×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Big Nate: Here Goes Nothing (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)
     

Big Nate: Here Goes Nothing (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

4.3 51
by Lincoln Peirce, BookSource Staff (Compiler)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Big Nate is funny, big time." -- Jeff Kinney, author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Big Nate is in a class by himself!

But things don't always go your way just because you're awesome.

*Nate barely survives his dad's toxic oatmeal before rushing off to school -- minus his lunch.
*He body slams the no-nonsense principal.
*He accidentally insults

Overview

Big Nate is funny, big time." -- Jeff Kinney, author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Big Nate is in a class by himself!

But things don't always go your way just because you're awesome.

*Nate barely survives his dad's toxic oatmeal before rushing off to school -- minus his lunch.
*He body slams the no-nonsense principal.
*He accidentally insults his least favorite teacher, the horrifying Mrs. Godfrey (aka Godzilla).
*And school has barely started!

Nate keeps his cool. He knows he's destined for greatness. A fortune cookie told him so.

For fans of the ever popular, ever hilarious Diary of a Wimpy Kid series: Get ready to meet Big Nate!

Editorial Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
Sixth grader Nate Wright doesn't excel in much at P.S.38. He's not as smart as his best friend Francis nor as lamely funny as his other best friend Teddy, and he's certainly not (unfortunately) successful at everything, like his annoying older sister Ellen. So when Teddy slips Nate a fortune cookie and the fortune reads "Today you will surpass all others," Nate is stoked. Just how will he surpass all others? Every time he tries anything-like making grumpy Mr. Gavin laugh or breaking the speed-eating world record by snarfing down a mountain of slimy green beans-he ends up getting detention. This really seems more like a candidate for Worst Day Ever! Peirce skillfully and often hilariously imports his comic-strip character into a full-length story. The many comic strips, some drawn by Nate on lined paper and others featuring him as a character, and copious spot illustrations move the story along to a conclusion some may see coming but all will enjoy. Perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney's Wimpy Kid. Thank goodness sequels are planned. Final art not seen. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)
Publishers Weekly
Star of a long-running comic strip, sixth-grader Nate Wright makes the leap to a cartoon-laden chapter book in the smart alecky vein of Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Nate (who’s “not exactly Joe Honor Roll”) dissects the horrors of middle school, from vindictive teachers to the popular girls’ lunch table, aka Fort Knox (“You can try to get in, but you have no chance”). The wisp of a plot revolves around a fortune cookie that predicts, “Today you will surpass all others,” launching Nate into actions that indeed cause him to surpass all others with seven detentions. (His ill-conceived plans include speed-eating 148 servings of cafeteria green beans.) The book’s appeal lies in Nate’s wickedly astute observations and the savvy integration of cartoons with text. Angry teachers’ speech bubbles drip with icicles, and sidebars house humorous asides: “When a teacher completely snaps and starts screaming, it’s called a Full Godfrey. (When Mrs. Godfrey does it, it’s called Monday).” Though Nate may not achieve the fame he seeks with his classmates, this sharp-witted and unflappable protagonist just might find it with readers. Ages 8-12. (Apr.)
Children's Literature - Leona Illig
Trouble starts when Big Nate gets a fortune cookie that tells him, "Today you will surpass all others." He takes it to heart and for the rest of the book tries to discover exactly in what way he will do that. As the day wears on, and as Nate gets detention slips for bad behavior in one class after another, he decides to take matters into his own hands. He tries to break the world record for eating green beans, with disastrous results. He thinks that he has finally done it when he finishes a math pop quiz before anyone else, only to find out later that he forgot to answer the questions on the back of the page. As the day ends with Nate sitting in detention, and the fortune seemingly unfulfilled, Mrs. Czerwicki, the detention monitor, asks him how many detention slips he actually has. The answer is seven, and Mrs. Czerwicki confirms that no one has ever gotten seven detention slips before. Nate is the new record holder. He has, indeed, surpassed all others. This is a funny book with a witty plot, but there are some drawbacks. The book contains many stand-alone vignettes throughout; these are comical, but many do not contribute anything to the plot. In fact, the plot does not really get going until the first third of the book is over. While some children will be entertained by all the diversions, others may find the technique distracting. In any event, this would probably be a good book for boys who may think that reading is not fun, or who are having trouble getting motivated to read. This book is derived from the "Big Nate" comic strip presents his adventures in a graphic novel. Reviewer: Leona Illig
School Library Journal
Gr 4–6—Nate is a sixth grader who has a problem with organization. Everything is going wrong, and he's piling up detention after detention. Things start to improve when he gets a fortune cookie with a message stating that he will "surpass all others," giving him a purpose for the day and leading to humorous incidents such as when he tries to beat a speed record for eating green beans, and when he tickles his science teacher with a feather duster. This fully developed protagonist debuted in a comic strip; this is Peirce's first book about him, and it is a successful, laugh-out-loud venture. Readers meet a variety of characters, each with a unique personality or trait. Peirce's black-and-white ink illustrations, whether they are comics Nate has drawn or other funny images, help to develop the story. Big Nate will fill in gaps in collections that are looking for books for reluctant readers, and for Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Abrams) read-alikes.—Lora Van Marel, Orland Park Public Library, IL

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780606265263
Publisher:
Demco Media
Publication date:
08/31/2012
Series:
Big Nate Series
Edition description:
THIS EDITION IS INTENDED FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY
Pages:
215
Sales rank:
1,349,098
Product dimensions:
5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 2.80(d)
Lexile:
GN390L (what's this?)
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

Lincoln Peirce is a cartoonist-writer and the creator of the comic strip Big Nate, which appears in 200 U.S. newspapers. He lives with his family in Portland, Maine.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Big Nate Here Goes Nothing 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 51 reviews.
TheKingofQueens22 More than 1 year ago
Big Nate At It's Best! "Big Nate Here Goes Nothing" is great, funny and will keep you turning pages. It has a wide variety of hilarious characters. It features comics from Spring 2008-Winter 2009. It is definately one of the best "Big Nates" yet!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Big nate is funny and gets you at the edge of your seat
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great for any one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book! If you are thinking about getting it then stop thinking and get it right now!! :) BIG FAN!!! :) :) :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Supergood!!!! Super funie. By it Iceglare
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome book and im the first person to reveiw this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book makes me wana lol lol i like the way this book is set and they have good stories and what i like about this they have comics i mean real comics read the newspapers
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guys, every single one of you should get this book, it is that good-
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Big nate is an awsome series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
cool book is was veree awesome Nate is very cool in this book espeshelly when PS 38 beets Jefferson School, there archrival! agen, a very cool booklet
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You have to get it!!!!! ( it's that good!!!!!!) :}D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Big nate is the best and will get you laughing your head off
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Big Nate books.Nate always feels like he can inprove others.<3
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nate "Well, um... yeah. I might possibly have a crush on Nate Wright." That was the sentence that changed my life. I was eavesdropping on....err...listening to the Dance Comitee, and I heard Gina say those words. As I heard those words, I thought, Eww! Blech! Ew! As I went home, I realized I still liked Jenny. It had been three years since I had last seen her. I went to bed, and had the strangest dream. Gina was running towards me, and I was running to her. We collided into each others arms, and Gina looked at me. I finally got a good look at her face. She had gotten contacts, and he blond hair was straight. Her blue eyes were ocean blue, and her lips were cherry red. I leaned in, and I kissed her. On the lips. I woke up, sweating and shaking. It was getting to vivid for me. Gina I went home, embarressed. I had told everyone my secret crush. I decided to go to bed early that night. Once I fell asleep, I had a strange dream. Nate was running to me, and and we fell into each others arms. Nate was super cute. His hair was in those little spikes on his head, and his green eyes twinkled. He leaned in, and kissed me. It was amazing. I woke up, and immediatly got out my notebook. I drew the entir dream on my computer. The lips were weird, like this: ____}~{__. Still, when I went to school that day, I was determined to make that dream a reality. Next book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is not downloacing for me
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago