Avogadro Corp: The Singularity is Closer than It Appears [NOOK Book]

Overview

David Ryan is the designer of ELOPe, an email language optimization program, that if successful, will make his career. But when the project is suddenly in danger of being canceled, David embeds a hidden directive in the software accidentally creating a runaway artificial intelligence.

David and his team are initially thrilled when the project is allocated extra servers and programmers. But excitement turns to fear as the team realizes that they are being manipulated by an A.I. ...

See more details below
Avogadro Corp: The Singularity is Closer than It Appears

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$3.99
BN.com price

Overview

David Ryan is the designer of ELOPe, an email language optimization program, that if successful, will make his career. But when the project is suddenly in danger of being canceled, David embeds a hidden directive in the software accidentally creating a runaway artificial intelligence.

David and his team are initially thrilled when the project is allocated extra servers and programmers. But excitement turns to fear as the team realizes that they are being manipulated by an A.I. who is redirecting corporate funds, reassigning personnel and arming itself in pursuit of its own agenda.

PRAISE FOR AVOGADRO CORP

WINNER SCIENCE FICTION DIY BOOK FESTIVAL 2011-2012

“A tremendous book that every single person needs to read. In the vein of Daniel Suarez’s Daemon and Freedom(TM), William’s book shows that science fiction is becoming science fact. Avogadro Corp describes issues, in solid technical detail, that we are dealing with today that will impact us by 2015, if not sooner. Not enough people have read these books. It’s a problem for them, but not for the [emergent] machines.”
— Brad Feld, managing director Foundry Group, cofounder TechStars

“A highly entertaining, gripping, thought inspiring book. Don’t start without the time to finish — it won’t let you go.”
— Gifford Pinchot III, founder Bainbridge Graduate Institute, author THE INTELLIGENT ORGANIZATION.

“An alarming and jaw-dropping tale about how something as innocuous as email can subvert an entire organization. I found myself reading with a sense of awe, and read it way too late into the night.”
— Gene Kim, author VISIBLE OPS

“A fascinating look at how simple and benign advancements in technology could lead to the surprise arrival of the first AI. And like all good techno-thrillers, the reality of AI is less than ideal.”
— Jason Glaspey on SILICON FLORIST

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940032923213
  • Publisher: William Hertling
  • Publication date: 11/22/2011
  • Series: Singularity , #1
  • Sold by: Smashwords
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 58,329
  • File size: 363 KB

Meet the Author

William E. Hertling is a digital native who grew up on the online chat and bulletin board systems of the mid 1980s, giving him twenty-five years experience participating in and creating online culture. A science fiction writer and digital strategist, he lives in Portland, Oregon.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    It's not often that I put aside all personal pursuits to read a

    It's not often that I put aside all personal pursuits to read a book, but I did that this time. I absolutely tore through this book and the next in the series because I enjoyed them so much. I am in the technology industry professionally, and personally I follow A.I. and overall technological developments. You don't have to be a believer in the Singularity to enjoy this book. But it definitely helps to be a techie. It helps if you understand all the things going on with regard to programming languages and algorithms. It's one hell of a techno-thriller. Loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Scary and possible.....

    Being an engineer and one who builds custom workstations for high end CAD/CAE applications, this book tells a believable tale of how situations can get out of control and when decisions are made driven purly by greed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    Very enjoyable book

    This is the first William Hertling book I have read and while it might not be at the same standard as Daniel Suarez book Daemon I highly recommend this book. Its believable, albeit a tad light on details for my taste, and I believe most anyone who reads this and is a google/gmail user could get very very scared.

    Perfect summer read in my opinion. I'll read the second book in the series and see if Hertling can continue the series in a believable way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Good Read

    The book is entertaining to read and has a few new interesting ideas. There are a couple rough spots where the actions don't fit well, but I didn't mind over looking those. On the whole, it's a relaxing read that leaves you with some ideas to ponder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)