Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Artistry in Jazz - Black Lion Sampler

Artistry in Jazz - Black Lion Sampler


Product Details

Release Date:
Black Lion


  1. When It's Sleepy Time Down South
  2. Ingin' the Ooh
  3. Don't Explain to Me Baby
  4. Happy Reunion
  5. Doxy
  6. Tournesol
  7. Black Lion Blues
  8. I Will Wait for You
  9. Cool
  10. Something in Blue
  11. Stalag 414
  12. Blues for Bouffemont
  13. Lover Man
  14. Pound Horn
  15. Striding After Fats

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gene Ammons   Tenor Saxophone
Count Basie   Piano,Track Performer
Walter Bishop   Piano
Bill Coleman   Trumpet
Earl Coleman   Vocals
George Coleman   Tenor Saxophone
Miles Davis   Trumpet,Track Performer
Kenny Drew   Piano
Paul Gonsalves   Tenor Saxophone
Dexter Gordon   Tenor Saxophone,Track Performer
Stéphane Grappelli   Violin,Track Performer
Freddie Green   Guitar
Earl Hines   Piano,Track Performer
Barney Kessel   Guitar,Track Performer
Joe Newman   Trumpet
Oscar Pettiford   Bass,Baritone Saxophone,Track Performer
Bud Powell   Piano,Track Performer
Sonny Stitt   Alto Saxophone,Track Performer
Art Taylor   Drums,Snare Drums
Ben Webster   Tenor Saxophone,Track Performer
Teddy Wilson   Piano,Track Performer
Joe Darensbourg   Clarinet
Linton Garner   Piano
Fred Hunt   Piano
Rufus "Speedy" Jones   Drums,Snare Drums
Hans Koller   Tenor Saxophone
Attila Zoller   Guitar
Tommy Potter   Bass,Baritone Saxophone
George Tucker   Bass,Baritone Saxophone
Howard McGhee   Trumpet,Track Performer
Jimmy Cobb   Drums,Snare Drums
Trummy Young   Trombone
Louis Armstrong   Trumpet,Vocals,Track Performer
Danny Barcelona   Drums,Snare Drums
Joe Benjamin   Bass
Benny Carter   Track Performer
Art Blakey   Drums,Snare Drums
Alan Clare   Piano
Kenny Clarke   Drums,Snare Drums
Henry Coker   Trombone
Duke Ellington   Piano,Track Performer
Frank Foster   Tenor Saxophone
Charlie Fowlkes   Baritone Saxophone
Michel Gaudry   Bass,Baritone Saxophone,Bowed Bass
Lennie Hastings   Drums,Snare Drums
Albert "Tootie" Heath   Drums,Snare Drums
Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen   Bass
Gus Johnson   Drums,Snare Drums
Billy Kyle   Piano
Junior Mance   Piano
John Marshall   Drums,Snare Drums
Thelonious Monk   Piano,Track Performer
Kenny Napper   Bass,Baritone Saxophone
Jimmy Pratt   Drums,Snare Drums
Curly Russell   Bass,Guitar
Connie Wainwright   Guitar
Frank Wess   Tenor Saxophone
Eddie Jones   Bass,Baritone Saxophone
Billy Cronk   Bass,Baritone Saxophone
Ron Rae   Bass,Baritone Saxophone
Billy Lyle   Piano
Henry Cocker   Trombone
Freddie Freen   Guitar
Jim Douglas   Guitar

Technical Credits

Stéphane Grappelli   Contributor
Michel Legrand   Composer
Alan Bates   Producer
Danny Barcelona   Contributor
Jacques Demy   Composer
Charlie Fowlkes   Contributor
Norman Gimbel   Composer
Roger "Ram" Ramirez   Composer
Jimmy Sherman   Composer
Malcolm Walker   Cover Design
Jimmy Davis   Composer

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews