Big Wolf and Little Wolf: The Little Leaf That Wouldn't Fall

Big Wolf and Little Wolf: The Little Leaf That Wouldn't Fall

by Nadine Brun-Cosme, Olivier Tallec
     
 


Join Big Wolf and Little Wolf as they move through the seasons and share an adventure.See more details below

  • Checkmark Kids' Club Eligible  Shop Now

Overview


Join Big Wolf and Little Wolf as they move through the seasons and share an adventure.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

Starred review Kirkus Reviews

Best Book of the Year, 2009, Kirkus Reviews

"[...]a story that will stay with its young readers, presenting the perfect union between text and image to appeal to growing minds." - The Midwest Book Review

"With young children's natural curiosity about leaves, changing colors, and seasons, as well as curriculum that cover these topics, this will be a valuable addition to classrooms and libraries as well as a beautiful browsing and read-aloud book. Recommended." - Library Media Connection

"Oliver Tallec's gorgeous pastel pictures (with the wolves wearing mittens and hats this time - way too cute) compliment this lyrical story to perfection. It's direct and obvious on one level but also elegant and deep on another. Simply put there is no talking down to the reader and I think a lot of kids will appreciate that a lot, just as much as they will getting to know these two characters a little better." - Colleen Mondor, Chasing Ray

"Highly Recommended." - Tucson Unified School District

"Highly recommended, this series has its own unique feel and style. These are quiet books, filled with natural beauty and deep connections." - Tasha Saecker, Kids Lit

"Destined to become a classic, Big Wolf and Little Wolf: The Little Leaf That Wouldn't Fall reminds us all that the most wonderful riches are often right in front of us." - Niki Masse Schoenfeldt, curled up with a good kid's book

Children's Literature - Uma Krishnaswami
In the first book featuring these two friends, Big Wolf and Little Wolf, "Big wolf lived alone under his tree at the top of a hill," and the arrival of a dot on the horizon launched a story of friendship and accommodation. In this sequel, which is also generously sized and lavishly illustrated, the friends contend with the turn of the season and Little Wolf's longing for something small that is out of reach. Big Wolf tried to teach patience but in the end he gives in, as we know he will. Little Wolf's babyishness is appealing; their relationship echoes some of the indulgence that characterizes older and younger sibling dynamics. The story turn depends on a swift raising of stakes, as Big Wolf's climb up the tree to get that leaf becomes increasingly risky. And the payoff, both surprising and yet somehow inevitable, is purely a scattering of light on the page, a kind of homage to the vast reach of small things that take up room in the heart. The illustrations play on perspective and shadow as the text shifts viewpoint from one character to the other and back again. There is much more depth here than the disarmingly simple story might appear to hold, enough to merit repeated readings. Reviewer: Uma Krishnaswami
Kirkus Reviews
The Mutt-and-Jeff companions introduced in Big Wolf & Little Wolf (2009) return for more tender interplay. Catching sight of a particular leaf high in a tree, season by season Little Wolf repeatedly tries to persuade Big Wolf to get it. Big Wolf patiently counters that the leaf will fall on its own-but when it doesn't even after the snows come, he gamely undertakes the risky climb. Watching anxiously from below, Little Wolf finally begins to wonder if the leaf is worth the trouble. Then the leaf shatters at a touch, and the flakes' graceful fall, as Little Wolf later tells Big Wolf, "was the most beautiful thing I ever saw." Drawn with long, bold pencil stroke, Big Wolf looms hugely over Little Wolf and would have a fierce, wild look did Tallec not add subtle cues of dress and posture to hint at his gentle nature. Fans of Virginia Miller's George and Bartholomew Bear will find in this import the same simple, warm intimacy. (Picture book. 6-8)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781592700882
Publisher:
Enchanted Lion Books
Publication date:
11/10/2009
Pages:
40
Sales rank:
299,665
Product dimensions:
9.60(w) x 12.00(h) x 0.50(d)
Lexile:
AD580L (what's this?)
Age Range:
3 - 7 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >