Beneath the Dover Sky

Beneath the Dover Sky

4.6 5
by Murray Pura
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

For fans of the hugely popular Downton Abbey television series and lovers of British historical sagas, award-winning author Murray Pura continues the enthralling story of the Danforths of Lancashire.

The second book in the series (following Ashton Park) transports the reader back in time to  1924 as Sir William—recently named Lord Preston&

See more details below

Overview

For fans of the hugely popular Downton Abbey television series and lovers of British historical sagas, award-winning author Murray Pura continues the enthralling story of the Danforths of Lancashire.

The second book in the series (following Ashton Park) transports the reader back in time to  1924 as Sir William—recently named Lord Preston—celebrates his sixtieth birthday at the Danforth summer home in Dover.

Although the ravages of World War I are in the past, new threats loom as a man named Adoph Hitler publishes a book called Mein Kampf.  Is he a danger to Europe? And what of Lord Preston’s growing friendship with an up and coming political leader named Winston Churchill?

On the home front, one of the Danforth daughters, the recently widowed Catherine, sells her home in Belfast to spend more time at Dover—where she finds herself annoyed at the impertinent German theologian her father has befriended.

The entire Danforth family faces many changes as illness and tragedy strike. Young Edward finally makes his move into the political arena while Michael and Libby welcome a new family member.

Readers will be captivated by the upstairs/downstairs interplay as they once again savor this compelling saga of the well-loved Danforth family overcoming obstacles by placing their trust in the God who has always been faithful.

Book 2 in The Danforths of Lancashire series

Read More

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"Beneath the Dover Sky is a good book in many ways. It is well written and presented. The characters are generally believable and pleasant. Even in times of trouble and grief, the story lifts and inspires the reader."
?JudyAnn Lorenz

"I'm patiently waiting for London Dawn to see what happens in the next stage of life in the Danforth family!"
?Melissa Friesen

Library Journal
This second series entry takes up where Ashton Park left off. It's 1924, and Lord William and Lady Elizabeth are concerned about their son Kipp, whose wife is ill while his former fiancée shows up at every turn. They also worry about widowed daughter Catherine, who has become reclusive. Meanwhile, Libby and Michael are returning from America, and Edward is moving forward with his plan to enter British politics. VERDICT Fans of Downton Abbey and Kathleen Y'Barbo's period inspirational romances will find much to savor here: family drama, plot twists, and historic detail.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780736952897
Publisher:
Harvest House Publishers
Publication date:
08/01/2013
Series:
The Danforths of Lancashire , #2
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
701,021
File size:
1 MB

Meet the Author

Murray Pura earned his Master of Divinity degree from Acadia University in Wolfville, Nova Scotia, and his ThM degree in theology and interdisciplinary studies from Regent College in Vancouver, British Columbia. For more than 25 years, in addition to his writing, he has pastored churches in Nova Scotia, British Columbia, and Alberta. Murray’s writings have been shortlisted for the Dartmouth Book Award, the John Spencer Hill Literary Award, the Paraclete Fiction Award, and Toronto's Kobzar Literary Award. His novels for Harvest House include Face of Heaven, The Wings of Morning, and Ashton Park. Murray pastors and writes in southern Alberta near the Rocky Mountains. He and his wife, Linda, have a son and a daughter.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >