Audrey of the Outback by Christine Harris, Paperback | Barnes & Noble
Audrey of the Outback

Audrey of the Outback

5.0 1
by Christine Harris
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions


In this story about identity and independence, the gutsy girl from the bush tries being a farmer, a man, a teacher, and a pirate—all with dire consequences!

Audrey is a 1930s outback girl with a lot on her mind. Her dad has gone away to work; her brother Price thinks he's too old for games; and little Dougie likes pretending to be a

Overview


In this story about identity and independence, the gutsy girl from the bush tries being a farmer, a man, a teacher, and a pirate—all with dire consequences!

Audrey is a 1930s outback girl with a lot on her mind. Her dad has gone away to work; her brother Price thinks he's too old for games; and little Dougie likes pretending to be a bird. So together with her best friend Stumpy, Audrey ponders some of life's big questions—like whether being a swaggie (or bush traveler, as explained in the handy glossary) is lonelier than being a girl, and whether it's better to be a sheep or a cow. Determined, mischievous, imaginative, and inquisitive, Audrey is Australia's response to Pippi Longstocking and Ramona Quimby.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"Full of fascinating detail about rural Australian life, this gentle story will appeal to fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House series and Louise Erdrich's The Birchbark House."  —Booklist

"Children will love the fast pace of the plot, and the character development gives the book a nice depth."  —School Library Journal

Children's Literature - Melissa Joy Adams
It is the 1930s and Audrey Barlow lives in the harsh wilderness of the Australian outback with her family and her best friend, Stumpy. Ever since her dad has gone away for work, her older brother, Price, acts as if he is the man of the house and therefore too mature to play childish games with Audrey. Audrey doesn't even consider playing with her with her younger brother, Dougie, because all he likes to do is pretend he is a bird. Together with Stumpy, Audrey embarks on several mini-adventures as she struggles to find her place in the world, first by trying out life as a swaggie, then as a teacher, and finally life as a man. Harris's Audrey is the new Pippi Longstocking, which is even reflected in James's quaint illustrations. Readers will love this stubborn, quirky, and curious girl who always seems to find trouble. The authentic Australian colloquialisms add another level of realism to the story, yet even with the glossary of terms in the back, readers might still find the language difficult to follow at times. Reviewer: Melissa Joy Adams
School Library Journal
Gr 3–5—Living in the Australian outback during the 1930s creates many opportunities for Audrey to have adventures. Her creative spirit leads her into many experiences that keep readers wondering what she will do next. She befriends a "swaggie," a bush traveler named Toothless, and, while trying to become a grown-up, she and her older brother blow up the outhouse. New plotlines keep the story moving, but the Australian words make reading some sections confusing. The glossary is limited and leaves out several unusual words. Still, children will love the fast pace of the plot, and the character development gives the book a nice depth.—Rachel Artley, Watertown Elementary School, TN

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781742977959
Publisher:
Little Hare Books
Publication date:
11/01/2014
Series:
Audrey Series, #1
Pages:
176
Sales rank:
1,208,726
Product dimensions:
5.20(w) x 7.20(h) x 0.60(d)
Age Range:
7 - 9 Years

Meet the Author


Christine Harris has written more than 35 books, ranging from picture books to YA thrillers. Harris has been published in more than 10 countries. Ann James is the illustrator of Lucy Goosey and Madeline the Mermaid.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >