Beginning Again: People and Nature in the New Millennium

Paperback (Print)
Buy New
Buy New from BN.com
$30.66
Buy Used
Buy Used from BN.com
$23.09
(Save 34%)
Item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging.
Condition: Used – Good details
Used and New from Other Sellers
Used and New from Other Sellers
from $1.99
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
(Save 94%)
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (34) from $1.99   
  • New (8) from $2.99   
  • Used (26) from $1.99   

Overview

Early in this volume, David Ehrenfeld describes what prophecy really is. Referring to the biblical prophets, he says they were not the "holy fortunetellers that the word prophet has come to signify....The business of prophecy is not simply foretelling the future; rather it is describing the present with exceptional truthfulness and accuracy." Once this is done, then it can be seen that broad aspects of the future have suddenly become apparent.
The twentieth century is drawing to a chaotic close amidst portents of unprecedented change and upheaval. The unravelling of societies and civilizations and the destruction of nature march together—linked—a fact whose enormous significance is often lost. In Beginning Again, David Ehrenfeld has undertaken the difficult task of describing the present clearly enough to reveal the future. Out of his broad vision emerges a glimpse of a new millennium: a vision at once frightening and comforting, a scene of great devastation and great rebuilding.
Ehrenfeld ranges far and wide to present a coherent vision of our relationship with Nature—its many aspects and implications—as our century opens into the next millennium. Whether he is writing about the problem of loyalty to organizations, rights versus obligations, our over-managed society, the vanishing of established knowledge, the failure of experts, the triumph of dandelions, Dr. Seuss, Edward Teller, or the future of farming, he is always concerned with the intricate interaction between technology and nature. As in his classic book, The Arrogance of Humanism, Ehrenfeld never loses sight of our fatal love affair with the fantasy of control. We now have no choice, he argues, but to transform the dream of control, of progress, from one of overweening hubris, love of consumption, and the idiot's goal of perpetual growth, to one based on "the inventive imitation of nature," with its honesty, beauty, resilience, and durability.
Few American writers and even fewer scientists can describe these timeless, transcendent qualities of nature so well. In "Places," the opening chapter, David Ehrenfeld tells about nightly vigils he spent alone on the moonlit beach of Tortuguero, watching giant sea turtles emerging from the sea to lay their eggs in the black sand where they were born. "I could watch the perfect white spheres falling," he writes. "Falling as they have fallen for a hundred million years, with the same slow cadence, always shielded from the rain or stars by the same massive bulk with the beaked head and the same large, myopic eyes rimmed with crusts of sand washed out by tears. Minutes and hours, days and months dissolve into eons. I am on an Oligocene beach, an Eocene beach, a Cretaceous beach—the scene is the same. It is night, the turtles are coming back, always back; I hear a deep hiss of breath and catch a glint of wet shell as the continents slide and crash, the oceans form and grow."

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"eginning Again is an engaging, well-written book about the interaction between technology, nature, and people. It would bea thought-provoking addition to the reading list for college ecology, natural resources, and public policy courses. It is an interesting book for anyone to read."—Journal of Natural Resources and Life Sciences Education


"Ecology and religious tradition are both enlisted in search of a new beginning....In the tradition of Thoreau, Muir, and Aldo Leopold, Ehrenfeld mixes technical information with wit and wisdom."—Bryan Norton, BioScience

"The ground Ehrenfeld covers gets a good and thorough turning."—Kirkus Reviews

"As we stumble towards the millennium, David Ehrenfeld demonstrates convincingly the baggage we should leave behind—the bureaucratic dishonesty, the technological fascinations, that we should wipe from our common slate. Even better, he offers precious glimpses of the real-world pleasures that could replace our unfulfilling and dangerous preoccupations."—Bill McKibben

"In the face of so much evidence, here compiled, of human stupidity, it is reassuring to find in the same book abundant evidence of human intelligence. Beginning Again is the work of a fine writer, and it is full of good will and good sense. Those who see the lethal foolishness of the way we are going will find direction here, and will take courage."—Wendell Berry

From Barnes & Noble
The 20th century is drawing to a chaotic close amidst portents of change & upheaval. Describing the present clearly enough to reveal the future, the author provides a vision of tomorrow that is both frightening & comforting.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780195096378
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA
  • Publication date: 6/28/1995
  • Edition description: New Edition
  • Pages: 240
  • Product dimensions: 5.56 (w) x 8.25 (h) x 0.65 (d)

Meet the Author

David Ehrenfeld, who holds degrees in history, medicine, and zoology, is Professor of Biology at Rutgers University, where he teaches courses in ecology and conservation. He is the author of The Arrogance of Humanism, the founding editor of the journal Conservation Biology, and a regular columnist for the quarterly magazine, Orion.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)