×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Big Teeth
     

Big Teeth

by Katina French
 
French combines the characters from Little Red Riding Hood into an original steampunk tale set in a very different 19th-century America. The wolf is suitably monstrous, a bewitched and steam-powered killing machine. Little Red, the grandmother, and a passing "hunter" play their roles but this is more than a simple transplant of the original story into a new setting.

Overview

French combines the characters from Little Red Riding Hood into an original steampunk tale set in a very different 19th-century America. The wolf is suitably monstrous, a bewitched and steam-powered killing machine. Little Red, the grandmother, and a passing "hunter" play their roles but this is more than a simple transplant of the original story into a new setting. The characters have new and complex motivations tied to the steampunk setting. My only gripe is the opening third of the story which is weighed down with background/world-building information. I don't think most of it is essential to the tale. However, once the action of the chase begins, the story takes off. The style is reminiscent of Lindsay Buroker's Flash Gold Chronicles. If you like fractured fairy tales and you like steampunk, give Big Teeth a read. I suspect you'll enjoy it.

Product Details

BN ID:
2940149377183
Publisher:
Three Fates Press
Publication date:
03/30/2014
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
File size:
168 KB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

--Katina French is a science fiction and fantasy author from southern Indiana. An award-winning copywriter, she's been writing professionally for over 20 years. Recent works of fiction include THE CLOCKWORK REPUBLICS series, as well as BELLE STARR, a space adventure serial in the vein of Joss Whedon's Firefly and Chris Wooding's Ketty Jay books.

Her novella, "Bitter Cold," was featured in the Echelon Press anthology ONCE UPON A CLOCKWORK TALE, which debuted in the Amazon Top 100 for Steampunk. THE CLOCKWORK REPUBLICS, her series of classic fairytales retold in a steampunk setting, has been published by 3 Fates Press and their Childrens and Young Adult imprint, Line by Lion.

Ms. French writes fast-paced, humor-laced adventure stories with a touch of mystery and romance that appeal to young adults and the young at heart.

She's been married for two decades to her best friend, who proposed at a cast party for their high school production of M*A*S*H. (Kat played "Hot Lips" Houlihan.) They live in a Grey Cottage in southern Indiana with two amazingly creative, funny, opinionated kids.

"Writing has been what I love doing most since I was five, and my vocation since I was 18. I've written everything from lullabies to radio commercials to specs for military weapons simulators. I've written social content from the perspective of a brassiere, a beach, an automotive battery and a bottle of bourbon (yes, my marketing career has clearly been brought to you by the letter "B").

"Right now, I'm returning to my first love, writing fiction. My specialty is steampunk retellings of classic fairy tales, but I also love contemporary fantasy and old-fashioned, unpretentious space opera. If you like fast-paced speculative fiction with a sense of humor, give my stories a try."
-

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews