Avalanche Annie: A Not-So-Tall Tale

Overview

Way up in Michisota,
Annie's famous far and wide,
Because she roped an avalanche
and took it for a ride.

Told with read-aloud gusto by master rhymesmith Lisa Wheeler and illustrated—with tongue firmly in cheek—by Kurt Cyrus, Avalanche Annie is the wildest, woolliest, most awe-inspiring, and goofiest tall ...

See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (14) from $1.99   
  • New (1) from $65.00   
  • Used (13) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$65.00
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(139)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
Brand new.

Ships from: acton, MA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview

Way up in Michisota,
Annie's famous far and wide,
Because she roped an avalanche
and took it for a ride.

Told with read-aloud gusto by master rhymesmith Lisa Wheeler and illustrated—with tongue firmly in cheek—by Kurt Cyrus, Avalanche Annie is the wildest, woolliest, most awe-inspiring, and goofiest tall tale since Paul Bunyan hitched up Babe the Blue Ox.

When the Yoohoos of northern Michisota are caught in an avalanche on Mt. Himalachia, little Annie Halfpint saves the day and earns a new nickname.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature
A half-pint girl shows an icy snow slide a thing or two in Avalanche Annie. In rollicking verse, Lisa Wheeler tells how an avalanche threatened the good folks of Yoohoo Valley till Annie and her pet moose lassoed the "icy beast" and rode it, bucking and mauling, to an earth-quaking standstill. Kurt Cyrus's lively snowscapes reinforce the rambunctious tall-tale tone of the text. Young readers will have a great time picking out all the ways the girl and her Yoohoo neighbors seek to tame the avalanche—and are sure to conclude that Annie is a hero for all seasons! 2003, Harcourt, Ages 3 to 7.
—Mary Quattlebaum
School Library Journal
K-Gr 2-A new tall-tale heroine, Annie Halfpint, "just four foot three," saves the Yoohoos by roping an avalanche. The story line is the exaggerated sort typical of the genre, the setting is the nonexistent Michisota, and the text is sprinkled with nonsense words such as the month of Mace. The story is told in singsongy rhyme, and the cartoon illustrations show brightly clad characters and stylized rocks and surroundings. The text describes Annie as the offspring of an angel and a redwood tree, but also refers to her mukluks and snowshoes, and the illustrations give her a Native American appearance. Better tall-tale heroines are available in Anne Isaacs's Swamp Angel (Dutton, 1994) and Steven Kellogg's Sally Ann Thunder Ann Whirlwind Crockett (Morrow, 1995), although this is adequate where the author or illustrator has a following.-Faith Brautigam, Gail Borden Public Library, Elgin, IL Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information.
Kirkus Reviews
The tale's tall, even if its hero isn't, in this rhymed account of a diminutive trail guide's awesome exploit. Leading a group of snowshoe racers up the slopes of northern Michisota's Mount Himalachia, four-foot-three-inch Annie Halfpint meets a wild avalanche coming down. Her wide Inuit face lit with glee, she snatches a rope and lassoes the beast, riding it safely down into Yoohoo Valley to the amazement of all. Wheeler tells the tale in sprightly verse-"Her voice booms soft as thunder. / Her hair grows thick as ink. / Her skin feels smooth as gravel. / Her mukluks hold their stink"-aptly reflected in Cyrus's comic scenes of dismayed hikers, rolling down the hill in a whirl of colorful parkas, amid giant curds of snow. Fans of Sally Ann Crockett, Angelica Longrider ("Swamp Angel"), and other female members of the tall-tale pantheon will definitely be looking up to Annie. (Picture book. 7-9)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780152167356
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Publication date: 10/1/2003
  • Pages: 32
  • Age range: 3 - 7 Years
  • Product dimensions: 9.40 (w) x 11.83 (h) x 0.38 (d)

Meet the Author

LISA WHEELER is the author of several award-winning picture books, including Sixteen Cows, One Dark Night, and Mammoths On the Move, which recently received a Parent's Choice Recommended Award. She lives near Detroit, Michigan. www.lisawheelerbooks.com

KURT CYRUS is the illustrator of M. T. Anderson's Whales on Stilts, and The Clue of the Linoleum Lederhosen. He lives in Cottage Grove, Oregon.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)