Beginning Analog Electronics through Projects: Second Edition / Edition 2

Paperback (Print)
Buy New
Buy New from BN.com
$33.84
Used and New from Other Sellers
Used and New from Other Sellers
from $10.05
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
(Save 77%)
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (6) from $10.05   
  • New (3) from $39.40   
  • Used (3) from $10.05   

Overview

Analog electronics is the simplest way to start a fun, informative, learning program. Beginning Analog Electronics Through Projects, Second Edition was written with the needs of beginning hobbyists and students in mind. This revision of Andrew Singmin's popular Beginning Electronics Through Projects provides practical exercises, building techniques, and ideas for useful electronics projects. Additionally, it features new material on analog and digital electronics, and new projects for troubleshooting test equipment.

Published in the tradition of Beginning Electronics Through Projects and Beginning Digital Electronics Through Projects, this book limits theory to "need-to-know" information that will allow you to get started right away without complex math. Commonly used electronic components and their functions are described briefly in everyday terms. Ideal for progressive learning, each of the projects builds on the theory and component knowledge developed in earlier chapters. Step-by-step instructions facilitate one's learning of techniques for component identification, soldering, troubleshooting, and much more.

Includes instructions for using a general purpose assembly board
Practical, enjoyable, useful approach to learning about electronics
Features twelve easy and useful projects designed to familiarize beginners and hobbyists with the most commonly used ICs.

Audience: Beginning electronics hobbyists or students wanting to make a fun start.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780750672832
  • Publisher: Elsevier Science
  • Publication date: 1/1/2001
  • Edition description: REV
  • Edition number: 2
  • Pages: 152
  • Product dimensions: 0.33 (w) x 6.00 (h) x 9.00 (d)

Table of Contents

Introduction; Overview of Analog and Digital Electronics, Resistors; Potentiometers; Multimeters; Ohm's Law; Light Emitting Diodes (LEDs); Switches; Capacitors; Integrated Circuits; Tools; Soldering; Basic Electronics Theory; Reading Schematics; Assembly Techniques; Handling Components; 10 Simple Projects; Projects: Project 1 - Fixed Low-Frequency LED Flasher; Project 2 - Variable Low-Frequency LED Flasher/Driver; Project 3 - Fixed Low-Gain Audio Power Amplifier; Project 4 - Fixed-Frequency Audio Tone Generator; Project 5 - Variable-Gain Audio Power Amplifier; Project 6 - Fixed-Gain Audio Pre-Amplifier; Project 7 - Guitar Headphone Amplifier; Project 8 - Visual Electronic Metronome; Project 9 - Variable-Gain, Hi/Lo Response Audio Pre-Amplifier; Project 10 - Dual-Gain Electret Microphone Audio Pre-Amplifier, Project 11-Signal Injector, Project 12-Signal Monitor Project
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 1
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Overpriced book!

    As an amateur I needed a book to start with, so I've bought a few, including this one.I've been able to read this book in less then 1 hr.First part of this book introduces You to basic analog hardware(elements like resistors, capacitors...)that everybody already knows about from elementary and high school.Second part contains 10 projects-musical instruments related(guitar),which I've never been interested in. So, unfortunately, I wasn't able to learn anything about eletronics from this book and because I didn't have anybody to give this book to,I decided to return it just so I don't feel cheated.By my opinion it shouldn't be more than $5-7!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)