Betty Bunny Wants a Goal

Overview

For fans of Ladybug Girl and Charlie & Lola, check out the loveable handful nobunny can resist! Betty Bunny puts her own funny preschool spin on soccer (and practice). From the creator of Disney’s T.V. series Dog with a Blog.

Soccer is the first sport most kids play, and Betty Bunny is taking the field. She proudly announces that she will score ten goals in her first game. But like most preschoolers, Betty Bunny's ideas are not exactly in line with reality. When she ...

See more details below
Hardcover
$12.67
BN.com price
(Save 25%)$16.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (24) from $8.09   
  • New (16) from $8.25   
  • Used (8) from $8.09   

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK Kids for iPad

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (NOOK Kids)
$10.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

For fans of Ladybug Girl and Charlie & Lola, check out the loveable handful nobunny can resist! Betty Bunny puts her own funny preschool spin on soccer (and practice). From the creator of Disney’s T.V. series Dog with a Blog.

Soccer is the first sport most kids play, and Betty Bunny is taking the field. She proudly announces that she will score ten goals in her first game. But like most preschoolers, Betty Bunny's ideas are not exactly in line with reality. When she fails to score a single goal, she decides that "soccer is yucky" and stuffs her uniform in the trash. Now it's up to her family to help Betty Bunny see the value of not giving up when things get hard. In a story about hard work and achieving your goals, Betty Bunny learns that with practice, she can do anything. But in Betty Bunny's world, this lesson has surprising results.
 

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

The New York Times - Sarah Harrison Smith
…Jorisch's bright, watery illustrations of exuberant Betty, her amused family and teammates contribute sass and humor to this latest book in the Betty Bunny series.
Publishers Weekly
★ 01/13/2014
Betty Bunny continues to be a “handful,” but her siblings also get some time in the spotlight in her fourth picture book, especially surly teenage brother Bill, one of the series’s unsung heroes. Betty is ready to call it quits after she doesn’t score a single goal during her first soccer game, but after Bill offers (read: is forced) to help Betty practice, she finally makes some headway. With deadpan zingers (“Kick it in your own net!” Bill encourages Betty. “A goal’s a goal”) and slyly funny artwork, Kaplan and Jorisch score once again with this one. Ages 3–5. Author’s agent: Holly McGhee, Pippin Properties. Illustrator’s agent: Wanda Nowak Creative Illustrators Agency. (Mar.)
School Library Journal
04/01/2014
K-Gr 2—Betty Bunny is a handful to all when she suddenly takes a liking to soccer. She wants to become the star of her team and is positive that she can score 10 goals at her first game. When she predictably fails to meet her own unrealistic expectations, she becomes sad and sulks in the grass for the rest of the game. Betty announces that she is quitting and almost throws away all of her soccer equipment. Her siblings try to reason with her and encourage her, giving her a pep talk about not giving up. At Betty's next game, she still does not score a goal and is upset again. Her older brother Bill tells her, "Maybe you're just not that good." Her father patiently explains the importance of practice and enlists the snarky Bill to work with her. Illustrations are detailed in pencil, ink, watercolor, and gouache. Fans of the series will enjoy this newest addition. —Krista Welz, North Bergen High School, NJ
Kirkus Reviews
2014-01-29
Betty Bunny returns for a fourth entry in this successful series, focusing this time on scoring a goal for her soccer team. In the previous stories in the series, Betty's delightfully intense personality was defined through her obsession with chocolate cake, her over-the-top shopping spree in a toy store, and an incident involving lying and its consequences. These laugh-out-loud stories captured Betty's precocious intellect and strong emotions, creating a believable character with a lovable streak of creative naughtiness. Alas, this time Betty just wants to score a goal on the soccer field like all the other little animals. She makes many mistakes in her first game, with her deflated attitude further depressed by snide comments from her older brothers. After just one week of coaching by her oldest brother, Betty scores her coveted goal in the next game and feels "the happiest moment of her life"—except for the first time she ate chocolate cake. The soccer plot feels forced onto Betty rather than growing out of her distinct personality, and some of the soccer jokes, such as scoring a goal in your own net, will be understood only by those children who already play soccer. Even the illustrations seem a little forced and crowded, lacking the distinctive sparkle of the previous stories. Betty fails to score with this underinflated effort. (Picture book. 4-6)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780803738591
  • Publisher: Dial
  • Publication date: 3/18/2014
  • Series: Betty Bunny Series
  • Pages: 32
  • Sales rank: 157,088
  • Age range: 3 - 5 Years
  • Product dimensions: 10.10 (w) x 9.80 (h) x 0.50 (d)

Meet the Author

Michael Kaplan is the creator of Dog With a Blog on the Disney Channel, and is an Emmy award-winning television writer and producer. His career as a comedy writer included stints on two of television's most respected comedies, Roseanne and Frasier. He co-created and Executive Produced I'm In the Band for Disney XD.  He currently resides in Los Angeles with his wife and three children.

Stephane Jorisch has illustrated numerous picture books, including New Year at the Pier, Granddad's Fishing Buddy, The Real Story of Stone Soup, and Jabberwocky, for which he won the prestigious Governor General's Award. He was also nominated for the Hans Christian Anderson Award. Mr. Jorisch lives with his wife and three children in Montreal, Canada.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)