Being Sloane Jacobs

Being Sloane Jacobs

3.5 14
by Lauren Morrill

View All Available Formats & Editions

Switching places with someone else has never been more fun than in this novel about following your dreams and finding your heart from the author of Meant to Be that Huntley Fitzpatrick, author of My Life Next Door, calls “unforgettable” and “full of twists and romance.”

Meet Sloane Emily

See more details below


Switching places with someone else has never been more fun than in this novel about following your dreams and finding your heart from the author of Meant to Be that Huntley Fitzpatrick, author of My Life Next Door, calls “unforgettable” and “full of twists and romance.”

Meet Sloane Emily Jacobs: a seriously stressed-out figure skater who choked during junior nationals. 

Now meet Sloane Devon Jacobs, a spunky ice hockey player who's been suspended from her team for too many aggressive hip checks.

The two girls are on their way to skating camps in Montreal when a luggage mix-up causes them to meet. Pretty soon, the Sloanes realize that this is the opportunity they’ve been waiting for: the chance to escape their lives and switch places for the summer. But it didn't occur to Sloane E. that she might meet a hockey hottie; and Sloane D. never expected to run into a familiar (and very good-looking) face from home. It's not long before the Sloanes discover that convincing people you're someone else might be more difficult than being yourself. 


"A twist on the identity-swap that's both cozily familiar and fresh . . . . sweetly uplifting."—Publishers Weekly 

"Enjoyable."—Kirkus Reviews

“Sweet and satisfying.”—Booklist

“Super cute, super hilarious and a totally fun read. I’m a big fan of the “two people switch places and fool everyone around them” plot line (see: The Parent Trap), and Being Sloane Jacobs pulled it off awesomely.” –

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Morrill (Meant To Be) delivers a twist on the identity-swap that's both cozily familiar and fresh. Enter the two Sloane Jacobs: one is a pampered D.C. socialite who's faltering in the high-stakes world of ice skating; the other is a Philadelphia native whose hockey moves need sharpening and temper needs taming. When both Sloanes (who conveniently resemble one another) accidentally meet in Canada after being shipped off to summer camps to hone their respective skills, they hatch a plan to switch places, thus relieving them from the pressures dogging them at home. Their new environments present no shortage of challenges, but the Sloanes tackle them with doggedness and humility; believably detestable antagonists at each camp raise the stakes for both teens. Morrill includes some lighthearted romantic intrigue, but doesn't allow it to overshadow the girls' struggle to figure out who they are and what they want. The ending—sweetly uplifting and just a touch sappy—offers a pleasing resolution to a relatable coming-of-age story. A Paper Lantern Lit property. Ages 12–up. Agent: Stephen Barbara, Foundry Literary + Media. (Jan.)
VOYA, February 2014 (Vol. 36, No. 6) - Dianna Geers
Sloane Emily Jacobs is a figure skater whose parents send her to figure skating camp so she can return to competitive skating after a slump. Sloane Devon Jacobs must go to hockey camp to address anger issues that interfere with her hockey games. Sloane Emily and Sloane Devon fatefully meet in a hotel the night before their dreaded camps begin in this Parent Trap meets The Town Mouse and the Country Mouse type of story. Both girls decide to take each other’s place and pretend to be the other Sloane Jacobs. Both Sloanes believe that switching places will allow them to have fun trying something new rather than spending the dreaded days attending their scheduled camps. Sloane Emily’s life has always included luxury, and money is never an issue. The opposite is true for Sloane Devon. This juxtaposition creates additional drama for the Sloanes while they try to fill each other’s shoes—or skates. Told in chapters alternating between each Sloane, Being Sloane Jacobs is a light and fun read that looks into the worlds of figure skaters and hockey players, and also adds some romance. Readers will glide into the settings where both Sloanes are out of their comfort zones but work hard to find success and confidence. The weakest link in this story is the plausibility that there would be two girls sharing an unusual name who happen to be traveling to the same place discovering each other and successfully posing as each other without being detected. This is recommended for adolescent girls who like contemporary, light romance and for fans of Sarah Dessen. Reviewer: Dianna Geers; Ages 12 to 18.
Children's Literature - Barbara Troisi
A chance meeting in a Montreal hotel brings together two summer ice skating camp-bound sixteen-year-olds sharing the same name, facing the pressure of high expectations in the sports they play and escaping the turmoil of splintered family lives. A mix-up in the delivery of their luggage spurs privileged figure skater Sloane Emily Jacobs to embark on a daring adventure—trading roles by donning the wardrobe and skates of spunky ice hockey player, Sloane Devon Jacobs. Will the imposters last in each other’s skates? Author Morrill writes with perfect balance in dual first person narratives, switching back and forth between each character’s disguises. The main theme reveals each young woman stimulated with daring and challenging daily routines, transforming to the rigors of demanding and unfamiliar sports as they attempt to survive a new event. For hockey specialist Devon, it is learning the artistry of the waltz jump, single axel, and lift techniques as she leaps into a competitive figure skating performance with Andy, her doubles partner. Compare that with Emily’s slash bang hockey moves on the ice rink as she is forced to compete for a spot on the varsity blue team and impress a Boston University scout for a future college scholarship. The prank also had each girl contending with the flaws in the other’s family relationships. The fast paced plot finds the characters embracing the challenge, shrugging off personal issues, and gaining self-discovery in a newfound sport. The fun and fresh style of writing will capture teen reader’s attention as the debutantes and the cast of supporting characters learns to cope, adapt, compete, and trust in each other. Fun reading begins and ends in this unique title as the Sloanes glide onto the ice with unique perspectives and skate to fix up their lives. Reviewer: Barbara Troisi; Ages 12 up.
Kirkus Reviews
An on-ice case of traded identities. When Sloane Emily Jacobs, the competitive figure skater from Washington, D.C., literally bumps into Sloane Devon Jacobs, the hockey jock from Philadelphia, the teens see it as more than a freaky coincidence; it's an opportunity. The chance meeting happens in a Montreal hotel lobby the evening before each teen is to report to an intensive sports camp for her own discipline. However, both girls are dreading their camps, which prompts Sloane Emily to suggest an identity swap. Hilarity ensues as Sloane Emily foregoes leotards and spins for body checking and slap shots, and Sloane Devon adopts toe picks and tights, leaving her sweatpants and swagger behind. Chapters alternate between Sloane Emily's and Sloane Devon's perspectives, giving each teen her own voice, personality and the space to unpack her heavy baggage from home, which includes family scandal, parental substance abuse and anger management issues. Although it feels far-fetched in some sections and certain small details of the identity switch don't quite line up, the two strong teens carry the text, providing an enjoyable, on-ice adventure. A thoughtful reminder that it is difficult to walk a mile in someone else's shoes--or in this case, skates. (Fiction. 12-16)
From the Publisher
“Escaping from your own life and fitting perfectly—and hilariously imperfectly—into someone else’s? Who doesn’t fantasize about that? Morrill nails this unforgettable story full of twists and romance.” —Huntley Fitzpatrick, author of My Life Next Door

