The Autobiography of The Queen [NOOK Book]

Overview

The Queen goes AWOL. No one can find her: where is she going and why ?

In this true-to-life account of the Queen's disappearance, we learn of the monarch's journey to the Caribbean island of St Lucia, where she has a house off-plan. Here, after more than half a century on the throne, she will recall the ...
See more details below
The Autobiography of The Queen

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$1.99
BN.com price
(Save 75%)$7.99 List Price

Overview

The Queen goes AWOL. No one can find her: where is she going and why ?

In this true-to-life account of the Queen's disappearance, we learn of the monarch's journey to the Caribbean island of St Lucia, where she has a house off-plan. Here, after more than half a century on the throne, she will recall the years of her reign in peace and tranquillity.

But the house is no more than a hole in the ground. No one knows that 'Mrs Gloria Smith' is the Queen of England, and is not in the habit of introducing herself strangers.

The story of the sovereign's stay between the Pitons on St Lucia's is a funny and touching account of the friendship, sometimes contentious and on occasion baffling, between Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth and a young St Lucian, Austin Ford. How the Queen reacts to her new life- and how she changes as a result- make The Autobiography of the Queen a hilarious and moving tale, in which her need for her subjects is a marked as their dependence on her staying on the throne.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781448209880
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
  • Publication date: 8/22/2012
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 210
  • Sales rank: 314,464
  • File size: 3 MB

Meet the Author

Born in London, Emma Tennant was educated at St Paul's Girls' School and spent the World War II years and her childhood summers at the family's faux Gothic mansion The Glen in Peeblesshire. Her family also owned estates in Trinidad.

Tennant grew up in the modish London of the 1950s and 1960s. She worked as a travel writer for Queen magazine and an editor for Vogue, publishing her first novel, The Colour of Rain, under a pseudonym when she was twenty-six. Between 1975 and 1979, she edited a literary magazine, Bananas, which helped launch the careers of several young novelists.

A large number of books by Tennant have followed: thrillers, children's books, fantasies, and several revisionist takes on classic novels, including a sequel to Pride and Prejudice called Pemberley. In later years, she began to treat her own life in such books as Burnt Diaries (1999), which details her affair with Ted Hughes.

Tennant has been married four times, including to the journalist and author Christopher Booker and the political writer Alexander Cockburn. She has two daughters and a son, author Matthew Yorke. In April 2008, she married her partner of 33 years, Tim Owens.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted May 10, 2014

    The Autobiography of the Queen is the 46th novel by British auth

    The Autobiography of the Queen is the 46th novel by British author, Emma Tennant. When one annus horribilis seems to be following another for Her Majesty, what with kiss-and-tell scandals enveloping the family, the European Union insisting on laws that are unfriendly to the monarchy, the prospect of paying tax and losing land rights, she begin to feel she no longer has a part to play in her Empire. She decides to retire from the stresses and strains of life as the Nation’s Head, move to a house bought off plan on a Caribbean Island and write her autobiography. Arrangements are made in secret by a footman, Brno, who is very generously rewarded for his silence, and Mrs Gloria Smith is on her way to St Lucia. Tennant gives the reader a plot with the potential for plenty of humour; indeed, the Queen is described partaking in many activities foreign to a monarch: packing her own bag; catching a mini-cab; being refused entry to a bar; serving cocktails; wearing a T-shirt and flip-flops; hiding from Palace staff; having the contents of her handbag stolen; and travelling economy class. But if readers who enjoyed Alan Bennett’s “The Uncommon Reader” or William Kuhn’s “Mrs Queen Takes The Train” are expecting something similar, they may well be disappointed. In comparison, this novel is less believable, the characters are less appealing, the story is less sympathetic to Her Majesty, it is just not as funny and unfortunately falls rather flat. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)