×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Autumn's Kiss
     

Autumn's Kiss

4.5 2
by Bella Thorne
 

See All Formats & Editions

“We promise you’re going to love it.” —Teen Vogue.com on Autumn Falls
 
Autumn’s Kiss—book two in the AUTUMN FALLS series by Famous in Love star Bella Thorne—is perfect for fans of Girl Online, Meg Cabot, and any teen or tween looking for a sweet, silly, and fun

Overview

“We promise you’re going to love it.” —Teen Vogue.com on Autumn Falls
 
Autumn’s Kiss—book two in the AUTUMN FALLS series by Famous in Love star Bella Thorne—is perfect for fans of Girl Online, Meg Cabot, and any teen or tween looking for a sweet, silly, and fun read with just a touch of magic!
 
Everyone knows how crazy junior year is, but Autumn Falls never imagined it would be so flirty. Between trying to decode what’s going on with her and Sean, not knowing how to react when J.J. tells her he’s the one she should be with, and feeling a little starstruck when a pop star makes a major play for her, Autumn is totally confused.
 
But boys are only the half of it. The drama is about to get even BIGGER when she’s given an incredible opportunity: a map that takes her anyplace she wants to go. At first it seems like an amazing, crazy-fun gift. But showing up IRL where you’re least expected has life-changing consequences. Is Autumn ready to handle the fallout?

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
10/01/2015
Gr 7 Up—This second installment in a planned trilogy picks up where Autumn Falls (Delacorte, 2014) left off. Autumn, a teen from Aventura, FL, had a journal that grants any wish. Unfortunately, it's no longer working. However, the teen soon discovers an object that has the ability to transport her to any place she wants. As savvy readers may guess, the magical transportation proves to be trouble for Autumn. Along with the heavy dose of magical adventure, this flirty read offers lots of romantic drama (and melodrama). There are a few lessons learned about the tough price paid for meddling in the lives of others and the importance of being careful what you wish for. VERDICT With a mix of gentle romance, teen drama, and light fantasy, this is a light and breezy read perfect for young teens not quite ready for steamier fare.—Jesten Ray, Seattle Public Library, WA
Kirkus Reviews
2015-08-31
Teen actor Thorne follows her first novel in the Autumn's Fall series with this installment, set during the titular Cuban-American character's junior year at her new high school in Florida. Relationship drama is the name of the game, and it's well-balanced by the breezy, comic tone. Autumn is disappointed to find that the magic diary bestowed upon her by her beloved, recently deceased father seems to have stopped working. She's therefore delighted when she discovers a map that instantly transports her to whatever destination she writes on it. She uses this mainly to make matches among her friends and gets into the kind of situational jams that might be expected, with her dyslexia at times contributing to these. Autumn's funny firecracker of a grandmother assures her that the indigenous Caribbean Taíno people, to whom the magic is attributed, work in ways that are "a mystery." This treatment of culture as vague plot device also occurs when Reenzie, Autumn's frenemy and rival for football quarterback Sean, starts a petition to change the team's name from the "Indians" in order to look good on her college applications. This light-as-air read will appeal mostly to young teens, who will appreciate all the roller-coaster romance, Autumn's tightknit family, and her recurring run-ins with a fictional young heartthrob named Kyler Leeds. (Romance. 12-16)
From the Publisher
Fall for Autumn Falls!
 
“Sweetly adorkable Autumn is the best friend we’ve all been looking for . . . a fun, escapist read.” —Justine
 
“A brilliant debut from Bella Thorne!”—Girls’ Life
 
“You’ll be obsessed with Autumn Falls. It has basically everything you could ever want: a lovable klutz for a main character, a total heartthrob, and just a touch of magic.” —Seventeen.com
 
“We personally loved the book . . . the main character is a fiery, red-headed girl who captures your heart.” —Latina.com
VOYA, December 2015 (Vol. 38, No. 5) - Loryn Aman
Autumn is finally starting to feel comfortable at her new school and loving the friends she has made. She is finding herself at football games despite not having a clue what is going on, driving around all day with J.J., and visiting her grandmother Eddy. After the wish-granting diary her dad left for her stops working, she knows she has to figure out why and what it means. Autumn knows that her dad left her with the diary to make her happy, so it just does not make sense for it stop working. What she uncovers is that the zemi icon on the diary has more power than just granting wishes, and she uses the new found magical powers to continue to try to make her friends’ love lives better. What she does not realize, though, is that despite all her wonderful intentions, maybe she should let her friends figure things out on their own before she causes more trouble. Thorne, popular movie and TV actress, has written an easy-to-read, sweet, and funny follow up to her first book Autumn Falls (Random House, 2014/Voya February 2015). While Autumn can come off a little whiny and stubborn, it does not take away from the easy charm of this novel. The magic of the zemi is, of course, far-fetched, but reluctant female readers will enjoy the silly situations Autumn finds herself in, and the relationships between her friends and various love interests. Since Thorne is known for her popular movies and Disney Channel show, this might be another way to introduce this title to reluctant readers. Reviewer: Loryn Aman; Ages 12 to 18.
Children's Literature - Sarah Maury Swan
This book follows Autumn Falls in a series of the same name. Autumn is in her junior year of high school and has the hots for the star football player, Sean. Unfortunately, her bestie, Reenzie, also likes Sean. In the meantime, her ever faithful friend, chauffer, and confidant, J.J. waits patiently for Autumn to figure that Sean is not worth her time and that he is actually the guy for her. She goes with her friends to watch football games and cheer on her crush. Well, her friends cheer the team on, but Autumn just watches Sean run around in his tight uniform. She has to pay attention to how her friends react to the game to see whether she should cheer or boo. Her life is hectic though, her father recently died in a car accident, leaving Autumn unwilling to get her driver’s license. Autumn has also started visiting her grandmother’s nursing home and discovers a hot and famous young singer secretly visits his grandmother there. But of course the two grandmothers are arch enemies. Autumn finally realizes that junior year of high school is a big deal if you want to get into a good college, so she hunkers down with her school work and begins volunteering at the nursing home. She discovers that she is happier and more fulfilled by studying and volunteering. The authors understand teen life and the descriptions of Autumn watching a football game will amuse readers. Reviewer: Sarah Maury Swan; Ages 12 up.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780385744355
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Publication date:
11/10/2015
Pages:
240
Sales rank:
205,132
Product dimensions:
5.60(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.10(d)
Lexile:
770L (what's this?)
Age Range:
12 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

Bella Thorne is an actress and an emerging style icon, with over nine million likes on Facebook, six million followers on Twitter, and thirteen million followers on Instagram. Her positive energy, her stay-true-to-yourself message, and her amazing family, plus the love of all the bellarinas/-os around the world, are the driving forces behind everything she does.

From the Hardcover edition.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Autumn's Kiss 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was good but prectable i think u should buy it if you are ages 11 ir older :D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Autumn Falls was one of the best books ever written. Bella Thorne is an amazing author. I love you Bella!!!!