Audrey of the Outback

( 1 )

Overview


In this story about identity and independence, the gutsy girl from the bush tries being a farmer, a man, a teacher, and a pirate—all with dire consequences!

Audrey is a 1930s outback girl with a lot on her mind. Her dad has gone away to work; her brother Price thinks he's too old for games; and little Dougie likes pretending to be a bird. So together with her best friend Stumpy, Audrey ponders some of life's big questions—like whether being a swaggie (or bush ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (5) from $4.99   
  • New (3) from $5.47   
  • Used (2) from $4.99   
Audrey Of The Outback

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$6.99
BN.com price
(Save 12%)$7.99 List Price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview


In this story about identity and independence, the gutsy girl from the bush tries being a farmer, a man, a teacher, and a pirate—all with dire consequences!

Audrey is a 1930s outback girl with a lot on her mind. Her dad has gone away to work; her brother Price thinks he's too old for games; and little Dougie likes pretending to be a bird. So together with her best friend Stumpy, Audrey ponders some of life's big questions—like whether being a swaggie (or bush traveler, as explained in the handy glossary) is lonelier than being a girl, and whether it's better to be a sheep or a cow. Determined, mischievous, imaginative, and inquisitive, Audrey is Australia's response to Pippi Longstocking and Ramona Quimby.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"Full of fascinating detail about rural Australian life, this gentle story will appeal to fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House series and Louise Erdrich's The Birchbark House."  —Booklist

"Children will love the fast pace of the plot, and the character development gives the book a nice depth."  —School Library Journal

Children's Literature - Melissa Joy Adams
It is the 1930s and Audrey Barlow lives in the harsh wilderness of the Australian outback with her family and her best friend, Stumpy. Ever since her dad has gone away for work, her older brother, Price, acts as if he is the man of the house and therefore too mature to play childish games with Audrey. Audrey doesn't even consider playing with her with her younger brother, Dougie, because all he likes to do is pretend he is a bird. Together with Stumpy, Audrey embarks on several mini-adventures as she struggles to find her place in the world, first by trying out life as a swaggie, then as a teacher, and finally life as a man. Harris's Audrey is the new Pippi Longstocking, which is even reflected in James's quaint illustrations. Readers will love this stubborn, quirky, and curious girl who always seems to find trouble. The authentic Australian colloquialisms add another level of realism to the story, yet even with the glossary of terms in the back, readers might still find the language difficult to follow at times. Reviewer: Melissa Joy Adams
School Library Journal
Gr 3–5—Living in the Australian outback during the 1930s creates many opportunities for Audrey to have adventures. Her creative spirit leads her into many experiences that keep readers wondering what she will do next. She befriends a "swaggie," a bush traveler named Toothless, and, while trying to become a grown-up, she and her older brother blow up the outhouse. New plotlines keep the story moving, but the Australian words make reading some sections confusing. The glossary is limited and leaves out several unusual words. Still, children will love the fast pace of the plot, and the character development gives the book a nice depth.—Rachel Artley, Watertown Elementary School, TN
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781742977959
  • Publisher: Little Hare Books
  • Publication date: 11/1/2014
  • Series: Audrey Series , #1
  • Pages: 176
  • Age range: 7 - 9 Years
  • Product dimensions: 5.20 (w) x 7.20 (h) x 0.60 (d)

Meet the Author


Christine Harris has written more than 35 books, ranging from picture books to YA thrillers. Harris has been published in more than 10 countries. Ann James is the illustrator of Lucy Goosey and Madeline the Mermaid.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)