Bay Country

Paperback (Print)
Buy New
Buy New from BN.com
$18.68
Buy Used
Buy Used from BN.com
$17.25
(Save 25%)
Item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging.
Condition: Used – Good details
Used and New from Other Sellers
Used and New from Other Sellers
from $1.99
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
(Save 91%)
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (18) from $1.99   
  • New (3) from $12.25   
  • Used (15) from $1.99   

Overview

"Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking itsharbor roots." — Baltimore Magazine.

"Mr. Horton — a Baltimore journalist who has developed a devoted but hitherto local following — ventures into a small, distinguished circle of nature writers. Fans of Aldo Leopold, John McPhee and Sigurd Olson won't be disappointed. This is not merely a book for those who already know the Chesapeake, although they will be enchanted by Tom Horton's vast knowledge, narrative skills and eye for detail. Like the true bay native he is, Mr. Horton uses the Chesapeake as a limitless resource from which to harvest a great bounty of observations about politics, nature, and human beings." — New York Times Book Review.

"Sailing down the Chesapeake in this book is bracing, for Horton is knowledgeable, thoughtful, full of wonder about the natural world and outspoken... As Smith Islanders might say, it's a 'right smart' book." — Washington Post.

Maryland Paperback Bookshelf.

Winner of the 1988 John Burroughs Medal, this is a personal and lyrical portrait of the places and people of Chesapeake Bay.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

New York Times Book Review

Mr. Horton—a Baltimore journalist who has developed a devoted but hitherto local following—ventures into a small, distinguished circle of nature writers. Fans of Aldo Leopold, John McPhee, and Sigurd Olson won't be disappointed.

Washington Post

Sailing down the Chesapeake in this book is bracing, for Horton is knowledgeable, thoughtful, full of wonder about the natural world and outspoken... As Smith Islanders might say, it's a 'right smart' book.

New York Times

This is not merely a book for those who already know the Chesapeake, although they will be enchanted by Tom Horton's vast knowledge, narrative skills and eye for detail. Like the true bay native he is, Mr. Horton uses the Chesapeake as a limitless resource from which to harvest a great bounty of observations about politics, nature, and human beings.

Baltimore Magazine

Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking its harbor roots.

Library Journal
Bay Country chronicles changes in the lands and waters of the Chesapeake Bay. During the past century, human influence has decreased the base-line populations of geese, eels, crabs, and trees. As Horton points out, we no longer miss these living things be cause they have never been abundant in our lifetimesa tragedy of both ecological and human dimensions. His lyrical and understandable prose will convince doubters of the need to consider the diverse consequences of their actions. Horton, a native of the Chesapeake's Eastern Shore, has been an environmental writer for the Baltimore Sun. Highly recommended. James R. Karr, Smithsonian Tropi cal Research Inst., Balboa, Panama
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780801848759
  • Publisher: Johns Hopkins University Press
  • Publication date: 2/28/1994
  • Series: Maryland Paperback Bookshelf Series
  • Edition description: 20
  • Pages: 220
  • Product dimensions: 5.97 (w) x 8.97 (h) x 0.70 (d)

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)