Beekeeping for Beginners (Short Story)

Beekeeping for Beginners (Short Story)

4.4 56
by Laurie R. King
     
 
BONUS: This eBook includes an excerpt from Laurie R. King's Pirate King.

In this crackling short story, New York Times bestselling author Laurie R. King reveals an unforgettable new twist in the adventure that led supersleuth Sherlock Holmes to discover his first (and finest) apprentice, Mary Russell.
 
Sherlock Holmes is

Overview

BONUS: This eBook includes an excerpt from Laurie R. King's Pirate King.

In this crackling short story, New York Times bestselling author Laurie R. King reveals an unforgettable new twist in the adventure that led supersleuth Sherlock Holmes to discover his first (and finest) apprentice, Mary Russell.
 
Sherlock Holmes is fending off a particularly dark mood as he roams the Sussex Downs, in search of wild bees. The Great War may be raging across the Channel, but on the Downs, the great detective nears terminal melancholia—only to be saved by an encounter with headstrong, yellow-haired young Mary Russell, who soon becomes the Master’s apprentice not only in beekeeping but in detection. 

Holmes instantly spots her remarkable ability, but his sharp eyes also see troubling problems. Why is this wealthy orphan who lives with her aunt so shabbily dressed? Why is she so prone to illness and accident? Is she herself the center of a mystery? These are questions that the great detective must answer quickly lest his protégée, and his own new lease on life, meet a sudden, tragic end.

The tale of their meeting has been told from Russell’s point of view, but even those who have never met the famed Russell-Holmes pair will read this tale with delight—and, as its climax builds, with breathless excitement.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780345529930
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Publication date:
07/06/2011
Series:
Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Series
Sold by:
Random House
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
46
Sales rank:
35,925
File size:
2 MB

Meet the Author

Laurie R. King is the New York Times bestselling author of thirteen Mary Russell mysteries, five contemporary novels featuring Kate Martinelli, the Stuyvesant & Grey novels Touchstone and The Bones of Paris, and the acclaimed A Darker Place, Folly, and Keeping Watch. She lives in Northern California.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Beekeeping for Beginners (Short Story) 4.4 out of 5 based on 2 ratings. 56 reviews.
harthad More than 1 year ago
Fans of the Mary Russell series (like me!) will enjoy this short story of Holmes and Russell's first meeting told from Holmes' point of view, plus a small adventure of which Russell was not aware. The additional material is also fun, but not crucial. If you haven't read the series, don't start here, start with the delightful "Beekeeper's Apprentice."
skippyfromdayton More than 1 year ago
Once again, Laurie R King crafts a wonderful read!
HappyReader4 More than 1 year ago
Sherlock Holmes stories are always a bit tricky since the writer needs to be smart enough to stay ahead of the reader. She does a great job of doing this as well as being very entertaining. A very good read.
NEN31 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book so very much and hope that others will love it to. this book the beekeeping for beginners is for me a great way to revisit the world of Sherlock Holmes.
Jillster More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. I think it is good for any age from young teen readers through the ages. I am in my 60's but Mary Russell is a teen back in earlier times. We did have this book recommended and used for our book club and it was enjoyed. I thought the writing style was great and loved the new way of looking at Sherlock Holmes from a young female perspective. The banter back and forth between Mary and Sherlock was really fun and witty. It was also a clean option with plenty of adventure. I am always looking for good well-written, clean, novels that keep literary interest without the smut that is included in so many (most?) novels today. It was witty enough to be fun, light enough to not be burdensome but great entertainment. I was intrigued to read more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this story to be very, very enjoyable as I have been reading the Russell/Holmes series since it was first published (in hard cover!). I highly recommend it for all fans of the existing stories and it would be a marvelous way to start reading the other books. Thanks, Laurie!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed the Mary Russel series immensely, so it was delightful to have a story from Holmes perspective! I would recommend it to new readers of the series right after "The Beekeepers Apprentice' , but to those who have already read several, it is still a very good story to enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a die-hard fan of the Mary Russell books, this story is delightful and adds background.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For fans of The Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes series of books. This story, told from Holmes' point of view, of their beginning relationship provides an interesting insight to his feeling for her. For new readers, it gives a glimpse of the great stories in this series.
Yoopertav More than 1 year ago
I like how Ms. King gave a plausible and enjoyable backstory to the events that opened her first novel. It also gives new dimension to Mr. Holmes character, although his alternative thoughts at the beginning of the story seemed a bit disturbing & out of character.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the mary russel stories. This one from holms point of view of their first meeting is nice.
Robins_Son More than 1 year ago
As with all Ms.King's offerings, a very well written tale. Having read all the Mary Russell books, I was intrigued to read about her meeting with Holmes from HIS perspective. Thank you, Mary and Ms. King, for saving Sherlock from himself!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In this short story, King takes the reader back to the moment when Mary Russell met Sherlock Holmes. However, this time, we see the story unfold from Holmes' point of view. It's an enjoyable variation, but not as engaging as when it's told from Russell's POV. I highly recommend the Russell/Holmes novels, for their originality and for their faithfulness to the Holmes canon. It's intriguing to see Holmes in his older years, and through the eyes of a woman!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of the mary russell sherlock holmes books and it is always great to read from holmes' persective, intresting, sweet and its wonderful to read how much russell saved him i am lookimg forward from more from ms king
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed it. It was a surprise which is what was so enjoyable. Enjoy reading Laurie R King's writing. I have to say, it was a bit shorter than I thought it would be, otherwise would recommend it.
Rachelleah More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this short story a lot. Short, sweet, full of action and a sneak peek of the new book! I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LAT72 More than 1 year ago
Fun extra peak at familiar characters. If you haven't read the series you might want to pass on this and read The Beekeeper's Apprentice first.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a nice intro to the series. The only issue is the writer jumps from first person to third person andfor some this may be confusing.