Beloved

Beloved

4.2 130
by Antoinette Stockenberg
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Fans of Nora Roberts, Barbara Freethy and Barbara Michaels will enjoy this humorous and suspenseful story by bestselling author Antoinette Stockenberg ....

A COTTAGE BY THE SEA: it's a dream come true for Jane Drew. Too bad it comes with a ghost -- and a seductive neighbor who'd like to boot Jane off the island.

The inheritance of a cottage on

Overview

Fans of Nora Roberts, Barbara Freethy and Barbara Michaels will enjoy this humorous and suspenseful story by bestselling author Antoinette Stockenberg ....

A COTTAGE BY THE SEA: it's a dream come true for Jane Drew. Too bad it comes with a ghost -- and a seductive neighbor who'd like to boot Jane off the island.

The inheritance of a cottage on Nantucket Island might seem like a really Good Thing for an unemployed graphic designer. The fact that the house is ramshackle and possibly haunted? Mere details. But a series of eerie events soon has Jane convinced that the spirit of a beautiful Quaker is roaming the place, and it's clear that it will take more than a smiling wave goodbye to make the spirit leave.

Mac McKenzie is descended from generations of hard-working islanders and has very clear opinions of uppity off-islanders. He has little patience for New Age types, moneyed types, and those for whom "antiquing" is a verb. He regards spaghetti as noodles, not pasta, and he drinks water from a tap, not a bottle. And he doesn't believe in ghosts. Period. When he finds himself up against the insistent, persistent, infinitely irritating Jane Drew with her knack for complicating his life, he does what any self-respecting islander would and shrugs her off -- for a while, anyway. But Mac understands, as Jane does not, that not every force is benign ... and not every force is otherworldly.

Editorial Reviews

NYT bestselling author - Jayne Ann Krentz
"BELOVED is great ... a lively, engaging, thoroughly enchanting tale. Ms. Stockenberg is an exciting voice in the romance genre. Her writing is delicious; I savored every morsel of BELOVED."
NYT bestselling author - Susan Elizabeth Phillips
"Antoinette Stockenberg is pure magic! She does a wonderful job of evoking mood out of setting. The love story between the hero and heroine was complex and moving; what appealing characters!"
Romantic Times
"Antoinette Stockenberg continues to demonstrate her talent for delivering unique tales of romance and danger with tantalizing supernatural overtones."
Gothic Journal
"Will transport readers to a remote island filled with humor, vivid experiences, glimpses of the supernatural, and characters that sparkle."
NYT bestselling author - Joanna Lindsey
"BELOVED is a delightfully different romance with a ghost story -- a great combination that was impossible to put down."

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780440213307
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Publication date:
09/05/1993
Pages:
400
Product dimensions:
4.17(w) x 6.74(h) x 1.14(d)

Meet the Author

USA Today bestselling novelist Antoinette Stockenberg grew up wanting to be a cowgirl and have her own horse (her great-grandfather bred horses for the carriage trade back in the old country), but the geography just didn't work out: there weren't many ranches in Chicago. Her other, more doable dream was to write books, and after stints as secretary, programmer, teacher, grad student, boatyard hand, office manager and magazine writer (in that order), she achieved that goal, writing over a dozen novels, several of them with paranormal elements. One of them is the RITA award-winning EMILY'S GHOST.

Stockenberg's books have been published in a dozen languages and are often set in quaint New England harbor towns, always with a dose of humor. She writes about complex family relationships and the fallout that old, unearthed secrets can have on them. Sometimes there's an old murder. Sometimes there's an old ghost. Sometimes once-lovers find one another after half a lifetime apart.

