Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Artist Portrait: Sharon Isbin

Artist Portrait: Sharon Isbin

5.0 1
by Sharon Isbin

Product Details

Release Date:
Warner Classics


  1. Lute (Chamber) Concerto, for lute (or guitar), 2 violins & continuo in D major, RV 93
  2. Aranjuez, ma pensée, for piano (or guitar)
  3. Zapateado for guitar
  4. Natalia, for guitar
  5. Harpsichord Concerto No. 5 in F minor (or for oboe or violin in G minor) BWV 1056: Adagio
  6. Historia do Luar
  7. Chôro Alegre (A Hug for Tiberio)
  8. Black is the Color of My True Love's Hair
  9. Go 'Way from My Window, for voice & piano
  10. Concerto for Guitar and Orchestra: Yi2: I. Rubato
  11. Adagio, for violin, strings & organ in G minor (composed by Remo Giazotto; not by Albinoni), T. Mi 26
  12. Songs (12) for Guitar: Londonderry Air
  13. Recuerdos de la Alhambra, for guitar
  14. Plaisir d'amour, for voice & piano (or orchestra)
  15. Ständchen ("Leise flehen meine Lieder"), song for voice & piano (Schwanengesang), D. 957/4
  16. Cantata No. 147, "Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben," BWV 147: Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring
  17. Concert de Gaudi for guitar & orchestra: I. Allegro

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Artist Portrait: Sharon Isbin 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Artist portrait is a beautifully arranged bouquet of Sharon Isbin’s “best” (as always). In this album, one discovers Ms. Isbin’s art in all its dimensions, since she has combined in a single CD Baroque, Latin music, Folks songs, and modern concerti commissioned by the artist. Among the Baroque pieces, one will find, the sumptuous Albinoni Adagio, the cheery Vivaldi Allegros, and one of my favorites, the melancholic Bach Adagio (track #7). Latin flavors are also on Isbin’s canvas with the warm Zapateado, and even danceable music, accompanied by percussionist Thiago de Mello, like Lauro’s Natalia, Almeida’s Chôro. All of the above are virtuously blended with American and French all time love songs such as “Plaisir d’Amour” and “Black is the Color of my True Love’s Hair” marvelously sang by mezzo-soprano Susanne Mentzer. My favorites are Isbin’s arrangement of Schubert’s Standchen, Takemitsu’s Londonderry Air and Tarrega’s Recuerdo de la Alhambra. These pieces were deeply moving and soothing. Sharon Isbin is a living institution when it comes to classical guitar. Mrs. Isbin has created the guitar department at Julliard School of Music, she has commissioned more concerti then any other guitarist, has won a Grammy, has written the Classical Guitar Answer Book to mention just a few of her outstanding accomplishments. It is with flawless artistry that Sharon Isbin paints that portrait made of sublime colors and warm textures. The eloquence of her music awakens each of one’s senses. Like da Vinci’s Mona Lisa who seems to change expression as living things do, Isbin’s portrait is a rich, balanced compilation of the guitarist diversified repertoire which will, like Mona Lisa’s portrait, transport one's imagination and may move the listener far beyond tears. Artist portrait is a delight, from beginning to end. (À consommer sans moderation.)