Ashes of a Black Frost (Iron Elves Series #3)

Ashes of a Black Frost (Iron Elves Series #3)

4.9 11
by Chris Evans
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Bones jutted from the sand at angles—not odd angles, though, for that would suggest that there were ways bones could protrude that made sense—and the eyes of those still living stared and saw nothing.

Amidst a scene of carnage on a desert battlefield blanketed in metallic snow, Major Konowa Swift Dragon sees his future, and it is one

Overview

Bones jutted from the sand at angles—not odd angles, though, for that would suggest that there were ways bones could protrude that made sense—and the eyes of those still living stared and saw nothing.

Amidst a scene of carnage on a desert battlefield blanketed in metallic snow, Major Konowa Swift Dragon sees his future, and it is one drenched in shadow and blood. Never mind that he has won a grand victory for the Calahrian Empire. He came here in search of his lost regiment of elves, while the Imperial Prince came looking for the treasures of a mystical library, and both ventures have failed. But Konowa knows, as do the Iron Elves—both living and dead—that another, far more important battle now looms before them. The campaign in the desert was only the latest obstacle on the twisted, darkening path leading inexorably to the Hyntaland, and the final confrontation with the dreaded Shadow Monarch.

In this third novel of musket and magic in Chris Evans’s Iron Elves saga, Konowa’s ultimate journey is fraught with escalating danger. A vast, black forest finds a new source of dark power, spawning creatures even more monstrous than the blood trees from which they evolve. The maniacally unstable former emissary of the Shadow Monarch hungers for revenge, leading an army of ravenous beasts bent on utterly destroying the Iron Elves. A reluctant hero, Private Alwyn Renwar, struggles to maintain his connection to this world and that of the loyalty of the shades of the dead. And in a maze of underground tunnels, Visyna Tekoy, whom Konowa counts among those he has loved and lost, fights for her life against the very elves he so desperately wants to find.

And so Konowa sets off from this Canyon of Bones, pursuing his freedom from a curse that has cast his life in darkness. For though his long, violent trek may indeed lead him to his destiny, he is ill prepared for the discovery he will make . . . with the fate of the Iron Elves, and the world, hinging on the courage of one wrathful elf.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Evans ably continues the saga of the determined and driven Iron Elves and their valiant leader, Maj. Konowa Swift Dragon, in this gritty follow-up to 2009’s The Light of Burning Shadows. Konowa has just witnessed the battle to end all battles. He’s in charge of a shredded company held together with camel spit and tattered pride. Private Alywn Renwar has taken on the burden of being the living mouthpiece to the fallen Iron Elves, and it’s tearing away at his sanity. Konowa just wants to find a way to end the war and finish off the Shadow Monarch once and for all—but soon he will learn that the Monarch is not the true face of evil. An overly sappy romance distracts only slightly from the heroic action that keeps Evans’s fans coming back. (Oct.)
Library Journal
Having won a major victory for the Calahrian Empire against the dark forces that threaten it, Maj. Konowa Swift Dragon of the elite Iron Elves must now lead his troops into the dark tunnels beneath a black forest to find the Shadow Monarch and lift the curse that burdens his men. Set against a background that resembles Europe of the Napoleonic era, Evans's latest installment (after A Darkness Forged in Fire and The Light of Burning Shadows) mixes magic and early 19th-century warfare and showcases intriguingly memorable characters. VERDICT Fans of Glen Cook's "Black Company" novels, Naomi Novik's "Temeraire" series, and James Barclay's "Chronicles of the Raven" will appreciate this well-detailed and intensely told story.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781439180686
Publisher:
Pocket Books
Publication date:
10/18/2011
Series:
Iron Elves Series , #3
Sold by:
SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
448
Sales rank:
122,746
File size:
4 MB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Chris Evans is also the author of the Iron Elves saga: A Darkness Forged in Fire, The Light of Burning Shadows, and Ashes of a Black Frost, as well as the nonfiction book Bloody Jungle: The War in Vietnam. He is a military historian and former editor for Random House and Stackpole Books. Born in Canada, he lives in New York City.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Ashes of a Black Frost 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Kari Massa More than 1 year ago
The first two books were wonderfully done, cannot wait to read the third.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
arcticghost More than 1 year ago
The Iron Elves have seen two Stars arrive, and still they are oath-bound. Ashes Of A Black Frost picks up where the second book, The Light of Burning Shadows, left off. The regiment has won the battle, but not without cost. They have lost much. There are missing soldiers, missing friends, and missing family. And Konowa Swift Dragon has become determined that this war must go directly to the enemy, the Shadow Monarch. But getting to the coast let alone Her mountain is a fight in itself. Ashes of A Black Frost is the third and final installment of the Iron Elves Trilogy and it grabs and doesn't let go. Chris is a terrific storyteller and this story doesn't disappoint. It's exciting and action-packed, with many surprises along the way. As well as heart-ache. It held me spellbound and is a first rate conclusion to a trilogy full of characters I've come to love, a world I find myself immersed within, and stories I've thoroughly enjoyed. I look forward to many more worlds and stories from this author in which to explore along with his characters.
John-Rauscher More than 1 year ago
Ashes Of A Black Frost: Book Three Of The Iron Elves By Chris Evans Publication Date: October 18, 2011 Publisher: Gallery Books ( An Imprint of Simon & Schuster) Author Chris Evans has concluded his Iron Elves series with a bang. The trilogy, pitting Konowa Swift Dragon and his reconstituted and once revered regiment, The Iron Elves, against the Shadow Monarch - a corrupted sorceress bent on seeing the world twisted and deformed - has left fans impatient for its conclusion. They won't be sorry! Konowa, an elf tainted by the Shadow Monarch's Black Frost, possess all the attributes and foibles one would expect of a hero. He's dashing, impulsive, and very, very angry. Fans will relish in the tension as pitfalls and impasses confront the group - bent on the Shadow Monarch's destruction and the Empire's resurrection. This, his third and final volume in the Napoleonic Era Military-Fantasy blend is Chris' best effort yet. He has noticeably matured as an author. Volume three is more fluid, the characters more comfortable, and the relationships defined. Ashes presents a fast reading, action packed conclusion to this author's first effort - and a trilogy at that! While Chris is no stranger to the literary world, editing existing works and composing an original work are two vastly different endeavors, and he has shown he is up to the task. Teens and adults alike will enjoy his imagery - my 11 year old nephew is enthusiastically anticipating this release. Readers won't be disappointed by the twists and turns this conclusion presents, and we can only look forward with relish to what Chris will present his readership with next as he skillfully blends historical fact with his original flavor of fantasy worlds.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Major Konowa knows his Iron Elves' Swift Dragon unit fought valiantly against the elf witch. Those who survived the epic combat need time to heal, but the adversary still comes at them relentlessly. Konowa knows his courageous battered force is in trouble as the Shadow Monarch continues its evil assault though somewhat abated. Struggling with what to do next, Konowa decides his side has one chance, which is to take the war directly to the enemy rather than retreat. He understands waiting to heal is lethally dangerous so he chooses a seemingly suicidal mission, which ironically will not be appreciated by the people of the Calahrian Empire who his Iron Elves try to protect as the tattoo on them symbolizes their subservience to the enemy that they fight against with their blood and guts. The major will soon learn probably too late the evil enemy he fights against is nothing compared to the real evil enemy lurking in the fog and chaos of war. Book 3 of the Iron Elves military fantasy (see A Darkness Forged in Fire and The Light of Burning Shadows) is a super entry as the beleaguered Swift Dragon struggle to keep fighting while those they keep safe (mostly humans) loathe them. The story line is action-packed and at its best when the focus is on combat, military readiness and the impact of war on the soldiers and the civilians. When the plot turns romantic it detracts from an otherwise excellent blood and guts thriller. Harriet Klausner