Becoming Clementine: A Novel

( 2 )

Overview

For fans of Alan Furst and Sarah Blake, a spellbinding story of a secret mission and dangerous passion in World War II Paris:
 
After delivering a B-17 Flying Fortress to Britain, an American volunteers to copilot a plane carrying special agents to their drop spot over Normandy. Her personal mission: to find her brother, who is missing in action. Their plane is shot down, and only she and five agents ...

See more details below
Paperback
$12.70
BN.com price
(Save 15%)$15.00 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (55) from $1.99   
  • New (21) from $1.99   
  • Used (34) from $1.99   
Becoming Clementine: A Novel

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$12.99
BN.com price

Overview

For fans of Alan Furst and Sarah Blake, a spellbinding story of a secret mission and dangerous passion in World War II Paris:
 
After delivering a B-17 Flying Fortress to Britain, an American volunteers to copilot a plane carrying special agents to their drop spot over Normandy. Her personal mission: to find her brother, who is missing in action. Their plane is shot down, and only she and five agents survive. Now they are on the run for their lives.

As they head to Paris, the beautiful aviatrix Velva Jean Hart becomes Clementine Roux, a daring woman on an epic adventure with her team to capture an operative known only as "Swan." Once settled on Rue de la Néva, Clementine works as a spy with the Resistance and finds herself falling in love with her fellow agent, Émile, a handsome and mysterious Frenchman with secrets of his own. When Clementine ends up in the most brutal prison in Paris, trying to help Émile and the team rescue Swan, she discovers the depths of human cruelty, the triumph of her own spirit, and the bravery of her team, who will stop at nothing to carry out their mission.

Readers of 22 Britannia Road, The Postmistress, and Suite Francaise will cherish Becoming Clementine—a romantic World War II adventure told from the perspective of a courageous and beautiful heroine. Niven is the author of the popular Velva Jean novels, including Velva Jean Learns to Drive and Velva Jean Learns to Fly.
 

Read More Show Less

What People Are Saying

From the Publisher

Praise for Velva Jean Learns to Drive

“A touching read, funny and wise, like a crazy blend of Loretta Lynn, Dolly Parton, a less morose Flannery O’Connor, and maybe a shot of Hank Williams . . . Niven makes some memorable moonspun magic in her rich fiction debut.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“In this story Jennifer Niven creates a world long gone, a mountain past where people suffer failure, loss, and betrayal, as well as the strength and joy of connection and deep love. Velva Jean Learns to Drive takes us far into this soaring, emotional country, the place where our best music comes from.” —Robert Morgan, author of Gap Creek

“A fluid storyteller.” —Wall Street Journal

“Velva Jean learns to . . . not only drive, but to soar. This beautifully written coming-of-age story captivated me, and I recommend it to anyone who has ever longed to ‘live out there.’” —Ann B. Ross, author of the bestselling Miss Julia novels

“Spirited.” —Parade

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780452298101
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Publication date: 9/25/2012
  • Pages: 368
  • Sales rank: 481,088
  • Product dimensions: 5.30 (w) x 7.90 (h) x 0.60 (d)

Meet the Author

Jennifer Niven

JENNIFER NIVEN’s first book, The Ice Master, was named one of the top ten nonfiction books of the year by Entertainment Weekly. Her second book, Ada Blackjack, was a Book Sense Top Ten Pick. She splits her time between Atlanta and Los Angeles.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    History, Romance, and Intrigue!

    Let me start by saying books written about life during World War II are always a huge hit with me. This book is now at the top of my World War II list.

    Velva Jean, a courageous female pilot, is in the WASP program during World War II. She manages to convince the military to use her in France as a pilot. Her first flight does not go as planned and she crash lands and is rescued by the Resistance. While trying to get to safety she experiences many horrors of the war and also experiences many uplifting moments.

    Velva also has a hidden agenda in her journeys across Europe. Her brother has been lost at war, or so she was told. He was suppose to jump on D-Day and did not and there was no word from him since before that day. With every town, village, or person she has contact with questions are asked concerning his where abouts. Never did she dream she would learn the truth about what happen to him as she did.

    Becoming Clementine had everything I love in a story. There was romance with a French agent (oooo la la). The history and truths in this story made the story seem all the more real to me. The descriptions used through made you able to picture what Velva Jean was seeing and going through in her travels across England, France, and Germany.

    This book had intrigue, history, and romance. If you enjoy learning while you read a great book, this is definitely a book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Engrossing and riveting tale

    From the opening pages when 21-year-old Velma Jean Hart is piloting a B-17 bomber across the Atlantic Ocean, I was intrigued with this character. In 1944 she was only the second woman to have accomplished this feat. Velma is a member of the Women Air Force Pilots (WASP) and nothing is more challenging for her than flying a plane. When she volunteers to co-pilot an allied mission to drop agents in France, she has no idea that it will change her life forever. The plane is shot down in the French countryside and Velma must learn to survive while eluding capture by the Germans who are scouring the area for survivors. With the 5 agents who parachuted before the plane crashed, Velma makes her way to Paris where she takes up her alias as Clementine Roux. She works with the Resistance sabotaging German operations however she can.

    This story is one of courage, commitment to doing the right thing and the will to survive despite overwhelming odds. Scene after scene will keep you glued to the story especially the chapters dealing with the brutal prison. Will Clementine crack under interrogation by the German commandant? Is she still trying to collect intel on the enigmatic spy known only as "Swan" who is also in German custody even when her own life is in jeopardy. The storyline is riveting, and though it is not a true story, it could very well be one. That's how realistic and compelling Velma/Clementine's story is. There were so many courageous and dedicated people trying to defeat the Germans during World War II. This is just one story, but an absolute must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)