Barcelona Calling: A Novel [NOOK Book]

Overview

From bestselling author Jane Kirkpatrick comes this relational story about a close-knit group of five women and their pursuit of life goals. You’ll be encouraged and entertained!

In the tradition of Neta Jackson’s Yada Yada Prayer Group series, Kirkpatrick invites you into the lives of five women friends who promise to help each other achieve their life goals. Annie Shaw's goal is far from simple: become famous. But she’s in trouble after ...
See more details below
Barcelona Calling: A Novel

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$6.99
BN.com price

Overview

From bestselling author Jane Kirkpatrick comes this relational story about a close-knit group of five women and their pursuit of life goals. You’ll be encouraged and entertained!

In the tradition of Neta Jackson’s Yada Yada Prayer Group series, Kirkpatrick invites you into the lives of five women friends who promise to help each other achieve their life goals. Annie Shaw's goal is far from simple: become famous. But she’s in trouble after quitting her day job to write full-time. Her second novel tanked, and her new editor wants her to re-write the ending of her latest work to ensure this one is more successful. In order to pursue fame and an elusive bestseller, Annie travels to Chicago, acquires a rambunctious dog, and participates in antics better suited to a television reality show than real life.

Can Annie’s best friends help her achieve her goals without destroying her future?

Award-winning author Jane Kirkpatrick, known for her superb historical novels, writes this bold, fresh, contemporary story she always threatened she’d one day “put down on paper to make people laugh and consider the true treasures of their hearts.”
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780310412465
  • Publisher: Zondervan
  • Publication date: 9/20/2011
  • Sold by: Zondervan Publishing
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 320
  • Sales rank: 739,147
  • File size: 3 MB

Meet the Author

Jane Kirkpatrick is the author of twenty books and is a two-time winner of the WILLA Literary Award. Her first novel, A Sweetness to the Soul, won the Western Heritage Wrangler Award, an honor given to writers such as Barbara Kingsolver and Larry McMurtry. For twenty-six years she "homesteaded" with her husband Jerry on a remote ranch in Eastern Oregon.  She now lives with Jerry, and her two dogs and one cat on small acreage in Central Oregon while she savors the value of friendship over fame.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 2
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Barcelona calling

    I have read and enjoyed all of jane k's stories and was disappointed in this one. I had a difficult time staying interested but forced myself to see it through to the end. I didn't enjoy the attempts at slapstick comedy. To me, it was a lesson in how to write a book and not get published. I didn't feel any closeness to the main character, annie shaw, like i have in jane's wonderful historical stories. I wanted to read more about the developing romance between annie and irving and less about how not to get a book published. I was totally bored with the whole book. For me, it was less a story and more a narrative on writing and publishing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Surprise offering from Kirkpatrick

    Jane Kirkpatrick's historical fiction takes you out of the present back to authentically portrayed time periods with determined women who struggle against environment and circumstances. Her plots go beyond the ordinary and she has often used real events and people as the backdrop for her well-crafted stories. When I was given the opportunity to read an advanced reader's copy of her new book (Thanks, NetGalley), I was surprised to see that Barcelona Calling has a contemporary setting. Still I expected realistic Christian fiction which would transport me to Spain and perhaps a romantic setting.

    ?Surprise! Surprise! Kirkpatrick has not written a travel-centered romance, but instead a humorous, implausible chick lit novel, set in Milwaukee and Chicago. It is her main character, Annie Shaw, who has written the Spanish romance novel, and now she must take action to ensure its publication. Annie's successful first novel, loosely based on her own romance with sports writer husband, remains a readers' favorite. That apparent success is tarnished by her recent divorce, the complete failure of her second book, and the lack luster sales record of her current title. When her new editor demands major revisions on Annie's fourth book based on a recent trip to Spain, Annie is consumed with self doubt. Enter the ring of best friends and one out-spoken sister who demand that the young writer take action to get herself noticed by Oprah. What follows is a Three Stooges comedy of castrophes which will have you shaking your head at the same time you are stifling chuckles. Will the young policeman Annie left behind in Barcelona follow her to Chicago? Does she want him to come? What if his presence ensures a successful book and a spot on Oprah? What appears to be a light humorous read has some surprise thoughts about finding oneself and accepting that life. Give Barcelona Calling a try and the next time you want some historical fiction with depth, check out Kirkpatrick's other offerings

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)