The Autobiography of The Queen

The Autobiography of The Queen

3.0 1
by Emma Tennant
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The Queen goes AWOL. No one can find her: where is she going and why ?

In Emma Tennant's hilarious 'autobiography' of Queen Elizabeth, the monarch moves to the Caribbean island of St Lucia, where, after more than half a century on the throne, she will can recall the years of her reign in peace and tranquillity.

But the house is no more than a hole in…  See more details below

Overview

The Queen goes AWOL. No one can find her: where is she going and why ?

In Emma Tennant's hilarious 'autobiography' of Queen Elizabeth, the monarch moves to the Caribbean island of St Lucia, where, after more than half a century on the throne, she will can recall the years of her reign in peace and tranquillity.

But the house is no more than a hole in the ground, her servants are gone and no one knows that 'Mrs Gloria Smith' is the Queen of England. The Queen quickly realizes she has a lot to learn about living life as a commoner.

The story of the sovereign's new life in St Lucia is a funny and touching account of the friendship, sometimes contentious and on occasion baffling, between Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth and a young St Lucian, Austin Ford. How the Queen reacts to her new life- and how she changes as a result- make The Autobiography of the Queen a hilarious and moving tale, in which her need for her subjects is a marked as their dependence on her staying on the throne.

"A quiet, quirky charm" - The Times

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781448209880
Publisher:
Bloomsbury USA
Publication date:
08/22/2012
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
210
File size:
2 MB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Born in London, Emma Tennant was educated at St Paul's Girls' School and spent the World War II years and her childhood summers at the family's faux Gothic mansion The Glen in Peeblesshire. Her family also owned estates in Trinidad.

Tennant grew up in the modish London of the 1950s and 1960s. She worked as a travel writer for Queen magazine and an editor for Vogue, publishing her first novel, The Colour of Rain, under a pseudonym when she was twenty-six. Between 1975 and 1979, she edited a literary magazine, Bananas, which helped launch the careers of several young novelists.

A large number of books by Tennant have followed: thrillers, children's books, fantasies, and several revisionist takes on classic novels, including a sequel to Pride and Prejudice called Pemberley. In later years, she began to treat her own life in such books as Burnt Diaries (1999), which details her affair with Ted Hughes.

Tennant has been married four times, including to the journalist and author Christopher Booker and the political writer Alexander Cockburn. She has two daughters and a son, author Matthew Yorke. In April 2008, she married her partner of 33 years, Tim Owens.
Born in London, Emma Tennant was educated at St Paul's Girls' School and spent the World War II years and her childhood summers at the family's faux Gothic mansion The Glen in Peeblesshire. Her family also owned estates in Trinidad.

Tennant grew up in the modish London of the 1950s and 1960s. She worked as a travel writer for Queen magazine and an editor for Vogue, publishing her first novel, The Colour of Rain, under a pseudonym when she was twenty-six. Between 1975 and 1979, she edited a literary magazine, Bananas, which helped launch the careers of several young novelists.

A large number of books by Tennant have followed: thrillers, children's books, fantasies, and several revisionist takes on classic novels, including a sequel to Pride and Prejudice called Pemberley. In later years, she began to treat her own life in such books as Burnt Diaries (1999), which details her affair with Ted Hughes.

Tennant has been married four times, including to the journalist and author Christopher Booker and the political writer Alexander Cockburn. She has two daughters and a son, author Matthew Yorke. In April 2008, she married her partner of 33 years, Tim Owens.

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Autobiography of the Queen 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
cloggiedownunder More than 1 year ago
The Autobiography of the Queen is the 46th novel by British author, Emma Tennant. When one annus horribilis seems to be following another for Her Majesty, what with kiss-and-tell scandals enveloping the family, the European Union insisting on laws that are unfriendly to the monarchy, the prospect of paying tax and losing land rights, she begin to feel she no longer has a part to play in her Empire. She decides to retire from the stresses and strains of life as the Nation’s Head, move to a house bought off plan on a Caribbean Island and write her autobiography. Arrangements are made in secret by a footman, Brno, who is very generously rewarded for his silence, and Mrs Gloria Smith is on her way to St Lucia. Tennant gives the reader a plot with the potential for plenty of humour; indeed, the Queen is described partaking in many activities foreign to a monarch: packing her own bag; catching a mini-cab; being refused entry to a bar; serving cocktails; wearing a T-shirt and flip-flops; hiding from Palace staff; having the contents of her handbag stolen; and travelling economy class. But if readers who enjoyed Alan Bennett’s “The Uncommon Reader” or William Kuhn’s “Mrs Queen Takes The Train” are expecting something similar, they may well be disappointed. In comparison, this novel is less believable, the characters are less appealing, the story is less sympathetic to Her Majesty, it is just not as funny and unfortunately falls rather flat.