Her work has been compared to writers as diverse as Barbara Freethy, Nora Roberts, LaVyrle Spencer and Mary Stewart by critics and authors alike, and her novels have appeared on bestseller lists in USA Today as well as the national bookstore chains. Her website features sample chapters, numerous reviews, many photos, and an enchanting Christmas section. www.antoinettestockenberg.com

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Beloved 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 130 reviews.
Angelita Nelson More than 1 year ago
Really liked it! She starts to wonder if the paranormal has a part in causing so much havoc just to get attention, so she tries to search the past to find answers. All the while you wonder which guy is truly for her while she tries to restore the cottage her dead aunt leaves her behind. Can she find a buyer for the cottage she desperately needs to sell before her savings run dry or she herself becomes the next death on the island? Just wanted to shed some light on why I was glued to this book without giving too much away.
Laurie Solheim More than 1 year ago
This is a delightful story with enough twists and turns to keep you wanting more! The authors descriptions are vivid enough to let you "see" the surroundings and get inside Jane's head. If you like plots set in New England you'll love this author! Keep them coming Ms. Stockenberg!
cats679 More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book and couldn't put it down. I am so glad that I found this author. I read all the time and now I am reading Emily's Ghost written by the same author and I can't put it down. Beloved was very well written and entertaining. It is a book you shouldn't miss reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nantucket. A lovely old cottage in need of loving restoration. A beautiful and brave heroine. Three potential love interests. A huge rambunctious dog. And a ghost with a mystery. What more does one need for a lazy summer afternoon read??
RRPNC More than 1 year ago
An excellent read from Antoinette Stockenberg. Recommend Highly!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoy Stockenberg books. The plots are easy stressless fast reading with humor. No bloody murders or gore. Plots are always good with a few twists and turns. I espicially like the New England costal scences the author portrays with her short descriptions. Her characters all become family or people we recognize from our own lives. I could relate to the renovation of this inherited old cottage, all the things that mysteriously were going wrong and her list of suspects. Stockenberg is always a comfortable read for an inside rainy, snowy day or a late fall day out on the deck.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had never heard of Antoinette Stockenberg and was looking for a quick book to read. I down loaded "Beloved" just out of curiosity and found that I loved this book. I wasn't expecting much from it at first but turned out to really enjoy the romance and mystery. The book kept me guessing up untill the end which was a nice surprise because I often guess the ends of predictable books right away but this one blew me away.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've like all her books so far.
emobookworm More than 1 year ago
A good "summer read" that moves along nicely. Enjoyable characters, good plot.
kpeterson More than 1 year ago
The story is intense and captivating, but the characters have so much baggage that seems impossible to overcome. This is a very emotional book with murder and ghosts, divorce and betrayal, but it also has deep love and real life laughter and the push and pull of a "normal" couple who don't always agree, but find their way to compromise.
J_N More than 1 year ago
You will be very surprised.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was entertaining, dramatic, and hard to put down. It makes you wait til the last few pages for the happy ending. Try it you'll like it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Her best book yet! Great characters, especially liked Mrs. Dewsbury.
proofreadersp More than 1 year ago
A very easy enjoyable read!
1avidreaderinCA More than 1 year ago
Antoninette Stockenberg never fails to keep me entertained and reading late into the night. Another great story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good romance and mystery story as usual from A. Stockenberg. Sometimes the prose was a little stilted, but the plot held my interest thruout. I would recommend to those looking for a romance read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put it down. This was the first book I read from this author and I enjoyed it very much !!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The setting is an island in the Northeast. The heroine has inherited a cottage from her Aunt Sylvia. It seems as if there are some ghosts involved. There are two very interesting men there. One is a business man who works on the mainland. The other is a rough, grumpy fellow who will steal your heart before he captures the heart of Jane.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always Antoinette has created a cast of new characters, a mystery and a suprise ending. What a delight to read her books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First book I have read by this author, and I thought it was very good, actually a very good story. I have already purchased 3 additional books by this author, one of my new favorites!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was looking for an inexpensive but good read and I found it! Some didn't like the extensive detail, but I did.
RobynC More than 1 year ago
Love how Antoinette blends a bit of mystery and romance into her novels. This one I particularly loved the characters and setting. Keeps you guessing until the end
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've become a fan of this author! Enjoyed this book very much and look forward to reading more of her work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read recomend to anyone really heartwarming
SummerLoveK More than 1 year ago
Beautiful writing. I thought the supernatural part would be cheesy, but it was original and eerily believable. I stayed up until 4 am to finish it. Loved it!