Baroque Masterpieces

( 1 )
$6.99 price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (CD)
  • All (9) from $1.99   
  • New (6) from $4.17   
  • Used (3) from $1.99   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 1/29/2002
  • Label: Sony
  • UPC: 696998984721
  • Catalog Number: 89847
  • Sales rank: 17,808


Disc 1
  1. 1 Canon and Gigue for 3 violins & continuo in D major: Canon in D major - Johann Pachelbel & English Chamber Orchestra (6:30)
  2. 2 Rondeau, for brass, strings & timpani (from Suite of Symphonies No. 1; "Masterpiece Theater" Theme): Rondeau - Jean-Joseph Mouret & Richard Kapp (1:49)
  3. 3 Adagio, for violin, strings & organ in G minor (composed by Remo Giazotto; not by Albinoni), T. Mi 26 - La Grande Écurie et la Chambre du Roy & Tomaso Albinoni (8:26)
  4. 4 Minuet, for keyboard No. 1 in G major (Anna Magdalena Notebook II/1), BWV Anh. 114 - Christian Pezold & Eugene Ormandy (1:35)
  5. 5 Musette for keyboard in D major, BWV Anh. 126 - Johann Sebastian Bach & Eugene Ormandy (1:16)
  6. 6 Bist du bei mir, aria for voice & continuo (spurious, by Stölzel), BWV 508 - Johann Sebastian Bach & Eugene Ormandy (3:40)
  7. 7 Marches (2) and Polonoises (2) for keyboard (Clavierbüchlein für Anna Magdalena Bach II/16-19), H. 1: Marche in D major (Anna Magdalena Notebook), BWV A - Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach & Eugene Ormandy (1:00)
  8. 8 Dance of the Blessed Spirits (Melody), arrangement (from "Orfeo ed Euridice"): Dance of the Blessed Spirits - Christoph Willibald Gluck & Eugene Ormandy (3:31)
  9. 9 The Prince of Denmark's March (Trumpet Voluntary in D major) for brass, winds, & percussion (or keyboard or trumpet & organ) - Jeremiah Clarke & Gilbert Johnson (2:21)
  10. 10 Solomon, oratorio, HWV 67: The Arrival of the Queen of Sheba - English Chamber Orchestra & George Frideric Handel (3:23)
  11. 11 Concerto Grosso in G minor ("Christmas Concerto"), Op. 6/8: Pastorale ad libitum - Arcangelo Corelli & Richard Kapp (4:15)
  12. 12 Berenice, Regina d'Egitto, opera, HWV 38: Overture - Pierre Boulez & George Frideric Handel (8:28)
  13. 13 Abdelazer, or, the Moor's Revenge, incidental music, Z. 570: Rondeau - Henry Purcell & English Chamber Orchestra (1:20)
  14. 14 Largo in F major, instrumental arrangement ("Ombra mai fu" from the opera Serse) - Edward Carroll & George Frideric Handel (3:06)
  15. 15 Belshazzar, oratorio, HWV 61: Martial Symphony - E. Power Biggs & George Frideric Handel (0:44)
  16. 16 Saul, oratorio, HWV 53: Dead March - E. Power Biggs & George Frideric Handel (3:33)
  17. 17 Cantata No. 147, "Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben," BWV 147: Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring - Johann Sebastian Bach & Eugene Ormandy (3:22)
  18. 18 Judas Maccabaeus, oratorio, HWV 63: See, the Conquering Hero Comes - E. Power Biggs & George Frideric Handel (5:07)
  19. 19 Samson, oratorio, HWV 57: Let the Bright Seraphim - Edward Carroll & George Frideric Handel (5:20)
  20. 20 Sarabande, Gigue & Badinerie ("Suite for Strings") (arranged by Ettore Pinelli) - Arcangelo Corelli & Eugene Ormandy (7:23)
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Quality Baroque Music

    I found this to be a good quality CD with several different composers. The Baroque pieces on it are nice. I mainly purchased it because of the well-known Albinoni piece that I like also. It was pleasant seeing that 2010 Olympic skating couple from China use a Albinoni piece in their skating yesterday as I watched them on TV take the gold, and I wondered how they could skate to such a difficult, but beautiful piece.
    I find that many CD compilations of different composers are quite good, though sometimes the conductor or orchestra can make a difference in a piece--it sometimes is good to compare and contrast. I found that pianist Barenboim's interpretation of Beethoven's "Moonlight Sonata" is wonderful on the EMI classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews