Betrayals

Overview

At once a hypnotic murder mystery, scathing literary parody, soap opera, and brilliant pastiche, Betrayals is an astonishing virtuouso performance by a modern master of literary gamesmanship in the tradition of Vladimir Nabokov and John Barth.
The novel unforlds in a series of seemingly unrelated narratives, each written in a different style — indeed, in a different genre. There is an obituary for a Scottish scientist and Nobel Prize winner, written by a colleague who clearly ...

See more details below
Paperback (Reprint)
$16.58
BN.com price
(Save 12%)$19.00 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (37) from $1.99   
  • New (10) from $9.34   
  • Used (27) from $1.99   
Sending request ...

Overview

At once a hypnotic murder mystery, scathing literary parody, soap opera, and brilliant pastiche, Betrayals is an astonishing virtuouso performance by a modern master of literary gamesmanship in the tradition of Vladimir Nabokov and John Barth.
The novel unforlds in a series of seemingly unrelated narratives, each written in a different style — indeed, in a different genre. There is an obituary for a Scottish scientist and Nobel Prize winner, written by a colleague who clearly relishes his death. Early in the century, a train in the Scottish Highlands heads down the wrong track during a winter snowstorm, and the passengers are forced to abandon the train, resulting in the death — or is it murder? — of one of them. An inane publisher's reader summarizes the plot of a tacky hospital romance novel, which ends in a gory murder all too reminiscent of Jack the Ripper. Even a report on a contemporary academic controversy explodes into a scandal of plagiarism, shattered reputations, paranoia, and suicide — or is it murder made to look as such?
As Palliser deftly teases out each new situation, it becomes clear that they are all variations on a single outrageous theme: a distinguished figure in some intellectual pursuit — science, literature, academia — becomes obsessed with the success of a rival and schemes his demise, only to botch the job out of sheer monomania. Like the scorpion that stings itself to death, each plotter becomes a victim of his own plot; each betrayer changes places with the betrayed in an intricate dance of deception, revenge, and revelation.
A challenging, engrossing, utterly original work of art, Betrayals is also pure joy to read — a book that will make you laugh out loud, turn pages madly in pursuit of the next plot twist, and above all, marvel at the supreme ingenuity of a fictional puzzle in which the unlikeliest pieces fit together perfectly.

Charles Palliser's The Quincunx was hailed by critics as a masterpiece of historical fiction and went on to become a major bestseller. Now in his luminously inventive, wickedly funny style, Palliser brings off yet another literary coup--Betrayals--at once a hypnotic murder mystery, scathing literary parody, soap opera, and brilliant pastiche.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"An obituary tells of a Scottish scientist dying; travelers tell tales to while away the time, then one dies mysteriously; a publisher's reader reports on a trashy story; an academic scandal is hashed over; an avid television watcher offers up his diary. Then names start recurring, similar situations are alluded to. Thus does the author of The Quincunx build up this story of betrayals....Palliser uses stories within stories, black humor, and parody to make it all work."

— Dallas Morning News

"Richly Hilarious...

These seemingly diverse narratives — at first glance, about completely unrelated subjects — are filled with hidden connections."

— Los Angeles Times Book Review

"Ingenious in the highest degree...Some of the book will make the reader laugh out loud; some will make him shudder. Palliser has a wicked eye, an ear that misses nothing, and a virtuoso dirty mind....In each story someone becomes obsessed with a rival and plots his destruction only to become caught in a trap of his own devising; the scorpion perishes from his own sting."

— The Boston Globe

"A Thought-Provoking and Wonderful Novel...

Let us hope that Charles Palliser carries on his idiosyncratic career by defying all expectations save one — that he continue to produce novels reflecting his exceptional knowledge and creativity."

— The Washington Post Book World

"Fiendishly Clever."

— San Francisco Chronicle

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Mixing a variety of genres and forms, Palliser examines the links between fiction and deceit. July
Library Journal
Palliser continues to show his versatility (e.g., Quincunx, LJ 12/89) in this well-written, complicated satire, which accurately skewers many aspects of the book trade. Mixing various narrative forms and styles, he begins his story with the obituary of a Scottish scientist, follows with an account of a train accident that might have resulted in a murder, and ends with a book review. The narratives in between are concerned with arcane literary theories, questions of plagiarism, murders similar to those attributed to Jack the Ripper, and a behind-the-scenes look at two weekly television series, all of which touch on the theme of betrayal. In turns humorous, macabre, and mysterious, this literary pastiche will exhaust all but the most dedicated readers. For comprehensive fiction collections. [Previewed in Prepub Alert, LJ 9/1/94.]-Nancy Pearl, Washington Ctr. for the Book, Seattle
From Barnes & Noble
This inventive novel unfolds through a series of seemingly unrelated narratives, all variations on a theme--a distinguished figure in intellectual pursuit & obsessed with fame becomes the victim of his own plot to knock off his rival.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780345404350
  • Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
  • Publication date: 6/25/1996
  • Edition description: Reprint
  • Pages: 368
  • Product dimensions: 5.50 (w) x 8.50 (h) x 0.81 (d)

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)