Better than Well: American Medicine Meets the American Dream

Better than Well: American Medicine Meets the American Dream

5.0 1
by Carl Elliott, Peter D. Kramer, Peter D. Kramer
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 039305201X

ISBN-13: 9780393052015

Pub. Date: 03/19/2003

Publisher: Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.

In the tradition of The Culture of Narcissism and Listening to Prozac, a resonant exploration of the paradoxes of self-improvement.

Americans have always been the world's most anxiously enthusiastic consumers of "enhancement technologies." There is nothing novel about our use of Prozac and Viagra, or in our yearning toward cosmetic surgery and Botox

Overview

In the tradition of The Culture of Narcissism and Listening to Prozac, a resonant exploration of the paradoxes of self-improvement.

Americans have always been the world's most anxiously enthusiastic consumers of "enhancement technologies." There is nothing novel about our use of Prozac and Viagra, or in our yearning toward cosmetic surgery and Botox injections, except the names of the drugs and the procedures. With the success of each new medical technology, a familiar pattern of response surfaces: public hand-wringing, an occasional congressional hearing, calls for self-reliance. "We have created in America a culture of drugs." The speaker? Richard Nixon.

Better Than Well offers a diagnosis rather than an argument. Why do we feel uneasy about these drugs, procedures, and therapies even while we embrace them? Where do we draw the line between self and society? Why do we seek self-realization in ways so heavily influenced by cultural conformity?

This wise, humane, and provocative book traces the fault lines in our peculiarly obsessive pursuit of happiness.

Author Biography: Carl Elliott is a professor of bioethics and philosophy at the University of Minnesota. He lives in Minneapolis.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780393052015
Publisher:
Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.
Publication date:
03/19/2003
Edition description:
1ST
Pages:
320
Product dimensions:
6.52(w) x 9.54(h) x 1.27(d)

Table of Contents

ForewordIX
IntroductionXV
1The Perfect Voice1
2The True Self28
3The Face Behind the Mask54
4The Loneliness of the Late-Night Television Watcher77
5The Identity Bazaar100
6Three Ways to Feel Homesick129
7Pilgrims and Strangers161
8Resident Aliens186
9Amputees by Choice208
10Bringing up Baby237
11Second Acts273
12Conclusion: The Tyranny of Happiness295
Notes305
Acknowledgments333
Index339

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Better than Well: American Medicine Meets the American Dream 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Max sits there watchg.