Are You My Mother?

Are You My Mother?

4.1 225
by P. D. Eastman
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Back in 1957, Theodor Geisel responded to an article in Life magazine that lamented the use of boring reading primers in schools. Using the pseudonym of "Dr. Seuss" (Seuss was Geisel's middle name) and only two hundred twenty-three words, Geisel created a replacement for those dull primers: "The Cat in the Hat." The instant success of the book prompted Geisel and

Overview

Back in 1957, Theodor Geisel responded to an article in Life magazine that lamented the use of boring reading primers in schools. Using the pseudonym of "Dr. Seuss" (Seuss was Geisel's middle name) and only two hundred twenty-three words, Geisel created a replacement for those dull primers: "The Cat in the Hat." The instant success of the book prompted Geisel and his wife to found Beginner Books, and Geisel wrote many popular books in this series, including "Hop on Pop," "Fox in Socks," and "Green Eggs and Ham." Other favorite titles in this series are "Go, Dog, Go!" and "Are You My Mother?" by P. D. Eastman, "A Fly Went By," by Mike McClintock, and "Put Me in the Zoo," by Robert Lopshire. These affordable hardcover books combine large print, easy vocabulary, and large, bright illustrations in stories kids will want to read again and again. Grades 1 - Grades 2.

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature
This story has been around for forty-five years and has not lost its appeal. A little baby bird falls out of its nest and asks a number of the animals that it meets if they are its mother. Each in turns replies that he or she is not and that they are a kitten, dog, hen or cow. Baby bird is attached to a ribbon and can be removed from the nest. When he reaches the steam shovel which he calls Snort, baby bird can be inserted into the shovel as it lifts the bird up, up, up and back into its nest. There is a slot under mama bird's wing to slide the little baby bird. This cloth book will be perfect for little ones new to the story and will also engage motor skills as they try to put baby bird in all of the right places. 2005 (orig. 1960), Random House, Ages 1 to 3.
—Marilyn Courtot
Children's Literature - Mary Quattlebaum
In P.D. Eastman's classic Are You My Mother?, a baby bird sets out to find his unknown mom, asking the title's question of all he meets--kitten, dog, boat, even a bulldozer. The illustrations capture both the humor and poignancy of the quest, which speaks reassuringly to many children's worries about parental loss. As kids, my siblings and I wanted to hear this story again and again. 1998 (orig.
Children's Literature - Mary Hynes-Berry
This is the 25th anniversary edition of a book countless preschoolers want to hear again and again and again; some authorities have been bewildered by the appeal of this easy-read book; some consider it downright silly. But the fact is Are You My Mother? opens up a question that many young children worry about. As the little bird goes from kitten to hen to a car to a boat, the young readers cheer him on. They appreciate that while the newly hatched little bird may not be sure what his mother looks like, his persistence in finding this important person is admirable. Furthermore, the book invites many opportunities for conversation as the children explain differences between the various candidates for motherhood and baby bird, or as they share experiences about times when they may have missed or lost their mother, only to be lovingly reunited. Reviewer: Mary Hynes-Berry

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780307938541
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Publication date:
04/15/2011
Series:
I Can Read It All By Myself Beginner Books Series
Sold by:
Random House
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
67,738
File size:
24 MB
Note:
This product may take a few minutes to download.
Age Range:
3 - 7 Years

Meet the Author

P. D. Eastman was one of the stars of the Beginner Books line with beloved classics like Are You My Mother?; Go, Dog. Go!; The Best Nest; and more!

From the Non-traditional book edition.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Are You My Mother 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 225 reviews.
Robert Bell More than 1 year ago
Would luv 2 read ARE U MY MOTHER 2 my granddaughter, but price is "rediculously" high for such a short book... ANIMATED OR NOT SINCERLY RB
dickmac999 More than 1 year ago
I have already purchased all the Dr. Seuss books FROM BN, and it is ridiculous to expect a parent to spend ten bucks for the electronic version of a small book for children.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very expensive.
Madison Dockery More than 1 year ago
No thank you. Not for 10 dollars. Even if it is one of my favorites.
GrammaCF More than 1 year ago
I gave my grand daughter this book for her seventh birthday. Why? Her father got a divorce when she was two years old. Her mother left my grand daughter "to find herself". I became the temporary "mother." Recently,when I read a book of Dr. Seuss to her class and asked the question, "What is your favorite Dr. Seussbook", every student was ready to give their favorite Dr. Seuss title. But my grand daughter spoke up and said, "My favorite book is "Are You My Mother?". Her answer touched me deeply in that moment.It struck me that my grand daughter was now ready to search deeper to find that missing piece of her life. I am so grateful that this book will help her on her search. It has few words, but with the simple illustrations, can direct the reader to its final exciing conclusion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I taught my kids to read with these books!
Scott Dye More than 1 year ago
No way would i pay 13 bucks for a nook book. I have this on hard copy and my kids love it! I didnt pay any where close to that much!
Doris Bijeaux More than 1 year ago
$13.98 for a nook book. Prices are to high. Will sell nook and go back to paperback. Would not give any star if i could.
Hector Jimenez More than 1 year ago
I bought three Dr Zeuss books and remembering i did not pay this much. If im not mistaken it was half this price! Im noticing a upward trend in pricing in all books. Not cool
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THis book i hope to read to my children
Marissa Howard More than 1 year ago
I+remember+when+i+was+younger+i+would+often+make+my+mother+read+this+book+over+and+over+to+me.+I+thouroughly+enjoyed+it+at+that+age+and+i+believe+it+is+a+fantastic+childrens+book%21
Tasi-Jo McFarlane More than 1 year ago
My little sister really enjoyed it . It was charming and funny , other kids will definetly like it.
KKLewis More than 1 year ago
I remember this book being read to me when I was just a little girl and that was over 30 years ago. This is one of the cutest books ever and a must read for the new generation.
twinmama07 More than 1 year ago
I love this book, but unfortuantely the read to me option is very hard to listen to. Very monotone voice, my kids got bored very quickly and payed a lot more attention when I read the book. Not work 9.99 as a nookbook!
June Orourke More than 1 year ago
good cute story
sharon blue More than 1 year ago
i love this book it is sooooooooooooooo cute!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great book to read out loud to children! A classic!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is about a baby bird that hatches while her mother is away. It goes on an adventure to try to find it’s mother. The last person it asks is a tractor shovel thing that it calls a snort. The little bird thinks the snort has him but the snort returns him to his nest to be reunited with his mother. I remember reading this book as a child and it always made me appricate my mother more. This book teaches kids the value of their mothers, and any other family members they may have. It also teaches them that their mothers will keep them safe from various levels of harm.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bluespruce7597 More than 1 year ago
This is a classic. My 3 year old grandson loves it. He especially loves the page with where the steam shovel says, "SNORT". There's something about that word that sends him into uncontrollable laughter.
WowWowWowWowWow More than 1 year ago
There are a few different animals in this that grab my daughters attention and keeps her interested until the last page. These board books are very sturdy, they're the perfect size for babies and toddlers. Also the pages are easy for my daughter to turn. With only a sentence or two on each page, the little ones stay interested.
psycheKK More than 1 year ago
Over the years, I'd read some pretty snide remarks about this particular book. Perhaps inflicting it on a seven- or eight-year-old child for the first time would be cruel, as it is simple and repetitive, without the quirky humor of Suess, but for a toddler, this book is perfect.  For one thing it is simple. The baby bird looks like a bird; the kitten looks like a kitten; the dog looks like a dog, and so on, and the mother looks like the baby bird. A toddler can spot the family resemblance. For another thing, it is repetitive. While I'm not a big fan of repetition in books that I read for my own enjoyment, I am a fan of it in toddler books. And so is my toddler. Repetition is predictable, and therefore, safe, to the very young "readers".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago