A Baby for Hannah

A Baby for Hannah

4.2 9
by Jerry S. Eicher
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In Jerry Eicher’s final, never-before-published book in the Hannah’s Heart series, Jake and Hannah Byler are adjusting to life in their Amish community in rural Montana. While Jake works long days as a furniture maker and newly appointed minister, Hannah stays busy keeping their home in order. Both anticipate their baby’s birth with

…  See more details below

Overview

In Jerry Eicher’s final, never-before-published book in the Hannah’s Heart series, Jake and Hannah Byler are adjusting to life in their Amish community in rural Montana. While Jake works long days as a furniture maker and newly appointed minister, Hannah stays busy keeping their home in order. Both anticipate their baby’s birth with joy.

When word of the Mennonite tent revival spreads and worry about losing church members mounts, Hannah’s sister arrives and quickly catches the eye of the young bachelor whose brother left the church during the last revival. At the same time, Jake and Hannah’s neighbor—an Englisha—announces his interest in one of the Amish widows.

Drawing from his own Amish experiences, Eicher tells this rich story of colliding cultures and gives his growing readership one last glimpse at Jake and Hannah’s determination to stay faithful to God and the traditions of their church.

About This Series: The Hannah’s Heart series follows Hannah Byler’s quest for true love within the traditions of the Amish faith. Although life in rural Montana is unfamiliar and at times dangerous, Hannah learns to thrive as she shoulders new responsibilities, deals with sudden hardships, and embraces her place in this small community of believers.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
Living in rural Montana, Jake Byler and his wife, Hannah, await the birth of their first child. Jake works as both an Amish minister and a furniture maker, while Hannah takes care of things at home. Trouble soon develops when word of a Mennonite tent revival hits town. The church lost members during the last revival, and both Hannah and Jake worry they will lose more of their flock. Subplots feature an Englisher (non-Amish) who is interested in one of the Amish widows and a developing relationship between Hannah's sister and a member of Jake's congregation. VERDICT The character-driven, relaxed story line will appeal to readers of Mary Ellis and Suzanne Woods Fisher. As this is the final book in the series, there will be high demand from Eicher's fans.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780736943376
Publisher:
Harvest House Publishers
Publication date:
07/01/2011
Series:
Hannah's Heart , #3
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
277
Sales rank:
197,146
File size:
546 KB

Meet the Author

Jerry Eicher taught for two terms in Amish and Mennonite schools in Ohio and Illinois. He writes of his experience growing up Amish in his memoir My Amish Childhood. Jerry has been involved in church renewal, preaching, and teaching Bible studies. He lives with his wife, Tina, and their four children in Virginia.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

A Baby for Hannah 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
3Karla3 More than 1 year ago
This book, A Baby for Hannah follows in Jerry's tradition of the writing of Amish fiction written true to the Amish faith in all aspects. I have read each and every one of his Amish novels and this one was every bit as good as the others. I love the series that Jerry has come up with- and follows through with! You feel as if you know and each and every character. When they are going through their periods of trials and challenges, you travel along beside them. Jerry's ability to exhibit the fact that the Amish, although they practice their faith, with peace and forgiveness, still go through difficult times the same as you or I. I felt Hannah's fear of losing her baby once again, as I did Miriam's happiness of finding true love. But this road to happiness had its bumps. Jake, Hannah's husband, as a young preacher, must deal with many difficult decisions , along with family concerns. This book, again exhibits humor, drama and the Amish romance as do all of Jerry's books. I just LOVED this book, couldn't put it down, once started!!! Can hardly wait to see what the next book brings. Book provided by Harvest House and Jerry Eicher in exchange for review purposes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hzdhj
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mrsred49 More than 1 year ago
Another Amish story and this is the third in the series of "Hannah's Heart", I didn't get to read the first two so I have no idea what happened before, but as this book begins, Hannah had lost a baby and is now pregnant again. Her young husband Jake has drawn the lot so he is a young preacher for the Amish community. There is trouble with some of their members as they are wanting to go to the Mennonites and the Bishop does not like that. Jake does not agree with the other two ministers in what they want to do to the people that decide to change over and the ones that go to the Mennonite revival that is being held near the Amish community. Young Jake has a lot of problems with being such a young preacher but everyone loves to hear him. Hannah's older sister is coming for a visit and she is wanting to find her a beau while she is there but the young man she chooses, is not the young man that her aunt wants her to date. Just because of his brother leaving the Amish they are holding that against him. Will Hannah be able to carry this baby to full term and will her sister Miriam get her a husband while in Montana? Thanks to the author Jerry and to Harvest House Publisher for sending me this book for me to review.