Beloved

Beloved

4.2 130
by Antoinette Stockenberg
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Fans of Nora Roberts, Barbara Freethy and Barbara Michaels will enjoy this humorous and suspenseful story by bestselling author Antoinette Stockenberg ....

A COTTAGE BY THE SEA: it's a dream come true for Jane Drew. Too bad it comes with a ghost -- and a seductive neighbor who'd like to boot Jane off the island.

The inheritance of a cottage on… See more details below

Overview

Fans of Nora Roberts, Barbara Freethy and Barbara Michaels will enjoy this humorous and suspenseful story by bestselling author Antoinette Stockenberg ....

A COTTAGE BY THE SEA: it's a dream come true for Jane Drew. Too bad it comes with a ghost -- and a seductive neighbor who'd like to boot Jane off the island.

The inheritance of a cottage on Nantucket Island might seem like a really Good Thing for an unemployed graphic designer. The fact that the house is ramshackle and possibly haunted? Mere details. But a series of eerie events soon has Jane convinced that the spirit of a beautiful Quaker is roaming the place, and it's clear that it will take more than a smiling wave goodbye to make the spirit leave.

Mac McKenzie is descended from generations of hard-working islanders and has very clear opinions of uppity off-islanders. He has little patience for New Age types, moneyed types, and those for whom "antiquing" is a verb. He regards spaghetti as noodles, not pasta, and he drinks water from a tap, not a bottle. And he doesn't believe in ghosts. Period. When he finds himself up against the insistent, persistent, infinitely irritating Jane Drew with her knack for complicating his life, he does what any self-respecting islander would and shrugs her off -- for a while, anyway. But Mac understands, as Jane does not, that not every force is benign ... and not every force is otherworldly.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

NYT bestselling author - Joanna Lindsey
"BELOVED is a delightfully different romance with a ghost story -- a great combination that was impossible to put down."
NYT bestselling author - Susan Elizabeth Phillips
"Antoinette Stockenberg is pure magic! She does a wonderful job of evoking mood out of setting. The love story between the hero and heroine was complex and moving; what appealing characters!"
NYT bestselling author - Jayne Ann Krentz
"BELOVED is great ... a lively, engaging, thoroughly enchanting tale. Ms. Stockenberg is an exciting voice in the romance genre. Her writing is delicious; I savored every morsel of BELOVED."
Romantic Times
"Antoinette Stockenberg continues to demonstrate her talent for delivering unique tales of romance and danger with tantalizing supernatural overtones."
Gothic Journal
"Will transport readers to a remote island filled with humor, vivid experiences, glimpses of the supernatural, and characters that sparkle."

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940012305213
Publisher:
Antoinette Stockenberg
Publication date:
04/16/2011
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
8,051
File size:
0 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >