Big Moo: Stop Trying to Be Perfect and Start Being Remarkable

( 8 )

Overview

Most organizations are stuck in a rut. On one hand, they understand all the good things that will come with growth. On the other, they’re petrified that growth means change, and change means risk, and risk means death. Nobody wants to screw up and ruin a good thing, so most companies (and individuals) just keep trying to be perfect at the things they’ve always done.

In 2003, Seth Godin’s Purple Cow challenged organizations to become remarkable—to drive growth by standing out in ...

See more details below
Hardcover
$14.07
BN.com price
(Save 35%)$21.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (96) from $1.99   
  • New (13) from $5.00   
  • Used (83) from $1.99   
The Big Moo: Stop Trying to Be Perfect and Start Being Remarkable

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$16.99
BN.com price

Overview

Most organizations are stuck in a rut. On one hand, they understand all the good things that will come with growth. On the other, they’re petrified that growth means change, and change means risk, and risk means death. Nobody wants to screw up and ruin a good thing, so most companies (and individuals) just keep trying to be perfect at the things they’ve always done.

In 2003, Seth Godin’s Purple Cow challenged organizations to become remarkable—to drive growth by standing out in a world full of brown cows. It struck a huge chord and stayed on the Business-Week bestseller list for nearly two years. You can hear countless brainstorming meetings where people refer to purple cows and say things like, “That’s not good enough. We need to create a big moo!”

But how do you create a big moo—an insight so astounding that people can’t help but remark on it, like digital TV recording (TiVo) or overnight shipping (FedEx), or the world’s best vacuum cleaner (Dyson)? Godin worked with thirty-two of the world’s smartest thinkers to answer this critical question. And the team—with the likes of Tom Peters, Malcolm Gladwell, Guy Kawasaki, Mark Cuban, Robyn Waters, Dave Balter, Red Maxwell, and Randall Rothenberg on board—created an incredibly useful book that’s fun to read and perfect for groups to share, discuss, and apply.

The Big Moo is a simple book in the tradition of Fish and Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff. Instead of lecturing you, it tells stories that stick to your ribs and light your fire. It will help you to create a culture that consistently delivers remarkable innovations.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Soundview Executive Book Summaries
Marketing guru Seth Godin has gathered the talents of 33 professionals who know how to create remarkable things into The Big Moo. Based on the idea that the only way to grow is to be remarkable, Tom Peters, Malcolm Gladwell, Guy Kawasaki, Mark Cuban and many others contribute their take on overcoming the barriers to becoming remarkable and persuading others to make it happen. Topics covered include using time, Harry Houdini's ability to draw a crowd, 11 ways to fail, 10 things smart startups know, and making money with garlic. Copyright © 2006 Soundview Executive Book Summaries
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781591841036
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
  • Publication date: 10/20/2005
  • Pages: 208
  • Sales rank: 358,928
  • Product dimensions: 5.26 (w) x 7.30 (h) x 0.88 (d)

Meet the Author

The Group of 33 is an all-star team of business writers and doers: Julie Anixter, April Armstrong, Dave Balter, Marc Benioff, Kevin Carroll, Carol Cone, Mark Cuban, Dean Debiase, Lisa Gansky, Malcolm Gladwell, William Godin, Lynn Gordon, Jay Gouliard, Amit Gupta, Marcia Hart, Jackie Huba, Guy Kawasaki, Tom Kelley, Polly LaBarre, Tim Manners, Red Maxwell, Chris Meyer, Jacqueline Novogratz, Tom Peters, Promise Phelon, Dan Pink, Randall Rothenberg, Heath Row, Donna Sturgess, Robyn Waters, Alan Webber, Robin Williams, and Seth Godin.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2006

    Marketing Ideas Truly Equal Greener Pastures

    Inspiration to market brighter in 2006 and beyond! More great reasons from author Seth Godin to look beyond fences to greener pastures full of remarkable marketing ideas for marketers always grazing in new directions. Fabulous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2005

    EXTREME and Remarkable

    Although 'The Group of 33' is uncredited with regard to the specific chapters in this book, I can spot a Tom Peters rant a mile away. I was truly inspired and energized by his contribution 'They Say I'm Extreme' on page 34. Frustrated by the soldiers of the status-quo? Tired and bored of the Red Tape Brigade? Use 'Extreme' as your daily meditation and you'll never take 'no' for an answer again. You'll never settle for doing things the same old way because 'that's the way we've always done it'. If that chapter alone can make you rebel enough to begin your own workplace revolution, imagine what you can accomplish after reading the contributions of the other 32 authors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2005

    Useful, Fun and Pratical!

    The majority of these bite-sized essays were very practical and can easily be brought up in meetings to help generate ideas. They invoke action. They make you want to do something for your company (or for yourself) and do it now. And they lend themselves to being easily executable on some level.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2005

    Great ideas from various authors

    Great ideas from various authors. Fast read that packs a big punch. I really enjoyed all the different ideas in this book and felt like I could implement them within my own work team. HIghly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)