Bad Karma [NOOK Book]

Overview

"A sleek, smooth and constantly surprising page-turner..."* Bad Karma is a fast-paced, full-length suspense thriller of heart-pounding terror and dark reincarnation from award-winning and New York Times bestselling novelist, Douglas Clegg.

For fans of James Patterson, Jonathan Kellerman and Thomas Harris.
...
See more details below
Bad Karma

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$5.49
BN.com price

Overview

"A sleek, smooth and constantly surprising page-turner..."* Bad Karma is a fast-paced, full-length suspense thriller of heart-pounding terror and dark reincarnation from award-winning and New York Times bestselling novelist, Douglas Clegg.

For fans of James Patterson, Jonathan Kellerman and Thomas Harris.

This is the first book in the Criminally Insane series.

Originally published in hardcover and paperback under Clegg's pen name, Andrew Harper, this is Bad Karma's 1st digital edition.

Agnes Hatcher is beautiful -- and deadly. She is known as the Gorgon, for her intense stare; and also The Surgeon, for the style of murders she committed.

Incarcerated, she wants out -- now. She'll do anything to find her beloved -- and show him the disturbing visions of his past life, linking them back to one of the most terrifying and mysterious murderers the world has ever known.

"Douglas Clegg knows exactly what scares us, and he knows just how to twist those fears into hair-raising chills..." - Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of the Rizzoli & Isles series.

The Darden State Hospital for Criminal Justice is taking its toll on Trey Campbell, a psych tech who who works with sociopathic criminals.

His dreams are filled with the sight of their dead eyes, by the sound of their anguished screams. He is haunted by images of blood-stained uniforms, broken bodies, and broken minds.

"You shouldn't have left me alone," she whispers.

"Clegg's stories can chill the spine so effectively that the reader should keep paramedics on standby."
-- Dean Koontz

Between the jagged cliffs of San Pedro and the crystal blue waters off Catalina Island there is nothing but peace and isolation.

For Trey, his wife, and their two children, it is just the sanctuary they need.

For two weeks, life will be good. Better than good. And the best part is no one will be able to find them...

"I will not be ignored."

Once, Agnes Hatcher was a suburban school teacher, a member of the Junior League and a subscriber to the Los Angeles Philharmonic.

She also had a fondness for knives that earned her the nickname, the Surgeon.

Today she is the most brilliant and brutal psychopath at Darden State.

In her twisted fantasy life she shares an unbreakable karma with the man she believes to be her devoted lover.

But this weekend Trey has abandoned her. And Agnes is feeling very unforgiving.

"I'm coming for you."

Now darkness has fallen on the Campbells' isolated vacation retreat. A diabolical game of wits is about to begin. Because what Agnes has planned for Trey and his family is beyond anything any of them can imagine...

* " Take a mental hospital, a weary psychiatrist suffering from nightmares he doesn't understand, and a killer as chilling as they come, and you've got a sleek, smooth, and constantly surprising page-turner. Reminds me of a very hip Robert Bloch." —Ed Gorman

Author Note: There are three books in the Criminally Insane series - Bad Karma, Red Angel and Night Cage.

Look for other books (fiction) by Douglas Clegg from Alkemara Press, including:

Afterlife
Goat Dance
Purity
Dark of the Eye
The Words
Wild Things
The Criminally Insane Series:
Bad Karma
Red Angel
Night Cage
The Harrow Series:
Nightmare House
Mischief
The Infinite
The Abandoned
The Hour Before Dark
You Come When I Call You
Naomi
The Nightmare Chronicles
The Attraction

With more to come…

"Clegg is the best horror writer of the post-Stephen King generation."
-- Bentley Little, author of The Policy



Tags: thriller, suspense, horror, reincarnation, psychological, psychiatric, murder, crime, terror, Jack the Ripper, Catalina, California, hospital, medical, prison.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940014406970
  • Publisher: Alkemara Press
  • Publication date: 5/9/2012
  • Series: The Criminally Insane Series , #1
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 156,652
  • File size: 198 KB

Meet the Author

Douglas Clegg is the award-winning and bestselling author of horror, gothic, fantasy, thriller and suspense fiction, including Goat Dance, Purity, The Words, The Children's Hour, Breeder, Neverland, The Hour Before Dark, You Come When I Call You, The Machinery of Night, Bad Karma, Nightmare House, Naomi, The Nightmare Chronicles, The Attraction, Dark of the Eye, Mischief, The Infinite, The Abandoned, Red Angel, Night Cage -- and more.

His fiction has won the Bram Stoker Award, the International Horror Guild Award, and the Shocker Award.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    This was a very scary read. I would compare Agnes to Gretchen L

    This was a very scary read. I would compare Agnes to Gretchen Lowell another beyond crazy killer. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a hair raising story. This was my first Douglas Clegg book and I just bought my second. I can't wait to read it. I hope it is another wild ride!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Great summer read!

    This was an easy, enjoyable read. I love serial killer stories and this one didn't disappoint. I am, however, thankful Darden is not real as I live a short distance from Patton, the real hospital for the criminally insane also mentioned here. I am all too familiar with other settings of the book as well, which definitely let me visualize scenes very clearly!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Amazing!

    Excellent book to sit back and lose yourself in!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    NEEDS WORK

    BAD KARMA by Douglass Clegg has a decent story line as far as psycho serial killer stories go. It's a quick read, with about 130 pages. It started off excellent, then the many grammatical errors started appearing. This is common for Clegg's books. He needs an EDITOR!! About half way through the story becomes predictable. I became so irritated with the stupidity of the main character that I was yelling to myself, OH NO! COME ON! Not bad, but not good either. I almost didn't finish it. The violence is not for the faint of heart.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Tantilizing

    Great and quick read. Very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Not good

    Not good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Rienne to umbreo

    Rienne to umbreo:ok (8:35 eastern.)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)