Bay Country

Bay Country

by Tom Horton, Charles R. Hazard
     
 

"Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking itsharbor roots." — Baltimore Magazine.

"Mr. Horton — a Baltimore journalist who has developed a devoted but hitherto local following — ventures into a small, distinguished circle of nature writers. Fans of Aldo Leopold, John McPhee and Sigurd Olson won't be disappointed. This is not

See more details below

Overview

"Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking itsharbor roots." — Baltimore Magazine.

"Mr. Horton — a Baltimore journalist who has developed a devoted but hitherto local following — ventures into a small, distinguished circle of nature writers. Fans of Aldo Leopold, John McPhee and Sigurd Olson won't be disappointed. This is not merely a book for those who already know the Chesapeake, although they will be enchanted by Tom Horton's vast knowledge, narrative skills and eye for detail. Like the true bay native he is, Mr. Horton uses the Chesapeake as a limitless resource from which to harvest a great bounty of observations about politics, nature, and human beings." — New York Times Book Review.

"Sailing down the Chesapeake in this book is bracing, for Horton is knowledgeable, thoughtful, full of wonder about the natural world and outspoken... As Smith Islanders might say, it's a 'right smart' book." — Washington Post.

Maryland Paperback Bookshelf.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780801848759
Publisher:
Johns Hopkins University Press
Publication date:
02/28/1994
Series:
Maryland Paperback Bookshelf Series
Edition description:
20
Pages:
220
Product dimensions:
5.97(w) x 8.97(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >