Ashes of a Black Frost (Iron Elves Series #3)

Ashes of a Black Frost (Iron Elves Series #3)

4.9 11
by Chris Evans
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The third novel in the epic fantasy series “evokes the era of Napoleon with muskets and slashing swords while neatly mixing in military fantasy, swords and sorcery, and a great deal of success” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

Amidst a sea of carnage on a desert battlefield blanketed in metallic snow, Major Konowa Swift Dragon sees

…  See more details below

Overview

The third novel in the epic fantasy series “evokes the era of Napoleon with muskets and slashing swords while neatly mixing in military fantasy, swords and sorcery, and a great deal of success” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

Amidst a sea of carnage on a desert battlefield blanketed in metallic snow, Major Konowa Swift Dragon sees his future, and it is one drenched in shadow and blood. Never mind that he has won a grand victory for the Calahrian Empire; he has failed in the search for his lost regiment of elves. But Konowa knows, as do the Iron Elves, that a far more important battle looms on the twisted, darkening path to the Hyntaland—the final confrontation with the dreaded Shadow Monarch.

Konowa’s ultimate journey is fraught with escalating danger: monstrous creatures spawned from a vast, black forest; the Shadow Monarch’s vengeful and maniacally unstable former emissary; reluctant hero Private Alwyn Renwar, who struggles to maintain his connection between the living and the dead; and Konowa’s former love, Visyna Tekoy, who is fighting for her life against the very elves he so desperately wants to find.

And so Konowa sets off to pursue his freedom from a curse that has cast his life in darkness. For though his long, violent trek may indeed lead him to his destiny, he is ill-prepared for the discovery he will make . . . with the fate of the Iron Elves, and the world, hinging on the courage of one wrathful elf.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Evans ably continues the saga of the determined and driven Iron Elves and their valiant leader, Maj. Konowa Swift Dragon, in this gritty follow-up to 2009’s The Light of Burning Shadows. Konowa has just witnessed the battle to end all battles. He’s in charge of a shredded company held together with camel spit and tattered pride. Private Alywn Renwar has taken on the burden of being the living mouthpiece to the fallen Iron Elves, and it’s tearing away at his sanity. Konowa just wants to find a way to end the war and finish off the Shadow Monarch once and for all—but soon he will learn that the Monarch is not the true face of evil. An overly sappy romance distracts only slightly from the heroic action that keeps Evans’s fans coming back. (Oct.)
Library Journal
Having won a major victory for the Calahrian Empire against the dark forces that threaten it, Maj. Konowa Swift Dragon of the elite Iron Elves must now lead his troops into the dark tunnels beneath a black forest to find the Shadow Monarch and lift the curse that burdens his men. Set against a background that resembles Europe of the Napoleonic era, Evans's latest installment (after A Darkness Forged in Fire and The Light of Burning Shadows) mixes magic and early 19th-century warfare and showcases intriguingly memorable characters. VERDICT Fans of Glen Cook's "Black Company" novels, Naomi Novik's "Temeraire" series, and James Barclay's "Chronicles of the Raven" will appreciate this well-detailed and intensely told story.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781439180679
Publisher:
Pocket Books
Publication date:
09/25/2012
Series:
Iron Elves Series, #3
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
464
Product dimensions:
4.32(w) x 7.28(h) x 0.98(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Chris Evans is also the author of the Iron Elves saga: A Darkness Forged in Fire, The Light of Burning Shadows, and Ashes of a Black Frost, as well as the nonfiction book Bloody Jungle: The War in Vietnam. He is a military historian and former editor for Random House and Stackpole Books. Born in Canada, he lives in New York City.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >