×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Arranged
     

Arranged

4.3 40
by Catherine McKenzie, Rachel Dulude (Narrated by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Anne Blythe has a great life: a good job, good friends, and a potential book deal for her first novel. When it comes to finding someone to share it with, however, she just can't seem to get it right. After yet another relationship ends, Anne comes across a business card for what she thinks is a dating service, and she pockets it just in case. When her best friend,

Overview

Anne Blythe has a great life: a good job, good friends, and a potential book deal for her first novel. When it comes to finding someone to share it with, however, she just can't seem to get it right. After yet another relationship ends, Anne comes across a business card for what she thinks is a dating service, and she pockets it just in case. When her best friend, Sarah, announces she's engaged, Anne can't help feeling envious. On an impulse, she decides to give the service a try because maybe she could use a little assistance in finding the right man. But Anne soon discovers the company isn't a dating service; it's an exclusive, and pricey, arranged marriage service. A few months later, Anne is traveling to a Mexican resort, where in one short weekend she will meet and marry Jack. And against all odds, it seems to be working out-until Anne learns that Jack, and the company that arranged their marriage, are not what they seem at all.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Fans of Jennifer Weiner and Jennifer Crusie have found a new author to watch." ---Booklist Starred Review
Elle Canada
“This zany novel gallops through the perils of one thirty-something redhead’s desperate search for love and marriage, no necessarily in that order.”
Library Journal - Audio
10/3/2014
Unlike her literary namesake, Anne Shirley Blythe, the thirtysomething heroine of this breezy, charming novel, can't find a good man to save her life. Her sole demand—he must look like a young Pierce Brosnan—has led to a string of disastrous relationships. As Anne's latest relationship falls apart, her best friend announces her engagement and her brother proclaims his fourth child is on the way. When Anne spots a business card on the street for a dating service, she thinks perhaps fate is intervening. She discovers it's actually a service for arranged marriages but decides to carry on and let the agency choose her husband because, well, how bad could it be? McKenzie (Spin) writes with an engaging, wry tone, and her well-crafted characters and numerous pop culture references will draw listeners into this satisfyingly romantic story that never takes itself too seriously. Narrator Rachel Dulude delivers a great performance and especially excels with McKenzie's witty banter.
Verdict Highly recommended, especially for Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Jennifer Crusie fans.—Beth Farrell, Cleveland State Univ. Law Lib.

(c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781494533885
Publisher:
Tantor Media, Inc.
Publication date:
07/22/2014
Edition description:
Library - Unabridged CD
Product dimensions:
6.70(w) x 6.40(h) x 0.90(d)

Meet the Author

Catherine McKenzie is the author of several novels and articles, including Spin and Forgotten, and her novels have been translated into French, German, Czech, Slovak, and Polish. She is a graduate of McGill University in history and law, and she currently practices law. Catherine lives in Montreal.

Rachel Dulude is an actor and book narrator based in Providence, Rhode Island. She has been recording audiobooks since 2012 in genres ranging from young adult to adult thrillers. As an actor, she has performed with the Wilbury Theatre Group in Providence and the Gamm Theatre in Pawtucket, Rhode Island.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Arranged: A Novel 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 40 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was absolutely fantastic. The characters were well designed, the plot followed through very well, and the story was just plain adorable. Each character sees very real, with abdifferent personality or problem to work through, and all with different perspectives on love and marriage that harmonize completely with the main characters doubts, fears, and thoughts on the subject. All around it was a very well-written book, and I will be reading it again someday. READ THIS BOOK!
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Chick lit with an incredible twist. I was on a journey with Anne Blythe as she tries to figure out how she always ends up in bad relationships with great looking men. With a little help from fate, she ends up calling what she thinks to be a dating service, but ends up being an arranged marriage company. The characters, the every city location, and the concept all kept me hooked in this story. I read it in 24 hours, I couldn't put it down for one moment! From the first sentence, I wanted to know where Anne Blythe was going to end up. Maybe I missed it, but I liked that I couldn't quite place where this book took place, it felt like it could have happened down the street or across the country. The concept was not absolutely original, but with the twist that I can't divulge it took the story to the next level. What I loved about this book is I thought I was headed down a certain path and then all of the sudden she flips a switch and the story goes down an even better road! Even a reader who may not read most chick lit, should pick this one up immediately.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book, the first I have read by the author. It was a light romantic comedy that read quickly and easily. Fun for those times you want something to entertain and make you smile.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it!!!! This book was a great summer read! I truly enjoyed Catherine McKenzie's writing. It was original, loved the story line. I will definitely read her other book Spin.
ChristalFL More than 1 year ago
A fun read. Loved the characters, loved the concept. It's the first book I've read from this author and I will now read everything she writes. If you like chick lit, you'll love this book.
SmilingUp More than 1 year ago
There were multiple twists in this lovely book. It was the perfect summer read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First book Ive read by Catherine McKenzie and what a great book! Loved the characters and the story line.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Book takes an unexpected turn from what you think when you first start reading it! Interesting story!! Happy ending!
iblog4books More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars Arranged isn't my typical book, but I absolutely adored it! It has a similar feel to the Nanny Diary books and the Shopaholic books (so I suppose chick lit type book). But it was just phenomenal. I truly enjoyed every aspect of the story and was completely surprised a couple of times. Great premise--especially for a contemporary story. The one drawback was the language. I understand that some people will not be offended, but it was a bit much for me. NOTE: As I primarily read and review Christian fiction, I want to mention that this book was published for the general market. There is some language sprinkled throughout and a couple of scenes that are a little more risque (though not too in depth).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. Couldnt put it down. I read it in just a few days. Cant wait to read her other two books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dancingrandma More than 1 year ago
Love this book!!! Could not put it down!!!
Fredreeca2001 More than 1 year ago
A very good read!!!
LadyMarty More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable book with an interesting perspective.
BeckyLeJ More than 1 year ago
A thought provoking romance.  It seems fate has stepped in when Anne Blythe discovers a business card for what she believes is a dating service straight on the heels of catching her boyfriend cheating. "Blythe and Company," the card reads, "Arrangements made." A few chance encounters with exes and the announcement that her best friend is getting married prompt Anne to call and set up an appointment. She soon discovers that Blythe and Company is not a dating service at all. They arrange marriages. But is Anne really ready for such a commitment? I love McKenzie's writing. As with Spin, she has once again created a leading lady readers like me can believe in and connect with. And while Arranged is certainly a contemporary romance in part, it's also a thought-provoking read -- how far would you go to meet the man of your dreams and how much would you be willing to forgive if that person wasn't what you'd imagined?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just a sweet, easy romance. Well done.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book left me saying "That's it?" I guess I expected a more satisfying ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Surprisngly the ideas about love and who we choose were insightful. I just dont think the protagonist and her hero got those points and the characters lacked appeal and depth.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wasn't sure of what to expect with this book. The topic of an arranged marriage was both disturbing and intriguing. I couldn't predict what was coming up, a trait I enjoy in a book. Would recommend this book and this author to others who enjoy 'chick lit' or light romances.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its a great book and keeps your childhood dream of a fairytale
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great read. I just wish there was an epilogue.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cute story.