BN.com Gift Guide

Betty's Child [NOOK Book]

Overview

A Hoffer Award Grand Prize Finalist, and recognized by the Hoffer Awards as one of the best new memoirs of the year.

In the tradition of Frank McCourt and Angela's Ashes, Don Dempsey uses Betty's Child to tell the story of life with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother's abusive boyfriends, and hypocritical church leaders who want to save twelve-year-old Donny's soul ...
See more details below
Betty's Child

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$2.99
BN.com price

Overview

A Hoffer Award Grand Prize Finalist, and recognized by the Hoffer Awards as one of the best new memoirs of the year.

In the tradition of Frank McCourt and Angela's Ashes, Don Dempsey uses Betty's Child to tell the story of life with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother's abusive boyfriends, and hypocritical church leaders who want to save twelve-year-old Donny's soul but ignore threats to his physical well-being. Meanwhile, Donny's best friend is trying to recruit Donny to do petty theft and deal drugs for a dangerous local thug.

In a memoir that has also been compared to The Liars' Club, The Glass Castle, To Kill a Mockingbird, The Outsiders, and Studs Lonigan, young Donny is a real-life cross between Huckleberry Finn and Holden Caulfield as he tells his story, with only his street smarts and sense of humor to guide him. Donny does everything he can to take care of himself and his younger brothers, but with each new development, the present becomes more fraught with peril--and the future more uncertain.

--
MORE GREAT BOOKS FROM DREAM OF THINGS (all for $2.99 or less!):

Dream of Things is an independent press focused on "distinctive voices, meaningful books." Other books include:

Everything I Never Wanted to Be by Dina Kucera: A family's battle with alcoholism and drug addiction. "Raw and funny.” Joel Stein, Time Magazine

Leaving the Hall Light On by Madeline Sharples: A mother's story of living with her son's bipolar disorder and surviving his suicide. "A moving read of tragedy, trying to prevent it, and coping with life after." Midwest Book Review (MBR)

Swimming with Maya by Eleanor Vincent: A memoir of healing after the traumatic death of a loved one. "Vincent's poignant decision to donate Maya's organs will resonate with even hard-boiled readers." Booklist

Daughters of Absence: A collection of twelve essays written by daughters of Holocaust survivors. "A powerful, life-affirming read." MBR

Saying Goodbye: to the people, places and things in our lives. "Tender perspectives helping readers with their own goodbyes." MBR

Be There Now: Travel stories from around the world. "More of an experience instead of reportage; I was truly THERE instead of HERE." Marginalia
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Dr. Alan Gettis, Ph.D. - Clinical psychologist and author of The Happiness Solution
Honest and raw, yet full of humor, pathos, and no-holds-barred dialogue. Fasten your seat belt and get ready for a roller coaster ride. Highly recommended.
Kirkus Review - March 2013
Heartrending and humorous. In scene after vivid scene, Dempsey presents his inspiring true story with accomplished style. Dempsey's discipline as a writer lends the real-life tale the feel of a fictional page-turner.
San Francisco Book Review - February 2013
This memoir is for everyone who has ever known someone abandoned, someone unloved, someone with barriers that seem impenetrable. With wit and delicacy, Dempsey exposes wounds that we would prefer to ignore, without ever pushing the reader away with any sense of melodrama. A truly unforgettable memoir.
Hoffer Awards - May 2014
"Dempsey's personal tale is raw and emotional, and his style helps the reader connect with him in a very real way." Hoffer Awards
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940148394471
  • Publisher: Dream of Things
  • Publication date: 8/14/2013
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 438
  • Sales rank: 259,509
  • File size: 2 MB

Meet the Author

Don Dempsey experienced childhood abuse and neglect first hand, but went on to find business success and a fulfilling family life as an adult. "If you're lucky, you make it to adulthood in one piece," says Don. "But there's no guarantee the rest of your life is going to be any better. Abused kids are often plagued by fear and insecurity. They battle depression and have trouble with relationships. In the worst cases, abused children perpetuate the cycle."

But Don is living proof that you can overcome a childhood of abuse and neglect. "You start by letting go of as much of the guilt (yes, abused kids feel guilty) and as many of the bad memories as possible. At the same time, you hold on to the things that helped you survive. For me, it was the belief that you can make life better by working at it and earning it. It helps to have a sense of humor, too."

Some of Don's experiences will make you cringe, but you'll want to keep reading because of Don's natural storytelling ability and sense of humor. And in the end, you'll appreciate hearing Don's inspiring story.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    I finished this book a few days ago and I still can't stop think

    I finished this book a few days ago and I still can't stop thinking about the characters. I really hope this author writes another one to continue the story of what happened next with Betty and the boys. Excellent book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    Excellent book!

    Excellent book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    Betty's Child is aptly named, as it summarizes the author's over

    Betty's Child is aptly named, as it summarizes the author's overt relationship with his mother, as a young boy growing up in a home with a neglectful mother. The author narrates his own life story via the prematurely wizened voice of a young boy who was forced to take on the responsibility of absent parents; although `Betty' lived in the home and kept various men in her bed, Betty was never a true mother figure, nor were the men substitutes for Donny's absent father, whose abandonment left a hole in Donny's heart.
    Donny presents as a highly intelligent child whose ambitions in life were stifled by the environment he was forced to live in, but his indomitable strength of character, even as a child, shone through. Donny's wit and skillful use of language as an adult author has made this book a work to be noticed.
    The allusion to how his life was virtually the antithesis of a Norman Rockwell scene is no doubt part of the inspiration behind the unique cover design. I was not a fan of the cover until I realized the cover was also a significant part of this story.

    Sara Niles/Josephine Thompson Author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2014

    I read this book in a couple of days; it was so well written, bu

    I read this book in a couple of days; it was so well written, but such a sad story. I have had trouble forgetting about the characters. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Great book

    A story about surviving an abusive and uncaring mother-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Gripping story of a young boy's growing up in an abusive home

    Betty's Child is an intense account of a young boy growing up in a toxic environment where almost everyone he trusted betrayed him and some even abused him physically. The book is well written at a fast pace with amazing insights into the motives of his associates from someone 12 years old.
    The only thing that bothered me was the language in the dialogue. I know this is realistic, but I found it offensive and skipped over some of those parts.
    The book illuminated a world none of us want to live in, but some are forced to exist in. We all need to be aware of this so we can help these children if possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)