Attack of the Ninja Frogs (Dragonbreath Series #2)

Attack of the Ninja Frogs (Dragonbreath Series #2)

4.5 39
by Ursula Vernon
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Danny Dragonbreath knows girls are nothing but trouble. And the new foreign exchange student, Suki the Salamander, is the worst: she's reduced his best friend, Wendell, to a blithering, lovesick tadpole. But when a group of ninja frogs attempt to kidnap her, Danny knows he must step in. Danny and Wendell have watched lots of kung fu movies and can totally take on a…  See more details below

Overview

Danny Dragonbreath knows girls are nothing but trouble. And the new foreign exchange student, Suki the Salamander, is the worst: she's reduced his best friend, Wendell, to a blithering, lovesick tadpole. But when a group of ninja frogs attempt to kidnap her, Danny knows he must step in. Danny and Wendell have watched lots of kung fu movies and can totally take on a bunch of ninja frogs. Or, um, so he hopes . . .

Editorial Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
"Vague notions of heroism entered his mind, and then paused, confused by their surroundings." Primed by viewings of Seven Fists of Carnage and like martial-arts fare, impulsive dragonling Danny "That-is-so-COOL!" Dragonbreath isn't exactly ready to charge into action but plunges ahead nonetheless when he and his nerdy buddy Wendell see new exchange student Suki the Salamander in the clutches of real, live ninja frogs. Telling her hilarious tale in a close weave of smart-alecky prose and two-toned cartoons with dialogue balloons, Vernon propels her tailed trio to "mythological Japan" (thanks to an unusually extensive city bus system) for encounters with a magical crane (the feathered kind), a wise but hard-of-hearing old dragon and a hidden fortress full of amphibian ninjas eager to make Suki their Queen. As she'd rather be a veterinarian, the stage is set for a climactic battle. At least as rib-tickling as first outing Dragonbreath (2009), this follow-up leaves the safely returned Danny shrugging off kung-fu to prattle on feverishly about vampires. Stay tuned. (Fantasy. 8-11)
Children's Literature - Paula Rohrlick
Danny the dragon adores kung fu movies and dreams of battling ninjas. His dreams unexpectedly come true when ninja frogs attempt to kidnap his classmate Suki the salamander, an exchange student from Japan. Danny and his friend Wendell the iguana come to her aid, and the three of them travel to Great-Grandfather Dragonbreath's home in mythical Japan to find out what the ninjas are up to. The ancient dragon looks into Suki's past lives and announces that she is the reincarnation of the great warrior Leaping Sword, who used to rule a clan of ninja frogs hundreds of years ago. The frogs want her to return and be their leader, but Suki does not want to be a ninja—she wants to be a veterinarian. The old dragon suggests they enlist the help of the ninjas' enemies, the Geckos of the Golden Chrysanthemum, so the three young creatures join forces with them. Suki is the bait they use to draw out the ninja frogs, who capture her, along with Danny and Wendell. The frogs threaten to drop Danny and Wendell into a live volcano if Suki does not return to lead them, but help arrives just in time from an unexpected source. The cheerfully offbeat sense of humor in this title, a sequel to Dragonbreath, is well matched by the cartoon strip-like illustrations, giving the book a graphic-novel quality that adds to its appeal. Fans will eagerly look forward to the next in the series, Dragonbreath: Curse of the Were-Wiener. Give this book to readers who enjoy Dan Pilkey and Jon Scieszka. Reviewer: Paula Rohrlick
School Library Journal
Gr 2–4—Danny Dragonbreath's love of ninja comic books and movies not only fills his imaginative play, but also assists him when he is confronted in real life with ninja frogs that attack his friend Suki, an exchange student from Japan. This attack causes Danny and his friend Wendell to take her on a bus ride to mythological Japan to seek out Danny's wise great-grandfather to assist with their situation. The spirited illustrations, done in green and black with touches of red, capture the humor of the characters' adventures. This delightful easy chapter book could tempt reluctant readers into turning another page.—Nancy D. Tolson, Mitchell College, New London, CT

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781101537077
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
02/04/2010
Series:
Dragonbreath Series , #2
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
208
Sales rank:
269,758
Lexile:
700L (what's this?)
File size:
13 MB
Note:
This product may take a few minutes to download.
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

Ursula Vernon is the author of the Dragonbreath series about Danny Dragonbreath. She lives, writes, and draws in Pittsboro, North Carolina.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Attack of the Ninja Frogs (Dragonbreath Series #2) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 39 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't stop reading it it's prety much my nooks main book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Both my 11 year old son and I will review: Mom's review: I thought this book was so great. Read with my son over summer to practice his book report skills, and we both enjoyed the storyline as well as the awesome pictures. I am actually excited to get the next book in the series (yeah, I'll admit I like a kid's book!). It really keeps your interest, chapter based so you can easily bookmark your spot, and not too thick to seem daunting to a child who would rather not be reading. A++ Son's review: This book was full of adventure and laughs. It made you want to read the book nonstop. You can read it over and over again because it is so fun to read. Plus, part of the pictures are in comic form.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii lllllllllllllllllllove it best book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books ever readed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesum
Chance Billingsley More than 1 year ago
Get this book!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is pritty funny and full of action it took me the first book to realize a GIRL wrote this, I myself is a girl but the book is great full of all that good juicy reading material. It would be best if the author read these then she would see how many people love her book's and keep writing book's. It is great. You gotta love this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book ever,bro!?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thes book is so awsom!! So far!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is outstanding. They have added a new character to the story! I love how they wrote the storyline! I recormend this book to everyone!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Graet book shood get
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is awesome! Oh,look a ninja frog. Ack! I'm dead.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this book read this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its just awesome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RAJL is with you
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so awsome i havent even read it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wendell & suki sitting in a tree! K-i-s-s-i-n-g! First comes love, then comes marriage, then comes a baby in a baby carriage!!