BN.com Gift Guide

Baghdad Solitaire

( 1 )

Overview

In Iraq after the fall of Saddam Hussein, love and friendship are as uncertain as the shifting battle lines of the civil war. Lee McGuinness, a trauma surgeon on a humanitarian mission, is also on a personal quest: to find her companion-in-arms, Martin Carrigan, who has disappeared under mysterious circumstances. Has he been kidnapped for ransom? Or is he a traitor to his country, running arms to the insurgents? In search of someone - and something - to believe in, Lee must navigate a wilderness of mirrors in ...
See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (10) from $1.99   
  • New (7) from $7.75   
  • Used (3) from $1.99   
Sending request ...

Overview

In Iraq after the fall of Saddam Hussein, love and friendship are as uncertain as the shifting battle lines of the civil war. Lee McGuinness, a trauma surgeon on a humanitarian mission, is also on a personal quest: to find her companion-in-arms, Martin Carrigan, who has disappeared under mysterious circumstances. Has he been kidnapped for ransom? Or is he a traitor to his country, running arms to the insurgents? In search of someone - and something - to believe in, Lee must navigate a wilderness of mirrors in which greed, lies, and brutality are found among allies and enemies alike. In the tradition of Graham Greene and Robert Stone, Leslie Cockburn has written a haunting novel of intrigue and romance set in a deadly world of deception.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Goodreads - Gerhard Hope
Superb.... What makes this novel so potent ... is Cockburn’s eye for detail. The reader literally feels as if he or she is in the midst of the carnage and turmoil. Sights, sounds, smells, images. The writing is extremely evocative and immersive.... a very human story, brimming with redemption and the joy of life.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781940412009
  • Publisher: Asahina & Wallace
  • Publication date: 9/16/2013
  • Pages: 380
  • Sales rank: 581,724
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 9.00 (h) x 0.85 (d)

Meet the Author

Leslie Cockburn lives in Washington, D.C., and Ireland. This is her first novel.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Full disclosure: I helped Leslie with this book by sitting with

    Full disclosure: I helped Leslie with this book by sitting with her a couple of times and relating my experiences working for the US Embassy in Iraq from May 2004-May 2005. However, I had no idea how powerful and engaging her book would turn out. Leslie nails her descriptions and I can taste, feel, hear and smell the occupation and the war, so much that I had to put the book down for a few days and then return to it and read small excerpts at a time. Her writing is gifted and moving, there is a graceful structure and simplicity to its flow. The story is credible, plausible and possible. The book accurately conveys Iraq under occupation, the currents of resentment and grievance that fueled the insurgency, the hubris and incompetence that guided the occupation, and the horror and tragedy that befell, and continues to befall, countless millions of innocents. Beautiful and haunting, my sincerest appreciation to Leslie for capturing and conveying in a novel what haunts so many of my memories. Matthew Hoh, Raleigh, NC

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)