An Autobiography

An Autobiography

3.8 31
by Agatha Christie
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Back in print in an all-new edition, is the engaging and illuminating chronicle of the life of the “Queen of Mystery.” Fans of Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple and readers of John Curran’s fascinating biographies Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks and Murder in the Making will be spellbound by the compelling, authoritative

Overview

Back in print in an all-new edition, is the engaging and illuminating chronicle of the life of the “Queen of Mystery.” Fans of Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple and readers of John Curran’s fascinating biographies Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks and Murder in the Making will be spellbound by the compelling, authoritative account of one of the world’s most influential and fascinating novelists, told in her own words and inimitable style. The New York Times Book Review calls Christie’s autobiography a “joyful adventure,” saying, “she brings the sense of wonder...to her extraordinary career.”

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Originally published in 1977 and out-of-print, this new edition of Christie’s autobiography includes a CD of the grand dame of mystery authors expounding on her life as a writer—making it especially welcome as a holiday treat for all Christie fans. Although Christie’s tales reportedly still sell in numbers only exceeded by the Bible and Shakespeare, and are almost as timeless, her life (1890–1976) and work go back a long way. If the descriptions of the happy (despite the death of her feckless father), comfortable Victorian-era childhood of a genius of genre strikes as a bit ingenuous, things become more delectable with maturity: the travels, the coming-out parties, the nursing career, first marriage, and first publication (The Mysterious Affair at Styles). Christie’s decision to utter not a word about her celebrated disappearance is as revealing as it is secretive. Her second marriage, to a younger Catholic archeologist, marks the beginning of the “satisfying” years (known to most people as the Great Depression). In all, after a somewhat tiresome first third in muted colors, this memoir fulfills the intention to extend by one year the 120th anniversary celebration of Christie’s birth. 8 pages of color, 16 pages of b&w photos. (Nov. 22)
Boston Globe
“This book proves as inspiring as it is charming and absorbing.”
Cleveland Plain Dealer
“Contains some wonderful treats....Christie writes with such wit and insight that all 542 pages fly.”
Charlotte News & Observer
“A fun read, full of detail about upper-crust life in the Victorian era and about Christie’s own surprise at finding herself a mystery novelist.”
Pittsburgh Tribune-Review
“The history of a unique upbringing in a time long gone. It’s a portrait of a childhood and young womanhood that vanished with World War I.”
Daily American
“Christie writes with a wonderful dry wit. It is fascinating to see how people she met became characters in her novels.”
The Times (London)
“Wonderfully easy to read and engrossing.”
New York Times Book Review
“Joyful adventure….She brings the sense of wonder…to her extraordinary career.”
Daily Mail (London)
“Agatha Christie’s most absorbing mystery – the story of her own unusual life. She has put it all on record: her early romances; a broken (and a happy) marriage; strange events on the path to roaring success.”
Chicago Tribune
“Agatha Christie is no longer merely one of my favorite writers. She is now one of my favorite people.”
Los Angeles Times
“A delightful autobiography….Warm, witty and discerning.”
Financial Times (London)
“A wonderful book—written with a delight in the gradual unfolding of 75 years through the eyes of an exceptional old lady and writer.”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780708902561
Publisher:
Ulverscroft Large Print Books, Ltd.
Publication date:
10/28/1979
Series:
Ulverscroft Large Print Series
Edition description:
Large Print
Pages:
611

Meet the Author

Agatha Christie is the most widely published author of all time, outsold only by the Bible and Shakespeare. Her books have sold more than a billion copies in English and another billion in a hundred foreign languages. She died in 1976.

Brief Biography

Date of Birth:
September 15, 1890
Date of Death:
January 12, 1976
Place of Birth:
Torquay, Devon, England
Education:
Home schooling
Website:
http://www.agathachristie.com

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

An Autobiography 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
BFGreene More than 1 year ago
I've enjoyed reading Agatha Christie Mysteries for years. This book let me see into the life of an author and what influenced her. She had very interesting life experiences, particularly the archaeology work with her husband. BFGreene
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a big Agatha Christie fan, I thoroughly enjoyed this book! To have insight into how and when some of her various books were written was truly enjoyable. And the added insight into her life, both the good and bad parts, was an added bonus.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have loved her thrillers and mysteries forever, but to now get to know her as a person is fascinating. Only Agatha Christie could have written such a wonderful autobiography. Amazingly, it reads like one her classic tales.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quite enjoyable...especially the idea that Mrs. Christie would just write on this autobiography and then evidently lay it down for some time....picking up again later. I believe they said over 15 years...A little disconcerting at times, unless you realize that, Good read!
jonyjrslm More than 1 year ago
NOT a mystery, an autobiography, and at the same time, a marvelous history of the values of the West as they have changed from ca 1900 to 1975....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book as a Christmas gift for my sister who loves biographies. I believe she'll enjoy this book since she also is a fan of Agatha Chrisiti and her creative writing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago