible! Cruel! Why is this book so short! Seriously, it's the only bad thing I have to say about it! Samantha, a fox-shifter, cast out from her skulk in Alaska has been touring a states trying to find jobs, staying short whiles in different places - coming in to this diner wasn't going to be different. Jason only needed one scent of her and his hands were tied, and his heart with it, the terrified, beaten down little fox captured him immediately, and he has no plans to let her just pass by. As scared as she is of practically everything it's going to take time and a good plan to show the woman that she belong in his pack of wolves - with him - forever. I loved Jason from the first sentence, I love male characters that know what they want and take it with no crap about it. Jason wants Samantha, and he's tap dancing around just how badly he wants her so she won't freakout and bolt. And I loved Samantha! There is a little bit of me in her that just made me love the book, love her character, she's a woman who needs a man who knows how to get her past her Past. It's not easy to be not accepted by your community/skulk and sometimes only thing that can bring you out of it is love, and erm... in this novella a really good turn in the sheets. ;) Absolutely worth reading! This is going to be another favourite shifter story of mine! And luckily there is atleast one more "Chasing Paradise" out now and one coming soon! Little update on this from the author! The newest "Wolf Within" is to come out July 2012! Sexy, tempting and lovable love story!
_Michelle_ More than 1 year ago
Amazing and perfect, I just love a great story with ultra cool characters! Shifter fans, you MUST check this one out. It is something to howl about for sure. Arooooooooo! Samantha is an orphaned arctic-fox shifter from Alaska. Her skulk (like a pack) cast her out when she turned eighteen and she has been wandering the country alone ever since. In Alaska, shifter territory is guarded tightly, species do not mix and trespassers are killed. So four years later, when Samantha ends up in Colorado on wolf land, she fears for her life. Jason is the Wolf Premier (pack alpha) of his town. He is loved and respected by his own pack. And even though he is the youngest leader around, his advice is sought after by other shifter leaders. When he walks into the café, his wolf is instantly attracted to Samantha's scent and plans to claim her for his own. But this Premier isn't all wolf, he's man too. And the man knows Samantha carries some baggage with her. Jason is patient and protective as he takes the time to figure out if they belong together. Each day he sends a little treat to Samantha, including white roses to match her perfectly white hair. This is one shifter who made my knees buckle and my body swoon. What a romantic! Thanks to Jason, Samantha gets a job working for his sister at a bookstore and the two of them provide some seriously funny gal pal moments. It was so cute to discover that not only had she never had a girl friend before, but she'd never experienced a girls' night out. Trust me when I say, she made up for lost time. This book hit all the right notes with me! There are plenty of light and funny moments, and lots of 'aw shucks, they are so cute' moments. But most of all, there are some seriously sexually frustrated moments. These two don't rush into anything and that left me feeling the tension right alongside them. Torture! I was absolutely impressed with the character development Ms Bennett managed to achieve in a short 72 pages. With such amazing characters, I really wanted the book to be longer. I would also have loved to see more conflict to their HEA presented by the wolf females chasing Jason and the neighboring Fox males wishing to court Samantha. My fingers are crossed that a series is planned. Ms Bennett has crafted one amazing debut shifter fans are just going to love and want more of. Colorado is home to some super fine young shifters who have already intrigued me. Fans of Dana Marie Bell's Puma and Shifter series and Vivian Arend's Granite Lake Wolves series are going to find a new home in Colorado. The next generation is taking over and they sure make things fun to watch. This is a feel good fun one, everyone. Make sure to check it out. Enjoy! first published at Theromancereviews dot com
ss63 More than 1 year ago
Loved this story! Cant wait for next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great start to a series Will be reading more from this author. Loved the chemistry between them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
elopez87 More than 1 year ago
Short book but a great read if your into the supernatural sexy shifters. Cant wait to read the next one. Knocked this one out in 1 day!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great story. I wished it was a little longer but not because the story lacked anything but because I got attached to the characters and didn't want to say good-bye! Great buy for the price.