Hello Giggles, January 11, 2013:
"Being Sloane Jacobs was super cute, super hilarious and a totally fun read."

Justine Magazine, Feb/March 2014:
"Charming and feisty characters (and crush-worthy guys!) make this a guaranteed-to-leave-you-smiling read."

Kirkus Reviews, November 15, 2013:
"The two strong teens carry the text, providing an enjoyable, on-ice adventure. A thoughtful reminder that it is difficult to walk a mile in someone else’s shoes—or in this case, skates."

Booklist, January 1, 2014:
"Rather than skating on the surface of a time-honored plot twist, Morrill portrays each Sloane with the grit to cross-train in a new skating sport, the perseverance to withstand the competitors’ bullying and hijinks, the honesty to be true to new friends or at least struggle in the challenge, and the grace to respect each other’s futures...A sweet and satisfying resolution."

Publishers Weekly, December 2, 2013:
"Morrill (Meant To Be) delivers a twist on the identity-swap that's both cozily familiar and fresh...A relatable coming-of-age story."

School Library Journal, January 2014:
"Woven through the story are threads about family, friendship, identity, and romance...This coming-of-age novel sports good character development, especially in the talented doppelgängers."

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, February 2014:
"This is a feel-good story with flashes of honesty: the two girls learn to respect each other (and each other’s sport) without become besties, find themselves capable of surviving in unfamiliar territory without discovering latent genius, and ultimately make tentative peace with their families while knowing the road to healing will be long...This book will suit romantics who hadn’t thought to wonder what would happen if The Parent Trap met The Cutting Edge."

School Library Journal
Gr 9 Up—Sloane Emily Jacobs is an Olympics-bound figure skater, but a fall shakes her self-confidence and the faith her wealthy, political parents have in her. The teen heads to an elite training camp to try to redeem herself and get away from her father-whom she recently discovered is having an affair. Sloane Devon Jacobs is a hockey player whose athletic career is put in jeopardy when her anger issues start to affect her performance on the ice. The girl's mother has recently been admitted to a rehab facility and her father isn't thriving at the single-dad thing. Her hockey coach orders her to attend a hockey camp to work through her temper problems. On their way to their different destinations, the two Sloane Jacobs meet because of a luggage mix-up at a Montreal hotel. Frustrated and disgruntled with their respective sports, they decide to switch places and try out each other's life. As with most "switching places" stories, the protagonists learn a lot about themselves as they live in someone else's skates. Woven through the story are threads about family, friendship, identity, and romance. Their ruse is discovered and the Sloanes are forced to switch back. While not the most original plot-and certainly one filled with unlikely coincidences-this coming-of-age novel is fairly well written and sports good character development, especially in the talented doppelgängers.—Liz Zylstra, County of Prince Edward Public Library, Picton, Ontario

Read More

Product Details

Random House Children's Books
Publication date:
Sales rank:
Product dimensions:
8.30(w) x 5.90(h) x 1.10(d)
820L (what's this?)
Age Range:
12 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >