Barbra

Barbra

4.0 5
by Christopher Andersen
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

"Funny, I don't feel like a legend."

-- Barbra Streisand

She is a one-name legend, a global icon, the ultimate diva. Yet most of what we know about Barbra Joan Streisand is the stuff of caricature: the Brooklyn girl made good, the ugly duckling who blossomed into a modern-day Nefertiti, the political dilettante driving to the barricades

Overview

"Funny, I don't feel like a legend."

-- Barbra Streisand

She is a one-name legend, a global icon, the ultimate diva. Yet most of what we know about Barbra Joan Streisand is the stuff of caricature: the Brooklyn girl made good, the ugly duckling who blossomed into a modern-day Nefertiti, the political dilettante driving to the barricades in her Rolls-Royce, the Oscar-winning actress and bona fide movie mogul, the greatest female singer who ever lived, a skinflint, a philanthropist, a connoisseur and a barbarian, the woman whose physical characteristics are instantly identifiable around the planet -- the tapered nails, those slightly crossed eyes, that nose, the voice.

Even to the multitudes around the world who idolize her, Streisand remains aloof, unknowable, tantalizingly beyond reach. Until now. In the manner of his #l New York Times bestsellers The Day Diana Died and The Day John Died as well as Jack and Jackie, Jackie After Jack, An Affair to Remember, and Sweet Caroline, Christopher Andersen taps into important sources -- eyewitnesses to Streisand's remarkable life and career -- to paint a startling portrait of the artist . . . and the woman. Among the revelations:


  • Surprising new details about her wedding and marriage to James Brolin.

  • New information about her many failed love affairs, including her never-before-revealed relationships with Prince Charles and Princess Diana's doomed lover Dodi Fayed -- as well as Warren Beatty, Ryan O'Neal, former Canadian prime minister Pierre Trudeau, Steve McQueen, Richard Gere, Kris Kristofferson, Don Johnson, Jon Voight, Andre Agassi, newsman Peter Jennings, and more . . .

  • A provocative inside account of what really went on between Streisand and Bill Clinton in the White House, what their relationship is like today, and how Hillary feels about Barbra.

  • From Funny Girl and The Way We Were to Yentl and The Prince of Tides -- and in the recording sessions that produced some of the biggest hits in music history -- new behind-the-scenes details of the brilliance, the obsessive drive for perfection, and the Callas-sized ego.

  • New insights into Barbra's relationship with her only child, Jason.


Whether you love her, hate her, or are simply spellbound by her titanic talent, Barbra is one thing above all others: a true American original.

Editorial Reviews

USA Today
“...hits all the high notes.”
New York Post
“...a scandalicious new bio packed with fresh dirt on the world’s most reclusive diva.”
Al Roker
“The book reads like buttah!”
New York Times Book Review
“[Andersen] has a knack for ferreting out memorable anecdotes of the ‘no wire hangers’ variety.”
People
“Readers who can’t get enough of Streisand will lap [this up]...”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061862519
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
03/17/2009
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
480
Sales rank:
578,567
File size:
3 MB

Meet the Author

Christopher Andersen is the critically acclaimed author of twenty-eight books, which have been translated into more than twenty-five languages worldwide. A former contributing editor of Time magazine and senior editor of People magazine, Andersen has also written hundreds of articles for a wide range of publications, including Life magazine, the New York Times, and Vanity Fair.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Barbra: The Way She Is 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
annalise123 More than 1 year ago
One word nicely sums up Barbra Streisand: PERFECTIONIST. This book offers a revealing look at her as an unloved, ugly duckling child raised by a coldhearted mother and a cruel stepfather. As a result, Barbra sets lofty goals to become an actress/singer and win attention from the general public. She has many hurdles to overcome but her tenacity and incredible singing voice eventually attract the agents and theater people who are able to launch her career. Slowly she begins to collect a steady group of fans but when fate intervenes she is awarded the Broadway role of Fanny Brice in Funny Girl and a star is born. The author is very detailed about her personality, her attitudes and her very strong opinions. He delves into every detail of her personal life and portrays her as promiscious, overly ambitious and a skinflint. These traits have made her a reputation as being hard to work with and many Hollywood bigwigs flatly refuse to do so. This book has left me with the impression that Ms. Streisand is a self-centered egomaniac. She has suffered many personal disappointments in her life but professionally she has achieved super stardom. At 67 she has mellowed and now lives quielty off the Pacific coast with her husband, James Brolin. For fans of B. Stresand, I would definately recommend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book was good but I was a little disappointed at the end. It was brief on her marriage and dwelled too much in the Bill Clinton bashing. I'm also am an avid fan and enjoyed some new stories but did not like the negative remarks the author made about her. I would read it if you don't know much about her but I have read almost every book and was not much more informed. I keep listening to her music.
Dorothy Denson More than 1 year ago
i lobed it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Loved it!