×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

At What Cost: A Detective Penley Mystery
     

At What Cost: A Detective Penley Mystery

by James L'Etoile
 

See All Formats & Editions


What would you do to save your child?

Detective John Penley and his new partner, Detective Paula Newberry, of the West Sacramento Police Department are tasked with leading the investigation into a local serial killer who has dumped three bodies in the past six weeks--and all of them are missing their internal organs. But while pursuing a lead, the detectives

Overview


What would you do to save your child?

Detective John Penley and his new partner, Detective Paula Newberry, of the West Sacramento Police Department are tasked with leading the investigation into a local serial killer who has dumped three bodies in the past six weeks--and all of them are missing their internal organs. But while pursuing a lead, the detectives stumble upon a personal message the killer left behind for Penley. And it's attached to a human kidney.

How could the killer know Penley's son is on the kidney transplant waiting list? Now Penley's baited into an impossible trap that could jeopardize his entire career. Will the detective take down the killer and place his faith in the medical establishment to heal his son? Or, will he make a deal with the devil for the transplant organ his son needs to live?

At What Cost, James L'Etoile's debut mystery, is a heart-stopping thrill ride that will keep readers guessing at every turn. Fans of Michael Connelly and Thomas Perry won't be able to put this down.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"A superb, hair-raising crime novel. Powerful storytelling, James L'Etoile has done a masterful job."
--Rick Mofina, internationally bestselling author of Free Fall

"James L’Etoile demonstrates his descriptive prowess in this beautifully dark crime thriller replete with crackling dialogue and deeply drawn characters. At What Cost is a raw and powerful novel that will have you reading into the wee hours of the morning and leave you craving more."
--Douglas Corleone, critically-acclaimed author of Robert Ludlum’s The Janson Equation

"Intense, intriguing, intricate, and shot-through with authentic detail, At What Cost is an outstanding thriller!"
--Andrew Grant, critically-acclaimed author of False Positive and the Cooper Devereaux series

Library Journal
11/01/2016
Sacramento, CA, police detective James Penley and new partner Paula Newberry are investigating the grisly murders of gang members whose gutted corpses (all missing internal organs) have been dumped along a river. As the bodies pile up, it becomes personal for Penley. The murderer is harvesting organs for sale on the black market, and Penley's son is dying of kidney disease. Can he trust the medical establishment to save his son's life or is he willing to cross the line and jeopardize his career? L'Etoile's (Little River) nail-bitting dark thriller not only ratchets up the suspense but also raises ethical questions worth pondering: Would you do whatever it takes to save your child, or would you put your faith in the system and the law? VERDICT Fans of tough, well-written procedurals in the tradition of Michael Connelly will want to read this series debut.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781629539966
Publisher:
Crooked Lane Books
Publication date:
12/13/2016
Series:
A Detective Penley Mystery Series , #1
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
463,657
Product dimensions:
6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.10(d)

Meet the Author


James L’Etoile has twenty-nine years of experience in prisons and jails across the country. An experienced Associate Warden, Chief of Institution Operations, Hostage Negotiator and Director of Parole with a Master’s Degree in Criminal Justice, L'Etoile draws upon his background to bring his crime fiction to life. He resides in Cameron Park, CA with his wife, Ann-Marie. This is his first novel.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews