At Grave's End (Night Huntress Series #3)

At Grave's End (Night Huntress Series #3)

4.6 1216
by Jeaniene Frost
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Some things won't stay buried . . . at grave's end

It should be the best time of half-vampire Cat Crawfield's life. With her undead lover Bones at her side, she's successfully protected mortals from the rogue undead. But though Cat's worn disguise after disguise to keep her true identity a secret from the brazen bloodsuckers,

See more details below

Overview

Some things won't stay buried . . . at grave's end

It should be the best time of half-vampire Cat Crawfield's life. With her undead lover Bones at her side, she's successfully protected mortals from the rogue undead. But though Cat's worn disguise after disguise to keep her true identity a secret from the brazen bloodsuckers, her cover's finally been blown, placing her in terrible danger.

As if that wasn't enough, a woman from Bones's past is determined to bury him once and for all. Caught in the crosshairs of a vengeful vamp, yet determined to help Bones stop a lethal magic from being unleashed, Cat's about to learn the true meaning of bad blood. And the tricks she's learned as a special agent won't help her. She will need to fully embrace her vampire instincts in order to save herself—and Bones—from a fate worse than the grave.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
In this fast-paced, fun, and sexy third entry in Frost's (www.jeanienefrost.com) New York Times best-selling "Night Huntress" series—following One Foot in the Grave (2008), also available from Blackstone Audio and narrated by Tavia Gilbert (www.taviagilbert.com)—half-vampire Cat Crawfield is happily involved with her undead lover, Bones, when her identity is uncovered by some pretty scary bloodsuckers. After a woman from Bones's past appears seeking vengeance, Cat solicits help from characters who appeared in the previous two titles, though there is enough detail to ensure that listeners new to the series will not be confused. Gilbert is a strong reader; her pacing and inflections are especially good. Her only weakness is the not-so-convincing accent she gives to Bones. For fans of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse series and Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter novels.—B. Allison Gray, Santa Barbara P.L., Goleta Branch, CA

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061583070
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
12/30/2008
Series:
Night Huntress Series, #3
Pages:
352
Sales rank:
132,603
Product dimensions:
4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.40(d)

Related Subjects

Read an Excerpt

At Grave's End

Chapter One

The man smiled and I let my gaze linger over his face. His eyes were a lovely shade of pale blue. Their color reminded me of a Siberian husky, except the person sitting next to me was no animal. Of course, he wasn't human, either.

"I have to leave now, Nick," I said. "Thanks for the drinks."

He stroked my arm. "Have another one. Let me enjoy your beautiful face a little longer."

I stifled a snort. Wasn't he flattering? But if he liked my face so much, then his eyes wouldn't have been glued to my cleavage.

"All right. Bartender . . ."

"Let me guess." The loud voice came from across the bar. An unfamiliar face grinned at me. "A gin and tonic, right, Reaper?"

Shit.

Nick froze. Then he did what I was afraid he'd do...he ran.

"Code Red!" I barked, vaulting after the fleeing figure. Heavily armed men in black clothes sprinted into the bar, shoving the patrons aside.

Nick threw people at me as I went after him. Screaming, flailing bodies hit me, making my attempts to catch them and fling a silver knife through Nick's heart even more difficult. One of my blades landed in Nick's chest, but too far center to have hit his heart. Still, I couldn't just let those people splatter to the floor like so much garbage. Nick might think of people that way. I didn't.

My team fanned out, guarding all the exits and attempting to herd the remaining patrons out of the way.

Nick reached the far end of the bar and glanced around frantically. There was me, advancing with my silver knives, and my men with their Desert Eagle handguns pointed at him.

"You're surrounded," I stated the obvious."Don't make me angry, you won't think I'm pretty anymore when I'm angry. Drop the girls."

He had two of them in his grip, one hand on each vulnerable throat. Seeing the terror in those girls' eyes made anger flare through me. Only cowards hid behind hostages. Or murderers, like Nick.

"I leave, they live, Reaper," Nick hissed, no romance in his tone any longer. "I should have known. Your skin's too perfect to be human, even if your heart beats and your eyes aren't gray."

"Colored contacts. Modern science's a bitch."

Nick's icy blue eyes bled to glowing vampire green and his fangs slid out.

"It was an accident," he yelled. "I didn't mean to kill her, I just took too much."

An accident? Oh, he had to be kidding me. "Her heartbeat slowing down would have warned you," I replied. "Don't try that accident crap on me, I live with a vampire, and he hasn't had an 'oops' moment once."

If possible, Nick looked even more ashen. "And if you're here . . ."

"That's right, mate."

The accent was English, and the tone was lethal. Invisible waves of power rolled over my back as my men parted to let Bones, the vampire I most trusted...and loved...through.

Nick's gaze didn't shift, which I'd been hoping for. No, his eyes didn't leave me as he suddenly yanked my blade from himself and then stabbed one of the girls in the chest.

I gasped, catching her instinctively when Nick threw her at me.

"Help her!" I yelled to Bones, who'd lunged at Nick instead. With that wound, unless Bones healed her, she had only seconds to live.

I had time to hear Bones mutter a curse before he spun around, abandoning his pursuit of Nick to drop to his knees beside the girl. I vaulted after Nick, doing some cursing myself. Gunshots went off, but only a few. With the rest of the bar patrons still scrambling for the doors, plus Nick holding the other girl like a shield, my team couldn't just open fire. Nick knew that, and so did I.Nick leapt across the heads of the crowd in a gravity-defying burst, flinging the girl at a member of my team as if she were a weapon. Helpless, the nearby soldier fell back with the girl on top of him, just in time for Nick to swoop down and yank his gun away.

I flung three more of my knives, but with all the jostling from the people around me, my aim was off. Nick let out a yell as they pieced his back, missing his heart. Then he turned and fired at me.

I had a fraction of a second to realize that if I ducked, those bullets would hit the people around me instead. They weren't half vampire like I was; it would likely kill them. So I braced myself . . . and was spun around in a blur in the next heartbeat, my head jammed into Bones's chest while three hard vibrations shook him. The bullets meant for me.

Bones let me go, whirling around and flying across the room to Nick, who tried to snatch another hostage. Nick didn't make it. Bones plowed into him hard enough for both of them to smash through the wall. I ran, hopping over people, in time to see Bones twist his knife in Nick's chest.

I relaxed. Silver twisted through the heart meant curtains for Nick...and any vampire.

Bones gave one last twist for good measure and then drew his blade out, his eyes flickering over me.

"You're bleeding," he said, concern creasing his face.

I touched my cheek, where someone's belt or shoe or whatever had scored me when Nick was using people like human speed bumps to slow me down.

"You've been shot, and you're worried about a scratch on me?"

Bones came over, touching my face. "I heal instantly, luv. You don't."

Even though I knew what he said was true, I couldn't help but feel his back to reassure myself that his skin was smooth, no more shredded flesh from the bullets.

"Speaking of, there are dozens of injured people here you need to heal. You can get to my scratch later."

Bones ignored that, drawing his thumb across a fang and touching the cut it made first to my cheek, then to my mouth.

At Grave's End. Copyright © by Jeaniene Frost. Reprinted by permission of HarperCollins Publishers, Inc. All rights reserved. Available now wherever books are sold.

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >