×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Beautiful Broken Girls
     

Beautiful Broken Girls

by Kim Savage
 

See All Formats & Editions

Remember the places you touched me.

Ben touched seven parts of Mira Cillo: her palm, hair, chest, cheek, lips, throat, and heart. It was the last one that broke her. After Mira's death, she sends Ben on a quest to find notes she left him in the seven places where they touched—notes that explain why she and her sister, Francesca, drowned

Overview

Remember the places you touched me.

Ben touched seven parts of Mira Cillo: her palm, hair, chest, cheek, lips, throat, and heart. It was the last one that broke her. After Mira's death, she sends Ben on a quest to find notes she left him in the seven places where they touched—notes that explain why she and her sister, Francesca, drowned themselves in the quarry lake. How Ben interprets those notes has everything to do with the way he was touched by a bad coach years ago. But the truth behind the girls’ suicides is far more complicated, involving a dangerous infatuation, a deadly miracle, and a crushing lie. BEAUTIFUL BROKEN GIRLS is a stunning release from Kim Savage, the author of the critically acclaimed After the Woods.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

“Told through both Ben's and the girls' perspectives, the mystery unfolds with aching precision—both Ben's grief and the sisters' pain can be acutely traced as they grow. Even though the truth can be seen before it's revealed, the girls' secrets pack a gut punch that lingers. Haunting and mesmerizing.” —Kirkus, starred review

“Savage’s skillful writing makes the characters’ pain deep and tangible, offering readers the full impact of the deaths on the town. The novel is cleverly divided into chapters of the seven body parts, propelling the search for the next clue. Prepare to be shocked, and have plenty of tissues handy. Perfect for readers of Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why (2007).” —Booklist

"Readers who enjoy mysteries with a mix of inexplicable and all-too-human underpinnings will enjoy this." —Bulleting for the Center of Children's Books

When twin sisters Mira and Francesca Cillo jump to their deaths in the quarry lake, the community is left wondering what could have led to this tragedy. No one wonders more than Ben Lattanzi, and he may be the only one who can uncover the mystery. He loved Mira, and she left him seven notes, each hidden in a location where they shared a meaningful touch. As Ben seeks to understand each cryptic piece of the puzzle, he begins to realize that the bonds of family, an unrequited love, and a horrible secret can be more dangerous than anyone could imagine.

“Readers looking for a unique, haunting mystery will certainly be drawn to this heartbreaking tale.” —VOYA

School Library Journal
12/01/2016
Gr 10 Up—From the author of After the Woods comes a follow-up novel about sisters who drown themselves in a quarry lake and the boy who loved one of them. Before Mira dies, Ben touches seven parts of her body, in seven different locations. After her death, Ben receives a letter that sends him on a quest through those seven places. The journey introduces readers to a small community where deaths and near deaths are on the rise and adults are powerless to stop the trend. Organized into eight parts, the narrative begins with a Sylvia Plath quotation, which further dramatizes the darkness in store for readers. There is also a mystical element that adds a level of complexity, as well as a plot detour that feels superfluous. Familial ties, friendship, and community trust are all intriguing themes, but the book's central story line is its strength as Ben moves through the stages of disbelief and grief. Teen readers will find sympathy for each character and be moved by the profound sadness of the sisters' short lives. VERDICT A haunting tale that reads like a young adult version of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides. Give to fans of Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why.—Alicia Abdul, Albany High School Library, NY
Kirkus Reviews
★ 2016-11-23
After two sisters commit suicide, the boy next door traces the notes one left behind for him.Ben Lattanzi, a white teen toiling in small-town Massachusetts, receives a letter from Mira Cillo seven days after she and her sister, Francesca, died. They were found at the bottom of the quarry lake, tangled together. Compounding the tragedy, their cousin Connie Villela had passed away only months before. In her letter, Mira tells Ben that everyone wanted to touch her and Francesca and that by going to the seven locations he touched her, he'll discover the truth. Ben, known as sensitive due to a public childhood trauma, becomes enamored with the notion of reconnecting with Mira, whom he briefly dated but long adored. Soon he realizes the story Mira wants to tell isn't about her—it's about her sister and the months leading to their fatal fall. Mira, Francesca, and Connie, all white, were bonded by shared blood and would do anything for each other. Through a haze of longing, Ben finds out just what that means as he pieces together Mira's last messages. Told through both Ben's and the girls' perspectives, the mystery unfolds with aching precision—both Ben's grief and the sisters' pain can be acutely traced as they grow. Even though the truth can be seen before it's revealed, the girls' secrets pack a gut punch that lingers. Haunting and mesmerizing. (Fiction. 14 & up)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780374300593
Publisher:
Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Publication date:
02/21/2017
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
136,615
Product dimensions:
5.90(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range:
14 - 18 Years

Meet the Author

Kim Savage is the author of the critically acclaimed After the Woods. She was born in Quincy, Massachusetts and received her master's degree in Journalism from Northeastern University. She lives with her husband and three children north of Boston.