Betty's Child

Betty's Child

4.4 9
by Donald Dempsey
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A Hoffer Award Grand Prize Finalist, and recognized by the Hoffer Awards as one of the best new memoirs of the year.

In the tradition of Frank McCourt and Angela's Ashes, Don Dempsey uses Betty's Child to tell the story of life with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother's abusive boyfriends, and hypocritical church leaders who want to save… See more details below

Overview

A Hoffer Award Grand Prize Finalist, and recognized by the Hoffer Awards as one of the best new memoirs of the year.

In the tradition of Frank McCourt and Angela's Ashes, Don Dempsey uses Betty's Child to tell the story of life with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother's abusive boyfriends, and hypocritical church leaders who want to save twelve-year-old Donny's soul but ignore threats to his physical well-being. Meanwhile, Donny's best friend is trying to recruit Donny to do petty theft and deal drugs for a dangerous local thug.

In a memoir that has also been compared to The Liars' Club, The Glass Castle, To Kill a Mockingbird, The Outsiders, and Studs Lonigan, young Donny is a real-life cross between Huckleberry Finn and Holden Caulfield as he tells his story, with only his street smarts and sense of humor to guide him. Donny does everything he can to take care of himself and his younger brothers, but with each new development, the present becomes more fraught with peril--and the future more uncertain.

--
MORE GREAT BOOKS FROM DREAM OF THINGS (all for $2.99 or less!):

Dream of Things is an independent press focused on "distinctive voices, meaningful books." Other books include:

Everything I Never Wanted to Be by Dina Kucera: A family's battle with alcoholism and drug addiction. "Raw and funny." Joel Stein, Time Magazine

Leaving the Hall Light On by Madeline Sharples: A mother's story of living with her son's bipolar disorder and surviving his suicide. "A moving read of tragedy, trying to prevent it, and coping with life after." Midwest Book Review (MBR)

Swimming with Maya by Eleanor Vincent: A memoir of healing after the traumatic death of a loved one. "Vincent's poignant decision to donate Maya's organs will resonate with even hard-boiled readers." Booklist

Daughters of Absence: A collection of twelve essays written by daughters of Holocaust survivors. "A powerful, life-affirming read." MBR

Saying Goodbye: to the people, places and things in our lives. "Tender perspectives helping readers with their own goodbyes." MBR

Be There Now: Travel stories from around the world. "More of an experience instead of reportage; I was truly THERE instead of HERE." Marginalia

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Dr. Alan Gettis, Ph.D. - Clinical psychologist and author of The Happiness Solution
Honest and raw, yet full of humor, pathos, and no-holds-barred dialogue. Fasten your seat belt and get ready for a roller coaster ride. Highly recommended.
Kirkus Review - March 2013
Heartrending and humorous. In scene after vivid scene, Dempsey presents his inspiring true story with accomplished style. Dempsey's discipline as a writer lends the real-life tale the feel of a fictional page-turner.
San Francisco Book Review - February 2013
This memoir is for everyone who has ever known someone abandoned, someone unloved, someone with barriers that seem impenetrable. With wit and delicacy, Dempsey exposes wounds that we would prefer to ignore, without ever pushing the reader away with any sense of melodrama. A truly unforgettable memoir.
Hoffer Awards - May 2014
"Dempsey's personal tale is raw and emotional, and his style helps the reader connect with him in a very real way." Hoffer Awards

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940148394471
Publisher:
Dream of Things
Publication date:
08/14/2013
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
438
Sales rank:
243,095
File size:
1 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >